We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moved here from the eldorado hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Governors

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Governors to your Saves list
Inn of the Governors
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“moved here from the eldorado hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a dream after staying at the eldorado hotel and spa. Front desk staff was wonderful. Rooms were worth the money. Location was good. Free parking. Breakfast was included and was wonderful every morning. My only complaint would be that the room smelled smokey from the people using their fireplaces. Our first night we came back in the room and it was actually almost foggy. They apparently don't check to see if the flue is closed after guests leave. Once we figured that out the next day, it was much better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    372
    71
    19
    10
See reviews for
241
526
56
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location and the service was great. The breakfast is delicious. The staff is very helpful, especially KEN. Great guy. He knew where everything was located, he help us every time we needed. I loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, ky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We usually stay at more moderate priced hotels, but this was definitely worth the extra. Breakfast is phenomenal, for one thing. Also, the room appointments were beautiful with local-flavored art, and I loved the flower boxes on the balcony. All the staff was friendly and helpful, and location is unbeatable, you can walk everywhere. Parking is the only downside, spaces are very very tight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We travel to Santa Fe often, and always try to stay at the Inn of the Governors for many reasons:
---Location -- the best -- walking distance to everything!
---Staff -- superb! Always good recommendations for places to dine.
---Extras -- delightful. We enjoy the sherry hour and a chance to visit with other guests. Had the best hamburgers ever in the restaurant. One caveat. Pay the extra charge to upgrade to a room with a kiva fireplace. We had reserved a standard room, which was cramped and very cold and drafty (early spring). The room faced west and had an outside corridor. We switched early the next morning to a kiva room with an interior corridor, and were so glad we did. The room was spacious, warm, and very comfortable. By the way, a block away is Pasqual's, one of our favorite casual spots in Santa Fe to grab a bite to eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was our third stay at the Inn. We stayed in a suite this time, but have stayed in standard rooms in the past. Our room was extremely comfortable with a fireplace, couch and lounge chair. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The amenities are very good and the inn is kept extremely clean. Breakfast was included with our room - it is a very generous and well prepared buffet. Eat well and forget about lunch. The patio of the bar has a large fireplace and great local flavor. The food at the bar is typical bar fare, but priced very reasonably. The afternoon tea / port can be taken around the pool which has wonderful ambiance....it invites conversation with fellow guests if you are so inclined. You are in the heart of old Santa Fe and can walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and other attractions. Do drive to Taos -- it is well worth the trip.

Room Tip: One caveat...there are a few rooms that open just under the car port. We were assigned one of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My partner and I absolutely loved this hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Our pleasantly large room was very quiet, very clean and had everything we needed to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The decor had obviously been chosen with great attention to detail and sits perfectly within the surrounding area. There was also free parking on site and breakfast included. The location of the hotel is ideal for walking around the old town where there are some delightful shops. Visit the Del Charro bar next door to the hotel - it has great food at very reasonable prices as well as a very relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. We were only there for one night but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hotel has one of the best locations for seeing the old town area of Santa Fe. Room was clean and quiet, and the staff was most helpful. Don't overlook the bar/restaurant. Although not large, it offers very good food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Governors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.