We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place in a charming city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Farolito B&B Inn to your Saves list
El Farolito B&B Inn
514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Chicago,IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Charming place in a charming city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at El Farolito with my girlfriends for a wonderful chick's getaway. This was a great homebase for our adventures. The breakfasts were yummy, and there was always coffee or tea available, as well as afternoon freshly baked cookies. The beds were super-comfy. The best part was the decor. Art surrounded us in our rooms, and each room had a wood-burning fireplace! So cozy. On of the rooms had a private courtyard, so we had our afternoon tea outside. The location is close to the city center but quiet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: the galisteo and peralta rooms are adjoining - good to book together if traveling in a larger group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    28
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
246
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed three nights (and didn't even know about the TripAdvisor Special!) and loved everything about this lovely B&B. Wayne, Walt, and Mark were all ready to make us feel welcome and well taken care of. It was nice having our own little casita, with wood-burning fireplace, nicely decorated in classy Santa Fe style. When we walked into the breakfast room, with its colorful place settings, we knew we were in the right place. The people, the food, the location, and the comforts of the room all were just right. El Farolito gets our highest recommendation. Whether you stay here or not, if you're coming to Santa Fe and you like hiking, make sure you take the time to visit Tent Rocks National Monument. The rock formations and the slot canyon are surreal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I returned yesterday from Santa Fe and our first stay at El Farolito. Everything at El Farolito was perfect: Our lovely casita with its beautiful fireplace. Each delicious breakfast. Our lovely afternoon tea parties. Its convenient location within walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. We especially enjoyed getting to know Wayne - our innkeeper. Wayne gave us excellent input re restaurants, etc. We have stayed at lovely B&Bs and boutique hotels all over the world. El Farolito is at the top of the list. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My travels have taken me to exquisite B&Bs, hotels, and boutique inns all around the world. El Farolito is a definite favorite! Walk and Wayne have established a warm environment that will surround you with beautiful art, delicious breakfasts, irresistible afternoon cookies, and alluring spaces. Within steps from galleries, shops, and restaurants, the location of El Farolito (and Four Kachinas) is about as perfect as it gets. I could have spent a year there, easily!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Since we last visited El Farolito 2 years ago, we've been planning to return. I just can't get enough of this place -- everything about El Farolito is just right. Sometimes I'm leery of B&B's because I'm afraid I'll feel like an intruder in somebody's home, but this is not the case here. You stay in your own little casita (for us, the Casita Peralta) that's equipped with bed, chairs, working fireplace (SO nice in the winter!), full bath, TV, mini kitchen, little patio. The decor is just beautiful in the entire inn -- very New Mexico, beautiful artwork and pottery and bedding. Breakfast is in the main building, and includes a hot entree every day (with Wayne willing to make eggs for you, too) plus breakfast cakes, cereals, juices, fresh fruit, coffee, etc. You will want for nothing. I think even in the off-season there are snacks available during the day -- cookies and lemonade, for example. And speaking of cookies, Wayne had a plateful waiting in our room after out long day of traveling from NY. Yummy! The price is right, the location is great (just far enough from the plaza that you're not annoyed by the crowds) and Wayne is a treasure. He led us to some really great restaurants that are off the beaten tourist path. It seems that El Farolito's patrons return again and again -- a sure sign that they're doing everything right. I'll definitely be back. I can't say enough about El Farolito. Go there!

Room Tip: Check out the website, because you can see the amenities in each casita -- e.g. king bed, 2 full bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband, adult daughter and I spent a night at El Farolito and it was really terrific. A friend of mine here in Boston recommended the inn...so I thought we would give it a try. The inn is exquisite...a visual treat with beautiful artwork, pottery and impeccable interiors. The Farolito is in a great location...lots to see and do on foot.

Wayne, the owner greeted us with homemade cookies and a big smile when we arrived, made suggestions of things to see and do in Santa Fe and made dinner reservations for us. But what made the trip really special was that we all felt like we were in someone's home, Wayne was so gracious, and interesting with lots of Santa Fe lore to tell. The breakfast was scrumptious. Would highly recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Santa Fe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have stayed many times in both El Farolito and in their sister property, Four Kachinas. I've stayed in many different rooms, and all are unique, beautiful and comfortable. Wayne and Walt are the best hosts a person could possibly hope for. Both properties are easy walking distance to the Plaza, Canyon Road, and many restaurants. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farolito B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.