We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Santa Fe charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Thank you Sue & Paige for making our stay so great! The Ortiz Suite was perfect. We loved coming back to a cozy fire every evening. The breakfasts were yummy ! Thanks also for the restaurant recommendations and nabbing us that "hard to get" Saturday dinner reservation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for your great review!"
We appreciate your thanks for the "hard to get" dinner reservation!
We do try hard to provide those extra details that make your stay memorable.
Looking forward to your return visit.
Paul Elliott and Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    123
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
71
398
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnsboro, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My mom and I recently traveled across the country and stopped for a few days in Santa Fe. We stayed at El Paradero and it was absolutely fantastic! Our rooms were spotless, beautifully decorated, quiet and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and warm, especially Innkeeper Sue Jett and her husband Paul. They were able to guide us to amazing restaurants (including some gems off the beaten path which were a treat), galleries and museums. And the breakfast and desserts for tea were delicious! My mom had never been to Santa Fe but has fallen and love and plans to return with my dad for their next vacation. And I will come back as often as I can. I highly recommend El Paradero!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from 6 wonderful days at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn. We stayed in the Ortiz Suite which is a separate historical cottage with a sitting room, wood-burning fireplace, gorgeous bath and mini-kitchenette, decorated with charm and warmth, as is the entire inn. We were so cozy, even with cold and snow outside. Every morning a complete breakfast is served and each was unique and delicious (reason enough to stay here) and served in the delightful dining room. Easy walk to everywhere we wanted to be. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Check web-site for size and specifics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
There are some guests who are just great to have at the Inn, and you were one of them!
Fun and appreciative, interesting to talk to, and relishing exploring Santa Fe every day.
Come on back!
We glad you had a wonderful visit.
Paul Elliott and Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked here because I could not find the absolutely super B&B we stayed in a dozen years ago and found the el Paradero provided everything we wanted for our time in Santa Fe.

It is an easy walk from the tourist centre of town, all the museums, shops and good restaurants.

We stayed in the El Pino suite, half of an historic house, just a few meters from the main B&B. It was charmingly and comfortably furnished and finished and provided us the kind of privacy and independence that we prefer.

It is, however, an old building with all that goes with an old building. The walls between it and the other half do transmit sound if the occupants of the other half have their TV on high or speak louder than normal.

Breakfasts are interesting and different presentations. Coffee and juice are plenteous. Afternoon tea and cookies/cakes are generous and tasty.

The one owner we met on our second and third days there was friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Which brings me to the less positive.

The sense I got of the B&B I that it is just a little tired (though not shabby) and perhaps the owners a touch more so. (We did learn that they were trying to sell the property.)

While it was the end of winter, one might have thought that the windows in the bright and otherwise friendly breakfast room, at least, would have been kept clean. In our suite, otherwise apparently clean, the floor mouldings had accumulated layers of dust and the daily floor sweeping was cursory.

There were also a couple of spots where expanding foam insulation had expanded into view but were not cleaned away. Not a cleanliness issue, but just an indication of lack of care in finish.

Would we stay again when we come back? Probably not, particularly if I were to find another B&B or alternative place to stay that seemed more interesting.

Room Tip: The El Pino suite is separate rom the main B&B and offers a special ambience of its own, includi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for your kind words.
We are sorry you were not 100% happy, and we'd like to respond to your notes.
We are not tired, in fact we love running the Inn and strive hard to keep it fresh and vital.
Given the 546 excellent reviews and a 96% overall rating, we feel we achieve that almost all the time. But of course one can always improve.
In Santa Fe you can clean the windows, and after a spring storm the wind and dust will make it look like the windows have never been cleaned! However we'll be more vigilant in the future.
We have instructed the cleaning staff to pay more attention to the baseboards.
Actually, in this quieter time we are in the midst of deep cleaning of all the rooms and common areas. A task not possible most of the time as there are always guests, ( we are happy about that!)
The suite you stayed in was due for a deep cleaning the following week.
The expanding foam was recently set around the heating pipes coming up from the floor, in an effort to provide better insulation. It needs to set for a while before being trimmed neatly around the pipes, which happened after your check out.
Please come on back and try us again, we think you'll be pleased!
Paul Elliott and Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the years but this most recent visit was the best. The new owners, Sue Jett and Paul Elliott have done an amazing job of making it even more comfortable and the breakfasts are homemade, full breakfasts with fresh fruit, in house baked goods and different every morning. There are also very delicious afternoon snacks. The location is super convenient to shopping and restaurants. Quiet, clean and spacious rooms

Room Tip: # 12 is my favorite! Large, sunny and has its own patio with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for your review!
We certainly appreciate your many visits, and are happy you like the improvements we've made over the years.
We are always trying to make a visit to El Paradero the best it can be.
Looking forward to your next visit!
Paul and Sue (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our trip to Santa Fe was enhanced quite a bit by the ambiance and service we experienced at El Paradero. Sue, Paul, Paige, and the staff made us feel as though we were staying with a close relative, rather than in an impersonal, albeit nice, hotel environment. The layout and decor fit right in with the spirit of Santa Fe and its rich history. The quality of breakfast (with its warm and personal touches) set us up with just the right touch to go out and experience the sights and sounds of the city. We would definitely recommend a stay at El Paradero as part of one's visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Looking forward to your next visit to the "Land of Enchantment"!
Thanks for your kind words.
Paul and Sue (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Great location, very helpful and friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms and every day a different, wonderful breakfast. Our room was very pleasant and very tastefully decorated in southwest style and colors. The "livingroom" of the inn, with a crackling fire in the fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating and good books and magazines, is a great place to sip a cup of tea or a glass of wine and chat with other guests. The breakfast room - sunny, cheerful, decorated in bright colors and also with a fireplace - was a charming place to begin the day and eat a big, delicious breakfast. Our flight back to LA was canceled due to a snowstorm and we were delighted to be able to stay a fifth night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for your great review!
Come visit again in the summer when you can also enjoy the outside patio for tea and deserts!
Paul and Sue ( owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old Santa Fe charm in this historic adobe bed and breakfast inn located downtown just minutes walking from the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants, shops, and galleries. Travel Holiday magazine rates us an "A+" in value, and guests tell us that they love our hospitality, full breakfast, and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paradero b&b Inn
El Paradero Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.