We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food at great prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castro's Restaurante Comidas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castro's Restaurante Comidas
997 Rodeo Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507
(505) 438-0146
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great food at great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food, great prices and incredible people. We love this family run restaurant. It's not fancy but has plenty of character. The food is really tasty. It is at the top if my hit list whenever I am in Santa Fe. The taco meat has great flavor and the posole is always perfect. It's an easy find on Cerillos for visitors. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican food in the State”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The green chili rellenos here are absolutely the best in the state, the sopapillas are to die for. Local eatery, priced right, great service, great food. Parking is limited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional working class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Castro's on Cerillos is one of our favorite stops in Santa Fe. Food is delicious and prices are reasonable. For example on Thursdays the special is "carne adovado" for 7 dollars. This meal includes the typical rice, beans and a generous portion of pork bits in a rich chile sauce. My wife had a bowl of "menudo". She was very pleased with her selection. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Any time my family and I eat there, we are always more than satisfied with the food we eat and the low prices we pay. The service is very good and the wait time for food is minimal. I highly recommend Castro's for a taste of real northern New Mexico cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went here on the recommendation from our hotel (across the street), and it was great. Lots of food, good price! Huge sopaipillas come with the meal, and they're delicious! We had chilli rellenos and the three enchiladas; both were plentiful and delicious! You have a choice of red or green chilli sauce on many dishes, and the sauces were both great. Guacamole is delicious. Service was very fast and very friendly. A really great meal and equally good deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castro's Restaurante Comidas also viewed

 

Been to Castro's Restaurante Comidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castro's Restaurante Comidas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.