We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we stay in Santa Fe....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added El Farolito B&B Inn to your Saves list
El Farolito B&B Inn
514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only place we stay in Santa Fe....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a three-night stay at El Farolito, our third time in five years. We just love this place, and although we have considered other B&Bs in Santa Fe, we've decided that this is the only place for us! It has so much to offer -- great location (easy walking distance to the main plaza and most of the Santa Fe attractions), great accommodations, great food, great people. We will be returning again.

We stayed in the Acequia Madre casita this time, and really liked it. We have stayed in the Delgado before, but having found it a little dark and small in the middle of December (it is probably lovely in the summer!), we opted for Acequia Madre this time. Our casita was perfectly set up -- nice king bed with warm duvets, fireplace, comfortable chairs, wet bar, good closet space to hang up clothes, and nice bathroom (although the shower head was a little low...a pet peeve of mine...but the owner was receptive to replacing it with an extender to heighten it!). The decor was tasteful Southwest/Santa Fe style. Acequia Madre is a stand-alone casita that shares a patio with another of the casitas -- being there in December, we did not use the patio, but it is probably delightful at other times of the year. There is plenty of secure parking in the back of the property, with a gate on the driveway at the front of the property that is closed and code-accessible to guests at night.

The breakfasts at El Farolito are wonderful. Selection of juices, a fruit plate, home-baked coffee cake or other pastry, yogurts, selection of cereals, and some sort of main dish (pancakes, quiche, strata, etc.) are standard, so there are always lots of good things to choose from. If nothing tickles your fancy, the breakfast attendant (which is sometimes the owner/inkeeper Wayne) will cook you eggs the way you like them. Breakfast is available 7:30 to 9:30 am, so whether you rise early or late, breakfast awaits. There are also home-baked cookies in the afternoon, and coffee and tea available throughout the day.

The people at El Farolito are delightful as well. Ruth checked us in, gave us a complete run-down on our casita and the inn, and made sure we had everything we needed. She recommended a restaurant for our first night -- Restaurant Martin, right next door (don't miss it -- its fabulous!) -- and made reservations for us. Wayne was a great source of information, not only about Santa Fe -- restaurants, daily attractions, etc. -- but also about other places we were planning to travel to that he had visited. We enjoyed our talks with Wayne, and overall felt very well cared-for.

Do yourself a favor and stay at El Farolito while you are in Santa Fe -- it is worth every penny!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
240
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Wonderful experience! Great service, clean room with all the amenities, good breakfast, very knowledgeable innkeeper/owner, Wayne, as far as knowing art, restaurants, things to do and see in the area. It is within walking distance to the plaza, most restaurants,and canyon road,. we didn't move our car for four days! We are looking forward to our next visit. Thanks to Wayne and his wonderful staff! Donna from Indianapolis

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A nicely updated B&B very clean rooms albeit a little on the small side. Attention to detail in room decor even includes an air ionizer to handle any fireplace smoke. Gourmet breakfasts and willing to special cook a hot entry if you have issues with the daily choice. Secure parking area and no early morning trash trucks. Inn keepers are very good and know the area well although one didn't know Canyon Road stores& galleries are all pretty much locked up by 5:00. Good beds and air controls. Adjoining walls can be little sound transmittive but the calibre of guests pretty well ensures you won't have any late night party problems. EZ walks to where you want to go. Stay here and do a day trip to surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Loved our cottage (the Garcia).The room had the 'Santa Fe' style we were looking for & loved the kiva. The innkeepers were friendly & informative. The breakfast enabled us to skip lunch. Would love to come back.

Room Tip: the website will help you pick the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

El Farolito B&B is truly a "gem" in the High Desert of New Mexico. The extraordinary adobe style accommodations, fantastic breakfasts each morning and a caring staff that truly was service oriented made our stay a memorable one. Right off the Paseo and a short walk to everything! We will be back to see you in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My sister and I have stayed in many Select Registry inns and we both agreed this was the very best...impeccable accomendations, a delightful, warm and very helpful innkeeper, Wayne, and all the very best in terms of just feeling welcomed and special.....Thank you all and we will be back soon!. Diane Clark from Newburyport, Ma.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My twin sister and I just returned from a long weekend in Santa Fe, NM. We had found this B&B through the Select Registry and decided it truly is the "best of the best". We were delighted with the beautiful furnishings, incredibly comfortable beds, fanstastic breakfasts and the warm hospitality of Wayne. One night, when we got a bit turned around walking downtown in the dark and found ourselves in a rolicking bar I just called Wayne and asked where we were - he got us back "home" with an extra recommendation for a dinner spot on the way. Thank you Wayne for making our birthday weekend the best ever! Kit & Diane (Nevada & MA)

Room Tip: Great room with two double beds and mini-kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farolito B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.