We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I shouldn't like it but I do.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dion's

Dion's
2014 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
505-424-7333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I shouldn't like it but I do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I am not a pizza lover and I typically avoid chains like this, but I'm craving another ranch salad after 7 hours. I first had Dion's years ago when visiting a friend and would look forward to going each visit. Even though it's been at least 12 years it was just as I remembered. The pizza isn't the best but it's yummy and available by the slice. The salads would be better if the lettuce wasn't all iceberg and the Greek salad had kalamata olives instead of black, but the food is tasty, consistent, and a good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    10
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Something for everyone- good fresh food, clean friendly place. Great for families with children or large groups.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nothing like placing an order online only to find out that due to incompetence the order didn't go through (even though the final screen said "Order Placed"). The manager -- Vulcan or something -- just offers to take my order again. Gee thanks. Now get this, the order is now two dollars more than the order placed online. There is no online discount or anything, it's just two dollars more for no reason. He said it's a mistake. Yeah, my mistake for expecting professional service. For most businesses, after admitting to making a mistake, the solution is simple (especially in this case): give the customer the online price (it's just two bucks), fix the website, and problem solved. No, not here. Instead, Vulcan -- who must be a relative of the owner because he was certainly not hired for his problem solving skills -- said too bad. I hope losing a customer was worth $2, Vulcan. I think you're in the wrong field -- customer service is not your thing. Thanks for wasting my time. Good thing there's no shortage of pizza places in Santa Fe. This experience helped me cross one place off my list.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A place to get food quickly with a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We decided to give Dion's a try because it seemed like the place where all the locals were eating lunch & dinner. The quick convenience of getting sandwiches, pizza & salads in a nicer atmosphere is what brings people back. The Greek salad was fresh & a good price. The pizza was average thin crust style. You order food first, find a table & wait for them to call your name. If you have extra food, just ask them for to-go containers. This is the perfect place if you're looking for a fresh salad to offset all the other unhealthy food often consumed while traveling.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Oh the trouble I've seen!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Dions has great pizza, the problem they have lies in the employees they hire!!
They hire young teens to work their pizza places, in itself not a problem, but they should have an older manager to make sure they are doing the appointed jobs.

My last experience was dismal not a clean table in the whole restaurant, looked as if a bomb went off (Sunday, April 22, 2012 9:00pm), the one and only kid cleaning the tables was very very slow at it, I realize it must have been very busy but the condition of the place was terrible!!

Having said all this the pizza was quite good!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dion's also viewed

 

Been to Dion's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dion's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.