We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Gaspar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Don Gaspar Inn to your Saves list
Don Gaspar Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   623 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Although we only stayed for 2 nights, my husband and I absolutely loved everything about this place. The location was perfect (not too close and not too far from the Plaza). The accommodations were clean, cozy and looked to be newly-renovated or updated--and the Jacuzzi tub soaked away all the fatigue from lots of walking and shopping! The outside courtyard garden was a delight to be in and the food and service were extraordinary. I can't say for sure, but it seems like the inn-keepers are very kid and dog-friendly. The atmosphere seemed totally hospitable, friendly and gracious to everyone. We stayed in the Santa Fe room and will be back time and again for a get-away. The owners and managers should be very proud of this place and we were thrilled to meet them and stay here. A total delight.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    33
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
156
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

During our recent stay at the Don Gaspar, I kept thinking, "Who would want a hotel when this is available?" The Inn is within a short walk to downtown and Canyon Road galleries, in a peaceful neighborhood. Each morning's breakfast was a wonderful treat, as the ladies in charge made sure food was offered that would appeal to the guests currently staying there. I very gluten intolerant, and they made sure a gf breakfast casserole was available each day. They even went to a local gluten free bakery to get me wonderful gf bread! Bottles of water and snacks were also available in the breakfast area...a great convenience. Our room had all the amenities anyone could ask for (we stayed in the Santa Fe room), and we so enjoyed coming back each day and flopping on the comfy couch and putting our feet up while we watched TV. The staff is
so extremely kind and friendly (Christine, you're amazing), and we found that guests mingled and conversed over breakfast as a result. Not something that happens at a hotel! As a result, we got to compare notes about the stores and restaurants that helped in the success of our trip. Finally, the cozy courtyard with beautiful landscaping was just gorgeous, especially when the sun went down and the lanterns came on. We'll be coming back.

Room Tip: The Santa Fe room has a separate living area, large king and a jetted tub as well as an outdoor sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Ideal place to stay in Santa Fe. The Territory Casita was perfect - from the comfortable bed, to private patio, to coffee grinder. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

We'll stay again next time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank You! We love to hear the good news.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Don Gaspar. The staff is very nice, food was outstanding, courtyard was beautiful, and the Casita we stayed in was very nice! We will be back for our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
The Courtyard Casita is a favorite of visitors, we were glad to have you stay there and enjoy the special private courtyard. Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us. We were happy to have you and do hope you will be able to return soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast with gorgeous gardens, amazing staff and in a great location. We stayed in the Fountain Casita and it was perfect. We were traveling with our toddler so it was a bonus to have the space for her to play in and the full kitchen was helpful when trying to get her to eat. The casita was nicely furnished and very comfortable and we enjoyed a glass of wine on the front terrace in the afternoon. The breakfasts were delicious and thoughtfully prepared. Patrick and Anna were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed talking with both of them. We highly recommend staying here and we will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The Fountain Casita has a good amount of room and a full kitchen which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Don Gaspar Inn in the Fountain Casita. We also think of the inn as an oasis or 'secret' garden in Santa Fe. We are so happy to have families with children to liven up the place. We hope you will return soon. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
211 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose Don Gaspar because of the great times we have had at the Blue Lake in Durango and the Casa Blanca in Farmington. This was certainly up to par with both of them. The beautiful gardens, the friendly staff and the great breakfasts. Our room was very tastefully furnished and the freshly ground coffee was a treat.
The B&B is located just about 5 minutes from the Plaza but situated in a neighborhood so it is very peaceful.
Great Job.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Three out of three is good. The owners of the three inns have put their best gardening, decorating and service blueprint into each inn, Blue Lake Ranch near Durango and Casa Blanca in Farmington. We hope you will come to stay with all of us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Don Gaspar Inn is in a most excellent location, only about four blocks from the Plaza, so walking was easy and yet we were far enough away that it was very very quiet at night.

Our room, the Kachina Room, was large and comfortable. Because of colder than expected May weather, we used the fireplace which warmed it considerably. The whirlpool tub is advertised to be large enough for two, but really, it's a one person experience.

Breakfasts were varied and very good, with good fresh fruit every morning in a very nice sunroom. Hosts were congenial and helpful.

I have only two very minor quibbles. The king bed in our room was very soft and actually sagged a bit to the middle, obviously having seen better days. Upgrading the mattress would be a great boon to the inn. And, because it's an older building, the number of electric outlets was too few for us. But again, minor quibbles.

I don't think you could go wrong staying here. We certainly plan to do so again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We enjoy hearing the good and the not so good so we can investigate and improve. The electrical outlet concern is a good one to know about, we'll remedy that. The mattress has a 3 inch temperpedic type pad on it, some people love the beds, some don't! We'll look into that too but we are very glad you came to visit and we look forward to future visits. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#6 of 43 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Gaspar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Gaspar Inn

Address: 623 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Don Gaspar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Fe, The Don Gaspar Inn offers guests an intimate selection of 10 historic and unique Suites and Rooms. Often referred to as "the best kept secret in Santa Fe", the offerings here are unsurpassed in Santa Fe on a small property of this caliber. The trademark Gardens and meandering Courtyards that surround the three individual former homes which comprise the Inn, enhance the ambiance of the wonderful oasis.The Inn offers a tranquil escape within a short walking distance of The Plaza, Galleries, Spas, Unique Shops, and wonderful award winning restaurants.Begin your Santa Fe Adventure by enjoying our daily breakfast consisting of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees in our courtyard, dining room, or the privacy of your Suite or Room.We look forward to welcoming you as our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Venere so you can book your Don Gaspar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Gaspar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.