We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Farolito Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Farolito B&B Inn to your Saves list
El Farolito B&B Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
June & July Special
Ranked #4 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“El Farolito Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This intimate B&B is close-in to downtown Santa Fe, and it is a jewel! Individual, homey casitas make coming and going easy. Fireplace and cable TV are part of the deal. Breakfasts are varied, interesting, and generous. Love the seating arrangements which provide for medium sized group to solo dining. Owners are very knowledgeable about local scene. Inn as a whole reflects their understated and discerning tastes which provide a quiet, secure Southwest-style retreat at the center of things. Common computer terminal allows guests to touch base with reality as required. After a day on the town, come back for cookies in the afternoon!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size so ask owners for description
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
272
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you want a romantic getaway to remember, this is the place. If you want the ultimate "Santa Fe" experience, this is also the place! We stayed here a couple years ago for the Santa Fe Wine & Chile Fiesta, and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else when we returned this year. The Innkeepers (Wayne and Walt) are warm, welcoming and even recognized us from three years ago! The Inn is decorated in classic Southwest/Santa Fe decor and each room is it's own Casita with full bath, fireplace and comfy bed. Most also have a private courtyard with chairs and table to enjoy your morning coffee in private or an afternoon glass of wine. The breakfast is outstanding! My wife even bought the cookbook last time we came! Always two different coffee cakes or breads, a warm egg entree (we had a mouthwatering quiche), yogurt, hot cereal and the signature fresh fruit plate (7 or more different kinds of fruit!) sliced fresh and brought to your table by the Wayne himself. He will even make items (eggs, bagels) on request! You can eat in the main room or outside int he courtyard by a gurgling fountain. Breakfast is the perfect time to plan your day and they are both very knowledgeable about all local attractions, galleries and restaurants. You can't go wrong with any of his recommendations. The location is perfect, it is only a 10 minute walk to the plaza, and a very quiet neighborhood when you want to sleep. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't need to use it again until we came home. All in all, it was the perfect Santa Fe getaway, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed five lovely days at El Farolito. We selected this inn—and the San Pasquale Room—several months earlier in preparation for a trip to my husband’s home town. We could not have been more satisfied and would give El Farolito our highest recommendation. The room was beautifully decorated and well-appointed. The generous breakfast buffet and afternoon snacks were wonderful. All of this is fine, of course, but it’s the personal touch of the owners that makes a B&B. This is certainly true at El Farolito. The attentive assistance provided in response to inquiries was personal, prompt and very helpful. El Farolito will definitely be our choice when we next return to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Their website has photos and descriptions of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights here last June and found it a perfect base from which to explore. We've stayed at many places in Santa Fe over the past 20 years. El Faroilto is my favorite. We stayed in the Delgado room, which was cozy and comfortable, not too big, but that's not important to us. Despite being only a walk of a few minutes from downtown, our room was very quiet. Breakfast was very good, and just the way I like it at a B&B: you serve yourself (I always feel obliged to eat too much when someone serves us huge portions), there was a range of time (I find it irritating to have to plan for an exact time for breakfast when I'm on vacation), and the tables were in close proximity but you didn't have to sit with other guests (at other B&Bs, we've occasionally been stuck sitting with garrulous guests with whom we had little in common). As it turned out, we did end up in interesting conversation with other guests over breakfast at El Farolito, but I appreciated having it be optional rather than required. As others have mentioned, the staff couldn't have been nicer, and there was a helpful selection of guidebooks in the common area, as well as a computer for guests to use. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the El Farolito Inn for 5 nights in late July, 2011. What an awesome place!!! The room where we stayed had every amenity one might need, the beds were comfortable, the room quiet, and our room and the dining room are beautifully decorated. Just outside the dining area is a computer available with internet access and a small library of books on art and travel in Santa Fe and New Mexico. The breakfasts are outstanding (beautiful fruit plates, breads, coffee cakes, quiche, etc.), Wayne is such a gracious and helpful host, and the inn is convenient (an easy walk to the plaza and railroad arts district). We heartily recommend this inn and will stay there again when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

For the past two years, I poured over the photos of the individual little stucco cottages that comprise El Farolito B&B in Santa Fe and soon fell in love with Casita Acequia Madre. It is often booked. So often, in fact, that I finally planned my vacation around its availability.
It was worth it.
The room was as big but cozy and stunning but homey, as its photo (the same one show above as the icon for El Farolito) had promised.
The B&B sits just blocks from the town square and next door to Restaurant Martin, a fine dining establishment that dabbles in flavored foams and modern cuisine and sports a lovely outdoor patio for drinks or hobnobbing.
Homemade cookies upon arrival. Skylights that fill the room with natural light. And regional artwork and magazines you'll want to slip into your suitcase and take home.
A lovely common room where breakfast is served, a bookshelf of guide books reside, and a computer awaits if you need to check e-mails.
The owners are gracious without being intrusive, and the entire experience is like being welcomed into a secret Santa Fe society of beauty, great food and atmosphere. The only downside may be that dogs aren't welcome.

Room Tip: I suspect there is no such thing as a bad room at this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Santa Fe was the last leg of my West Trip and El Farolito was the perfect place to stay and be pampered after long days of driving.
My sister and I stayed in the Peralta room decorated in one of a kind pieces of folk art from around the world. It had a small area with a refrigerator and coffee pot which is a big plus for me.The queen beds were very comfortable, linens and pillows first rate. In fact, one of the reasons we picked El Farolito was that they offered two queens in a room..perfect for traveling sisters! Firewood was provided for the cold nights and we did make use of it.
There were French doors next to the fireplace leading out to a patio that would be shared with the next door casita..something we didn't even think about as it snowed during our trip.
The breakfasts offered something for everyone. Although we were the only guests at the time, there was always a varied fresh fruit platter, delicious home baked pastries/breads with an egg dish available. Various juices were also offered and in the afternoon, cookies were provided.
There was an extensive bookshelf with great guidebooks and the staff were really informative about the area. One of the delightful things that was suggested is that we visit 10,000 Waves Spa...what a treat after walking the Plaza in rain & snow! Perfect end to the day.
The B&B is located a doable walk to the Plaza with plenty of off street parking behind the B&B.
Next door is Restaurant Martin..fabulous food and atmosphere. We saved it as a treat for the last night and were glad we did. A delicious butternut squash soup along with a bottle of Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc..mmm. And the best part? We walked right next door into our cozy little room.

Room Tip: All rooms are duplex casitas with the main guest area on the right side of driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Farolito B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farolito B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.