We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Farolito.....The Santa Fe 'Must Stay'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Farolito B&B Inn to your Saves list
El Farolito B&B Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
June & July Special
Ranked #5 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“El Farolito.....The Santa Fe 'Must Stay'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I have been travelling for years and always stay in B&B's. Last month we returned to one of our top 3 in the country. It was our fourth visit to El Farolito. Walt and Wayne have done the most stupendous job in renovating this property years ago and turning it into the most desireable place to stay in Santa Fe. Each casita is tasteflly decorated in southwest flavor. There is no expense spared in decor nor amenities. Housekeeper Ruth keeps every room spotless! The beds are super comfortable....al pillowtoop mattresses. There is a fireplace in every room. We particularly enjoy staing in Galisteo w. It has a nice sitting area, which includes sofa and chair plus has its own private patio with furniture.
The main part of the inn where breakfast is served is another gorgeous room, very welcoming with a comfortable sitting room next to it. Each breakfast includes a delicious quiche, a dish of freshly cut fruit, a variety of freshly baked pastires, cakes, an assortment of cereals, thier homemade granola is unreal.....I just had to have a bowl of that each morning with my meal.
Walt, Wayne and their carefully selected and well trained staff go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. They know all the best places to visit and eat. and the nice thing is that you are in walking distance to downtown Santa Fe wihich offers wonderful shopping, art galleries and restaurants. We have had the most wonderful experience each tiime we have visited. My husband and I cannot imagiine staying anywhere else but El Farolito on our Santa Fe visits. We highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a quality experience.

Debbie
Powell, OH

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
270
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We wanted a B&B that reflected the area. Our casita had wonderful appointments and ample room. We enjoyed a glass of wine while on our private patio and loved our wood burning fire after dinner. The fruit plate, hot dish, and baked goods were delicious as were the cookies in the afternoon. The location is set apart from all the action, but an easy walk to the plaza and Canyon Road. An enchanting experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The little cottages are really cute and so comfortable. You even have your own little enclosed patio. Breakfast was bountiful and really yummy. Our hostess had excellent recommendations for dinner and was so very welcoming and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again. Really nice atmosphere and easy walk to all the shops/restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Md
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

What can I say that hasn't already been said about this gem... I certainly echo the previous positive reviews found here.

The place is wonderful, clean, tasteful, well appointed, breakfasts were delicious and extremely varied. Theres always a wonderful hot entree but additionally you also have hard boiled eggs, cereal, breads, and one or two hot pastry type offering as well. While I was there that included scones, pumpkin bread, strawberry cake etc...

All the rooms I saw had their own patio area and there was also a nice covered patio outside of the bkfst room. My room was Acequia Madre and was a very comfortable and well appointed room; quiet, fairly large, tastefully decorated. The only minor downside was that the room didn't get a lot of natural light but thats easily remedied with ample lighting inside.

I never saw or met the owners while I was there, but not to worry as the property is superbly managed by Dana who is always ready with advice and worthwhile tips on what to see and where to eat etc...

An afternoon wine and cheese would probably be more in keeping with an inn of this calibre, but in place of that they do an afternoon treat of home made cookies, biscotti, coffee, lemonade etc... I dont drink so I actually preferred the cookies :)

It was about a ten minute walk to the Plaza area and you'll certainly want to spend time down there. Santa Fe is a beautiful city and it doesn't lack for fine dining. I highly, highly recommend having dinner at Geronimo's on Canyon road. This might be one of my favorite restaurants of all time not just in Santa Fe. The Elk is to die for if you do decide to dine there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the El Farolito (stayed in the Casa Delgado Casita) and we already miss it! If you are looking to stay in a beautiful, quiet place with traditional artwork then this is it. Perfect combination of authentic Santa Fe style combined with modern comforts--the bed is heavenly!! Wayne (the owner) and Dana (conceirge) gave invaluable local tips that made our vacation even a better stay then we could have imagined. The breakfasts were the perfect start of the day--delicious baked goods, nice hot fritattas, and afternoon cookies--the "chili" chocolate chip cookies rocked! We already look foward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed in Casita Garcia. Perfect size room with king size bed and a private patio. The location was fantastic. Just a short walk to the Plaza or really anywhere in the downtown area. We looked forward to breakfast each morning - fresh coffee and baked goods, cereal and yogurt, juice and teas, along with fruit and a hot dish. Things like smoked salmon quiche or potato and vegetable gratin. Also each afternoon there were cookies and lemonade along with the other drinks available at breakfast. Wayne, the innkeeper, and Dana were great to talk to. Whether it be offering up things to do each day, like the farmer's market on Saturday morning, helping with driving directions, places to eat, or just talking about anything Santa Fe, they were both very knowledgeable and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at El Farolito and we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Delightful, charming inn a short distance from the Plaza. The Innkeeper, Wayne, and the staff were very accomodating.. Our casita was roomy and tastefully decorated. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Fresh baked breads, scones and muffins.
Fresh squeezed juice and fruit were always available as well as one hot entree. Afternoon cookies and lemonade hit the spot after a day of touring Santa Fe.
El Farolito met all our expectations! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Farolito B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farolito B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.