We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice B&B in the heart of Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A very nice B&B in the heart of Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am here with a group, so it's not the same kind of experience as if I were here with my husband. I am sitting in my room at El Paradero right now, with a little gas fireplace burning. It is very pleasant. The B&B is run very efficiently and well - the owners have thought about just about everything. The rooms are cosy and well-kept. Fresh towels and cleaning every day. The beds are very comfortable. Our breakfast in the morning is something scrumptious like chiliquillas with a fried egg on top, fruit and black beans with cojita cheese. Way above average. We are several blocks from the town square - maybe a 6-8 minute walk. I'm glad we're blocks away from the main square because we are on a very quiet street and yet so close to all of the restaurants and shops. There are many restaurants within 1-2 blocks of where we are. They lock up at 6:00 but you can get in with your key; I like the security measures. I have wifi in my room. I recommend this B&B if you like cosy, quiet and well-run establishments.

Room Tip: You can view every room online! Some have fireplaces, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    123
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
70
392
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our weekend getaway was a last minute decision so it was a little difficult finding availability with such short notice. We could not have been more lucky to discover El Paradero! Value was one of the best we found and location is great, walking distance to the center plaza and very close to the Railyard & Saturday Farmer's Market. The B&B is full of charm and authentic touches. One gloomy afternoon was passed drinking tea and enjoying the midday snack by the main houses's fireplace. It was very cozy. We were 2 friends traveling together so needed separate beds, which proved hard to find in Santa Fe, but El Paradero had a room that worked. The bathroom was across the hall, but private so not a problem at all for us. The breakfast was probably my favorite meal that we had in Santa Fe. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The room next door to ours had it's own fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldecott
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and used it as a base to explore this part of NM. Great location, walkable to most of Santa Fe. Very friendly, helpful staff from start to finish. Great breakfasts which changed daily. Beautiful rooms with unique touches, we stayed in #9 which had a fireplace. Good in room bathroom, very good shower. Afternoon baked snacks and tea available throughout the day. No TVs in room, but not really needed. TV available in public room as was internet. Wifi worked very well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

El Paradero B &B is conveniently located near the Plaza, serves a wonderful breakfast, accommodates food restrictions easily and puts out the best afternoon tea! We had to change rooms due to availability; I highly recommend Room 15 which is steps from the dining room, convenient for early-morning coffee and has a claw-footed tub!

The staff throughout are kind and helpful. This was my second visit and would not hesitate to return should I find myself back in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in El Paradero 6 years and really enjoyed it. Again, the stay was wonderful! While the building is old, as most of Santa Fe B&B's are, it is well maintained and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts were great! With the discount for returning customers it was a good deal for Santa Fe. I'm not so sure it was a queen size bed though... it seemed touch smaller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
It is indeed a Queen size bed...standard queen size mattress, sheets etc.
Perhaps you grew whilst here in Santa Fe, in 7000' altitude and eating our fabulous breakfasts, tea time treats and homemade cookies!
Paul Elliott / Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our 3rd or 4th stay at El Paradero, one of the larger (15 rooms), mid-priced, inns in the center of Santa Fe, and the first time we've been disappointed. The inn is attractive and well-located for walking, very well managed, with outstanding breakfasts and snacks. As we discovered, however, there can be significant problems with certain of the rooms. We opted for Room 9, one of the larger rooms, without realizing that it, along with Room 8, is at the back of the building. Rooms 8 and 9 have multiple south-facing windows but no opaque shades. When the sun comes up, you will be up also. It's very bright. [Other rooms also have windows that are not adequately darkened.] In addition, these two rooms bracket the corridor to the back door to the parking lot. This door slams loudly. You will be awakened by anyone leaving early in the morning (in our case at 5:45 am and 6:45 am) or returning late in the evening. We weren't sleeping well anyway - the bed was extremely hard, much harder than we've experienced in recent stays at moderately-priced hotels such as Hampton Inns.

Room Tip: Avoid south and east facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for your response, and we're sorry you we're not totally happy on your recent visit.
Obviously you love the Inn overall since this is your 4th visit!

There are actually shears and blinds in room 9, they are not black out blinds but they do block the sun. However we'll look into adding curtains that totally block the light.
Each room has different window treatments, including wood blinds and curtains, that block the light very well. Please check the pictures on our website, and call if it's going to be a real concern.

There is an exterior door out side the room in the hall, but it's extremely rare for guests to be leaving as early as 5:45am! (they hate to miss the delicious breakfast!) and guests are usually respectful of other guests and enter and leave quietly if it's outside the usual times.

The situation with beds is very personal, some people love a soft bed and others a firm bed. We've had guests that love the bed in room 9, and in fact we have repeat guests who have been coming for years and always reserve room 9 ( it does have a fireplace). However we are about to add the Tempur-Pedic type memory foam mattress toppers to many of the beds. We personally love these and they should provide a wonderful improved nights rest.
Thanks for your review, it helps us to constantly improve El Paradero.
Paul Elliott / Sue Jett owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent two nights at El Parador and are hoping to return soon, both to Santa Fe and El Parador. The Inn is well located close to the center of town but on a small side street, providing a tranquil rest. The Inn is based around a historic adobe building, with all the flavor of traditional Santa Fe but with modern comforts. The rooms are well appointed and decorated with Mexican artifacts. Our room was not large but was quite comfortable, with a queen bed, good bedding, and a full bathroom. There are no TV's in the rooms, to preserve the quiet space for all guests. There is WiFi, which had occasional blips but mostly worked well. The common spaces are simply lovely. The living room has plenty of seating and the only TV plus an assortment of games for guests to use. The library has comfortable chairs for reading and a computer for those who need one. The dining area is a lovely room decorated with Mexican crafts and pottery. The breakfast food is well prepared and incorporates local flavors. All food is made on site, including the tempting desserts put out in the late afternoon and the cookies in the cookie jar. The staff was welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are in a row facing the courtyard, so they are probably all quiet. Our room with one quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old Santa Fe charm in this historic adobe bed and breakfast inn located downtown just minutes walking from the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants, shops, and galleries. Travel Holiday magazine rates us an "A+" in value, and guests tell us that they love our hospitality, full breakfast, and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paradero Hotel Santa Fe
El Paradero b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.