We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Save Saved
You added El Farolito B&B Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Farolito B&B Inn
514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Gets better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Second time staying at this property and its hard to believe but it was even better that the first time which was outstanding. Wayne (the owner & host) is awesome offering all kinds of advice for local things to do and we had the pleasure of just talking with him for awhile over coffee which was great. The location is terrific and is only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza or a little bit longer to the rail yard. The rooms are spectacular with each having its own unique feel and decor. Breakfasts are terrific. In one of those things that's hard to describe we just feel extremely comfortable, welcome and it just has an feel to it that transports you to another place and time. We just love it here and in my view there is not a better place to stay when visiting Santa Fe. Go and enjoy every minute of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
237
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid-December 2013 and would definitely stay there again. The main house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, the breakfasts were varied, always with something freshly baked. Our casita had a fire place and was clean as could be. It is a short walk from downtown--a nice walk that makes you feel like you are leaving the intensity of the center of town. The manager even gave me a ride to the trail head for my hike.

Room Tip: The road is pretty quiet at night; we had the casita closest to the road and it just wasn't a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the El Farolito B&B in mid April. Except for a very brief stay (one afternoon) over 40 years ago, we had not spent any time in Santa Fe. El Farolito was a great location for staying close to all of the old town attractions. We could walk anyplace we needed to go in this area of Santa Fe.
Also, the support from the staff/owner was fantastic. Cherie who served breakfast and acted as concierge was extremely helpful and a good source of information about most everything. Wayne who is one of the owners was often at the B&B and he had a tremendous knowledge of Santa Fe, and the entire area.
Many times when my wife and I visit a new area (even when had a great time), we have no desire to return. However, the El Farolito and Santa Fe was different. We will definitely consider returning.
And last but not least, the breakfast each morning was fantastic. There always a variety and at least one "baked" dish. I loved the breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Galisteo Casita. Very nice size room with an extremely large well landscaped privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I began staying at the El Farolito in 2000 and have stayed in all 7 castitas (a few on more than one occasion- my favorites are the Acequia Madre and the Garcia). There is no better place to stay in Santa Fe. Each adobe casita is tastefully decorated with local art and boasts wonderful linens and bedding. The breakfast room is a delight and every morning there is a delicious assortment of homemade breakfast choices. The walk to Santa Fe plaza is slightly longer than some properties (about 5-10 minutes) but it is also closer to the Railyard area of shops and cafes as well (no need to drive). What truly sets El Farolito apart form other places are the owners, Wayne and Walt. Their attention to detail, winning personalities and love for what they do really shows when you stay at their bed and breakfast. Wayne Manus is a delight and a treasure trove of useful information about New Mexico and what to do and where to go around the area. They also own and operate the Four Kachinas Inn close by, which I have stayed at and is wonderful as well, but my true love will always be El Farolito.

Room Tip: Garcia is a stand alone casita with no shared wall with neighbors and the suite has a little more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The grounds as you arrive are stunning you instantly know your on Staycation! Lovely casita, we had the suite which was a true delight, the charm of Santa Fe all wrapped up. From the original art to the color pellet of the rooms perfectly decorated. Our two night stay was exactly what we needed, close to the plaza and near galleries, restaurants and whatever you may need. The morning breakfast prepared by Walt is a special menu made for you is without question,five star! We felt like royalty and we have to say this is the best BB we've stayed in. Quiet getaway that is traditional and true Santa Fe. This is our home town and we have some of the best of the best to select from, so taking a Staycation in your home town it has to be special, & it was...

Room Tip: No fitness room or room service...but if it would have offered it would have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Farolito for 5 nights in celebration of our 30th anniversary. The room we had (#6) was the perfect romantic spot. Charming, clean, comfy bed with excellent quality linens, loved the Kiva fireplace which we lit every night and every AM - added such lovely atmosphere to our room. We had our own private gated patio that made the whole experience even more intimate. Breakfasts were delicious and just enough to get you moving but the best part of breakfast was Cheree. Cheree was so easy and fun to be around. Always ready with info, a smile and more than happy to make reservations or be of assistance any way she could. Thanks Cheree. Wayne - the owner was also very delightful. My husband called ahead and asked Wayne to order flowers for the room and the flowers were beautiful with a card that Wayne added and he also had to purchase a bottle of champagne that my cousin wanted in the room for us. Thank you Wayne for doing all those extra's for us! One more thing..the plaza is a short walk and lots of shops & restaurants available. A lovely "get a way" and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: #6 would be a great choice for romantic and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at El Farolito in room three (Casita Acequia Madre). The cozy and wonderfully decorated room offered us a restful oasis after spending our time in the enchanting Santa Fe environs.

Each morning we were warmly met by Cherie who offered us a wide array of delicious food. She's also an excellent source on what to do in the area. El Farolito is a short walk to the Historic Center and the art galleries on Canyon Road. Santa Fe and its surrounding area is unique in that it offers a excellent variety of choices for those who love good food, art, spectacular natural scenery, and Native American / Spanish Colonial culture.

Makes sure to visit the small town of Chimayo on the high road toward Taos; hike Tent Rocks and explore the cliff dwekkings at Bandelier National Monument. The hot baths at 10,000 Waves and delicious tea at the Tea House on Canyon Road were also a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farolito B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.