We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, but close to the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Schaumburg, Illlinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but close to the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The décor and number of “unique rooms” makes El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn a place to consider when on your way through Santa Fe, New Mexico. While maintaining the ambience of its age, the inn is beautifully decorated, nicely landscaped and just a few blocks from the Plaza.

El Paradero was one of four Bed and Breakfasts we stayed at on our road trip through Central and Northern New Mexico and Southwestern Colorado.

Every member of their staff is helpful and courteous. Breakfast menus were delicious, varied and filling. This inn also offers a nicely decorated outdoor patio dining area.

After checking out the El Paradero website and reading a Trip Advisor ratings, I suggest calling them to assure you book the best room suited to your needs. It should be easy to choose the best room for you as each of their many rooms has its own unique styling.

Room Tip: Book over the phone to be sure to choose the room that best meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    124
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
73
404
50
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We spent two lovely days at El Paradero in late September. Delicious food, a very professional, helpful staff, and an inviting patio area all added up to a very restful stay. We happened to be at the B&B during the "Sorority Sister Reunion" and these wonderful women only added to the positive atmosphere of the inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We've just returned home from yet another delightful stay at El Paradero B&B in Santa Fe. Each time we visit, El Paradero gets better and better. Their delicious breakfasts are always a great start to our day before venturing out to explore historic Santa Fe. The warmth and charm of the Inn never cease to welcome us home at the end of the day. I must confess that we often plan our schedule so that we can partake of the delightful homemade confections served each afternoon during tea time. We've come to think of Sue, Paul and Wizard as family and El Paradero as our home away from home. We can hardly wait to return during our next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is the fourth B&B I've stayed in Santa Fe and it ranks among the best. Good location, about 10-15 minutes walk to the plaza. With Spanish Colonial reproductions and decor, El Paradero provides upscale elegance and a friendly atmosphere. Afternoon tea and great breakfast adds to the charm. The only negative, and this is minor, the narrow property configuration has a slight feeling of crampness.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent 5 nights at El Paradero B and B and had a wonderful time. Sue met our every need to make our stay memorable. She made suggestions for restaurants and called our reservations. All of our rooms were attractive and different. The breakfasts were very tasty. The tea time treats were all homemade. Everyone in our group wished we could return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our first stay at El Paradero in 1993 was so wonderful that it began a long-term habit of chosing B&B's for our vacation trips. A second stay in 2000 matched the first, so when we planned a 5-day stay in Santa Fe, we did not consider any other lodging option, and booked the Pino Suite. (In fact, we changed the dates of our trip so we could stay at El Paradero for the entirety of our visit.) As many reviewers have mentioned, El Paradero is located downtown, just blocks from the plaza, historic churches, shopping, art galleries, and wonderful restaurants.
Accommodations: The Pino Suite shares a brick Victorian former coachman's house with the Ortiz Suite and is located about one-half block from the main building. It was attractively decorated (online photos are accurate), with comfortable furniture in a good-sized living area, comfortable queen bed, and large bath with a well-functioning shower in an antique clawfoot tub. The mini-kitchenette is a sink/refrigerator/2-burner stove-top unit, microwave, and shelving with 4-place setting dish set, and minimal silverware tucked into the bedroom's former closet. With no counterspace or cooking utensils (except a tea kettle), the kitchenette allows one to store beverages and perishables, reheat foods, and brew tea, etc., and perform minimal clean-up. Everything was in working order. An antique armoire replaced the closet for clothes storage, and it was adequate, if squeaky. The suite was clean, but a search for a misplaced book took me under both the sofa and bed, proving the term "immaculate" to be inapplicable. Staying in one of the detached buildings had the advantage of more privacy, television, wi-fi, and generally more space, but with less convenient access to the main house's common areas. We previously stayed in rooms 6 (large & charming), 12 (very large and nice), and a smaller room, and we definitely spent more time on the patio and in the living room during those stays. The Pino Suite has a wood-burning fireplace, which some reviewers clearly enjoyed. We experienced the downside of using the fireplace. The day of our arrival had been unseasonably cool, and our suite was cold when we arrived; there is no heat provided (other than an available space heater) until October 1st. A fire had been laid, so we started a fire (damper open), which successfully warmed the room and was quite nice. Unfortunately, atmospheric conditions caused a downdraft during much of our stay (even after closing the damper), and the suite smelled of wood smoke for the next several days. My husband had headaches until the smell dissipated on about the 3rd day of our stay.
Housekeeping: We generally minimize requests for housekeeping services, preferring to maintain our own room, except to replenish items and empty waste baskets. On the one day we had asked for housekeeping to come in, an already made bed was unnecessarily touched-up, but the suite's only water glasses were removed and not replaced, and coffee supplies were not replenished. (These are small oversights, but when so little is requested, and you return at night to find yourself without a water glass or ability to brew a cup of coffee before breakfast, it is an annoyance that affects your overall perception of the experience.)
Food: El Paradero's afternoon teatime, which has traditionally involved a buffet of sweet items and a variety of teas, continues to be Excellent, quite beyond the afternoon offerings of any other B&B where we have stayed. This also seemed to be the one time when there was significant interaction among the guests, which we enjoyed. While the breakfasts provide a different, fresh, hot offering each morning, some of them quite good, our experience was uneven. The blueberry pancakes on our first morning contained fresh berries, but were rubbery and only lukewarm; on another morning, eggs benedict were topped with a cool glob trying to pass for hollandaise sauce - neither was up to the standard of an excellent B&B. Early risers, we selected the first of 3 available breakfast times: 8:00, 8:30, and 9:00, necessary because the dining area won't accommodate all of the guests at once. We agree with those reviewers who stated that this system does not work well for guests in the later shifts. The server checks with each guest/group to insure that they want the hot entree, with a few minutes passing before their freshly prepared food arrives, meaning that many of the 8:00 a.m. guests are not served until 8:15 or 8:20. (And of course, some guest arrive in the middle of their time-slot.) It is not surprising that the next group arrives to find most tables still occupied (uncomfortable not only for the guests who wait, but for those who have only had their food for 15 minutes and find themselves the subject of impatient stares). (I note the owners have responded to this criticism by pointing to the availability of patio seating; however, even in September, morning temperatures were in the high 40's or low 50's, making outdoor seating an unlikely choice at breakfast.)
Despite the positive aspects of this stay at El Paradero, we will at least consider other options on our next visit to Santa Fe. There is an emotional component to the best B&B experiences (what my husband terms the "warm, fuzzy feeling") that brings you back and causes you to consider the squeaky floors or quirky collectible furniture typical of historic structures as "charming" rather than inadequate. Our first two stays occurred during the ownership of Tom & Ouida, the couple who originally renovated the property and created this B&B. There was a feeling of warmth and constant oversight that seemed absent on this stay. The current owners were in Montreal while we were at El Paradero, and although there were pleasant and helpful hosts on duty, the absence of owners, clearly engaged in a labor of love, casually checking on the quality of their guests' stays, (and everything else), was felt. I would still recommend El Paradero to anyone seeking a very good B&B in the heart of Santa Fe, but I would also encourage them to look at the increasing number of lodging alternatives to determine what represents the best value and experience to them.

Room Tip: Look closely at photos, descriptions & reviews of room(s) you are considering; they vary conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagroSantaFe, Owner at El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We are sorry you were not totally happy with your stay.
We work very hard to give our guests the best stay possible, and will examine the specific issues in your review. We value your feedback so that we can constantly improve the experience at El Paradero. With 97% excellent rating I think we get it right most of the time!
As owners we try to be present as much as we can, but we had to travel for personal reasons. We actually only take 2 weeks off a year, unfortunately we were not able to be there for your visit. Hopefully next time we'll get to meet you!
Sincerely, Paul Elliott and Sue Jett owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

These people that serve you really try hard to please! The Pino Suite is the best for more upscale accommodations...with your own parking spot, hardwood flooring, den, and refrigerator/
2-burner stove-top.Good breakfast.

Room Tip: room 5 is sunny and quiet: pino suite is newer and higher quality decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 220 W Manhattan, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old Santa Fe charm in this historic adobe bed and breakfast inn located downtown just minutes walking from the Plaza, Canyon Road, restaurants, shops, and galleries. Travel Holiday magazine rates us an "A+" in value, and guests tell us that they love our hospitality, full breakfast, and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paradero Hotel Santa Fe
El Paradero b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.