We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING SANTA FE INN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Winnsboro, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHARMING SANTA FE INN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

El Paradero is a wonderful B&B. This is my third visit and I've had a great experience every time. The inn is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and incredibly comfortable. The staff is easygoing and knowledgeable about the best restaurants and galleries and all of the cool day trips around Santa Fe. The breakfast and tea were delicious and the traditional southwestern menu seems to change everyday. I stayed in Room 8 which was charming with a great fireplace for a very reasonable rate. I can't wait to go back for my next visit! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    116
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
69
377
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is my second time here. This time with BFF. We stayed in the Ortiz suite - very cute! Little kitchen with coffee maker. - there was even half & half in the small fridge!! Wood fire was all set up & easy to start, very cozy with wine by fire before dinner at Max's - SF best 2010 (only 2 minutes by foot away), Breakfast was pumpkin pancakes & bacon - very yummy! Going to order their cookbook! Great restaurants, bars, shopping & museums within walking distance - VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Room Tip: Ortiz suite is roomy, has room for up to 4 people. Little kitchenette. Wood Fire east to start. Sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

El Paradero was a charming B & B. Location was very good if you don't mind walking (the best way to see things). Breakfasts were wonderful in a warm, folk-art filled dining rm. Think cozy - room #3 was small but comfortable. Mirror over sink was too high to be of any use to me ( I'm 5'3"). Bathrm. was tiny & no tub. It has the quirks of an historic old property but that's fine w/us. Decorating was fun, colorful, southwestern/ Mexican ethnic. Great alternative to sterile hotels!

Room Tip: Ask first before choosing rm. if you have any special demands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we'll look at the mirror height and adjust it. Our maintenance man who hung the mirror is 6 feet tall so he set it more for his height!
Room #3 does not have a bathtub, as it show on our website. All our rooms are very different, so please check the website for the amenities that will suit you best!
Thanks, Paul Elliott / Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My mother and I just got back from our first trip to Santa Fe, NM last month. We loved the town, art, scenery, day drives and El Paradero B&B. The Inn itself is not on the main drag of the Plaza.. It is about 5 blocks away from what I remember (We walked down Galisteo everyday). We stayed in room #2 which opened up into the beautiful courtyard. Two twin beds and very cozy in the evenings. The only suggestion I had for the innkeeper was another mirror in the room.. Two women getting ready at once requires more than one mirror. We did not take advantage of tea time until our 3rd day there. What a shame we waited! Meeting fellow travelers, talking about the day's finds or whereabouts while munching on fresh-made treats was delightful. We found ourselves saying, "We have to make it back for tea today." I purchased some of El Paradero's own granola to bring back for my boyfriend and he devoured it. They had it out for breakfast everyday along with the hot meal. The Inn also has an office with a PC and printer for any guest to use was a cinch, since I had to print out directions almost every day. The Inn itself is comfortable, well kept and has a bit of art smatterings throughout. Highly recommended and will go again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I booked the last available room (No.5) for an early October weekend. El Paradero is a little, but not too much, out of the mainstream Plaza area, sitting on a quiet street over by the government buildings. It is an amalgam of very older and more recent construction and the public areas are nicely and comfortably furnished. From booking to check-out the staff was uniformly hospitable, gracious and helpful although, for understandable reasons, somewhat sheepish and vague about the WiFi as discussed below.

No. 5 is a small room decorated in an expectedly pleasant and eclectic New Mexico style. It has a double bed, a small table and a couple of chairs and a hutch in the corner. The small closet is in the bathroom. There is nothing that is really useable as a bureau or dresser. The windows look out on the adjoining building and don't allow much light, but there is a redeeming skylight on one side of the bed. The bathroom is large and has a clawfoot tub with the standard tubular shower contraption and curtain. I am not a big fan of clawfoot tubs (there is a reason why they don't make many of them anymore), but the water was plenty hot and this set-up was fine. Lots of light through fixed glass in there. This is pretty cozy space for one (think Paris two-three star with larger bathroom) and if you are used to wide open spaces or if there are two of you, don't book No. 5. The other rooms are reputedly more commodious.

They offer afternoon tea in the breakfast room. I didn't participate, but it looked quite nice. The coffee and teas are very good. Breakfast is included and is also very good (coffee, tea, juices, cereals, pancakes one day and some egg concoction the next) even though the scheduling protocol is a little bizarre.

I don't stay anywhere anymore where they don't have WiFi or at least an internet connection in the room. I can confirm that El Paradero does have WiFi as it claims. The problem is that it hovers like a taunting specter over the property between "Poor" and "Unavailable." The nice lady who checked me in warned me about this in a very ambiguous way, suggesting that the internet reception was "better" outside my room (nope); in the courtyard (nada); outside the front door (rien); in the living room (no way). I didn't climb on the roof. Anyway, they do have a desktop in the library available to guests and it was OK, but for obvious reasons we all prefer to transact our internet business in the room where, among other things, you don't have to feel guilty about whether the next guest is tapping her foot waiting for you to get off or worse, whether somebody has rigged the machine to steal your passwords. And for $139 a night plus hotel taxes, the fact that adobe walls are thick should not be an impediment to rigging something that works. Comprende?

Pretermitting the WiFi issue, this is a nice and friendly property, but be careful choosing your room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are sorry you had problems with your internet connection. We've recently added more repeaters
to help the reception, as the adobe walls are not too conducive to wi fi signals!
We've had many guests staying in room #5 that had no issues, perhaps it was a setting on your computer? We do of course have 24hr internet and printer access in our library.
Paul Elliott / Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Lovingly well maintained historic property with great attention to small architectural details. Flowers, outdoor furniture, Mexican decor, authentic ambience, antiques and vintage appointments. Amazing customer service staff (Mary at check in is fabulous) and owners that visit daily though they live elsewhere in the City. Unforgettable decadent handcrafted breakfasts, pastries & granola. Similar to visting/staying in a Folk Art museum--handmade art is everywhere: not tacky, but full of colour, fun and wit! If you love colour, history, art, great food, superb location to Plaza, central location: you will love it. Since it is a historic building expect quirks and "imperfections" here and there: these are things that I personally love. As a visual artist, I love the owner's choice of interior colours throughout. I stayed in Room 5, the most economical room: loved the Maize yellow colored walls, the bed and linens very comfortable, hardwood floors, Mexican tile bathroom, vintage casement windows, etc. Very charming! I have already told people about this place, that usually stay elsewhere; they will stay here next time! It was fun meeting people from all ove the nation and world: Seattle, Florida, Canada, Czech Republic. Guests were very happy and friendly. Stay here next time in Santa Fe for a super unique experience: non-commercial, homespun, creative, warm, friendly. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5: perfect for 1 person; would be fine for 2. Loved the clawfoot bathtub and the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just returned from a short (3 nights) but delightful trip to Santa Fe, where we stayed at the El Paradero. This was not our first trip to Santa Fe, but our first experience with a B&B there, and when we return to this area, we would definitely stay there again. The location was very convenient - the facility charming - and the staff exceptional.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms near the courtyard - very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old Santa Fe charm in this historic adobe bed and breakfast inn located downtown just minutes walking from the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants, shops, and galleries. Travel Holiday magazine rates us an "A+" in value, and guests tell us that they love our hospitality, full breakfast, and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paradero Hotel Santa Fe
El Paradero b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.