We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Gaspar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Don Gaspar Inn to your Saves list
Don Gaspar Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   623 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent five days in the Santa Fe area and stayed at the Don Gasper Inn. Comfortable rooms, decorated in Southwestern motif. We were so pleased with the kitchenette set up, drinks, snacks always available in the room. Breakfast was always delicious. Staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Well, you made our day everyday too! We love enthusiastic guests. Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience, we're so glad you enjoyed Santa Fe and your stay at the Don Gaspar Inn. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    33
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
147
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great place for a wonderful Santa Fe holiday. Great location with a short walk to the Plaza or Capital. Nice quiet neighborhood with a school playground next door for children. Breakfast provided every morning with everything you could want to eat. Very attentive staff that keeps everything clean and enjoyable. Easy in and out with parking near your room.

We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Use the web site to see which room works best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We were happy to have you visit. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We have many visitors from our neighboring state of Texas and it is always a delight to host you in Santa Fe. We look forward to your next visit. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As Southern Arizonans we had long looked forward to experiencing the fabled beauty of Santa Fe at Christmas. Don Gaspar Inn was the perfect venue. Our south-facing room was comfortable and warm, it also included heated marble flooring in the spacious bath. Decor is the equal of their other two inns which we've greatly enjoyed in the past - Blue Lake Ranch in Hesperus, CO and Casa Blanca Inn in Farmington, NM. A comfortable king bed with down duvet and pillows, thick, thirsty towels, coffee fixings, books and magazines and lovely outdoor Christmas ornaments, lights and farolitos provided comfort and beauty. Delicious complete breakfasts included hot casseroles, eggnog French toast for Christmas morning (yum), fresh fruits, berries, homemade granola, yogurt. Oh and the staff, Patrick, Christina and Ana, made us feel like family members with personal concierges! They handled every request and need superbly. This was an exquisite four-day holiday of our dreams.

Green Features: We gladly endorse and support the Don Gaspar's Inn's complete listing of environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Happy New Year. It was our pleasure to help you have a wonderful Christmas experience. We also thank mother nature for providing a little snow to make the courtyard look especially nice. Please do think of us in the future and thank you so much for taking the time to make your lovely comments about our Inn and service. That was our Christmas present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Don Gaspar is superbly located and wonderfully relaxing, near the center of Old Santa Fe.

Staff is gracious, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts delicious! It was so nice to arrive to a beautifully appointed a warm room with fireplace on, interesting magazines and a wonderful view outside of
Christmas lights casting colorful hues onto the courtyard.

So much more enjoyable than a hotel room!

C.Shafer
Durango, CO

Green Features: Tips on saving water on notes near fixtures......nice touch
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to provide an attractive home 'away from home' for you and our other guests. The snow really added to the colorful courtyard beauty it was good of mother nature to provide that. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were lucky to even get to Santa Fe 12/8 since the mess in Dallas caused our flight to be cancelled - luckily the airline got us on another flight through Salt Lake City. So we arrived at Don Gaspar Inn very late - we had contacted the inn and let them know and when we arrived we found a welcoming fire lit in the kiva fireplace in the Kachina room. We were delighted with the décor of the room and the wonderful heated marble floor in the bathroom. Amenities that need to be mentioned are the private entrance, coffee beans and grinder to use with the coffee maker (we're early risers so I made coffee every morning), the well stocked armoire with dishes, glasses, utensils and paper towels, the fat thirsty towels provided, and a very comfortable bed. I was a little apprehensive about the bed as I need a firm mattress to avoid backaches but there must have been one under all that down mattress topper as I had no trouble sleeping and no backaches. The few times I woke in the night I enjoyed watching the flames in the fireplace. We brought lots of toiletries and vanity space was limited but the big basket provided under the vanity was a perfect solution- just arranged everything in there.
The location is great - unfortunately we have 2-1/2 good knees between us and the weather was cold so we did not walk to the Plaza but we did walk in stages to Canyon Road and it was very easy to drive anywhere we wanted from the inn(and the excellent parking lot - my husband picked up on the main roads very quickly. Maybe we can return in the summer and enjoy the walks and what must have been lovely gardens and the outdoor seating. The advantage of this time of year is nothing was crowded and we loved the farolitos, even on the walls of the Don Gaspar. Even though there is a school next door, it was very quiet at the inn.
Breakfast was delicious although my one complaint is too many casseroles - Ana was not there for two of the days but on her return we enjoyed her cooking - fabulous waffles, breakfast paninis, and quesadillas. My husband was not happy with one casserole because it had beans in it - I think his mother was frightened by beans while she was carrying him (joke) - he is a bit of a fusspot and it was my bad for not mentioning it to Ana beforehand - I did tell her about the bananas so they didn't appear in anything. But I loved the yoghurt and granola every morning and the good breads and cheeses. Plus I always picked up a fruit and nut trail mix for an afternoon snack and some water.
Ana is a wonderful hostess and always ready to help you out with questions or recommendations.
Maid service was good except for one day not quite up to par - nothing awful, just not quite as much attention to detail (took two days to get more Kleenex and plastic cups - finally resorted to a note left for housekeeping). Very unobtrusive - never actually saw anyone - may have been done by enchantment.
I would definitely highly recommend this inn and hope to come back to it again.

Room Tip: Right off the parking lot with private entrance - very quiet the whole time we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Santa Fe. We especially appreciate our off season guests who come for their own unique reasons and for the sun that is usually shining most days. Thank you for mentioning all the little things you enjoyed about the room and the inn and the breakfasts. Feedback is good to help us know what you liked and what we can do better to keep us on our toes. We look forward to a spring or summer visit in the future. Thank you for choosing the Don Gaspar Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in the Main House at Don Gaspar Inn with another couple for five nights over Thanksgiving. The Main House is absolutely charming. You will fall in love with the common areas. I will say, however, that when I made the booking I was told there were two king beds, and there are not. It is one king and one queen, so just be aware of that. The house is furnished beautifully with Santa Fe finds all around. We could have stayed another week and not wanted to leave! My only complaint is that by the third day I was a little bored with breakfast. Casserole every morning with only a few other accompaniments did get a little old. It would be nice to see perhaps some bacon/sausage, scrambled eggs, French toast, or even just an egg and cheese casserole. We may have just hit an odd streak, but the casseroles we had were quite unusual and I don't think even had much egg in them. I would also have liked to see more variety in the juices - just orange and cranberry. Tomato and/or grapefruit would have been nice. But there was fresh fruit and yogurt and a bread basket, so I didn't leave hungry - just a little bored. Other than that, though, I'd give the Inn an A+.

Room Tip: The Main House is perfect for two couples or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the Main House and it's Santa Fe and New Mexico style decor. We do try to provide something for everyone for breakfast though we don't always hit the mark with everyone. The types of dishes we provide include New Mexico Tamales, Green Chile Stew, Orange and Chocolate Croissant Bake, Butternut Squash and Kale Egg Casserole, Pumpkin Belgin Waffles or maybe Eggs Florentine. We offer glueten free choices when requested and vegetarian dishes if asked. We are always open to suggestions and will take into consideration your comments and see what we can come up with to make things more interesting. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Personalized attention, wonderful food, beautiful breakfast set-up' fireplace in room, great mattress, decorated and landscaped to be admired; I'm running out of superlatives so let's just replace the word perfect in the dictionary with Don Gaspar Inn---AND STAFF!!!

Room Tip: Talk to staff about your desires
See more room tips
Green Features: Fresh food, prepared on site, linens , towels washed on demand
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Inn Keeper at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
I think we'd have to list you as the perfect guest too! Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Don Gaspar Inn. It helps us to know what we are doing right and where we can improve, I guess we'll have to just keep doing more of the same. Thank you, come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Gaspar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Gaspar Inn

Address: 623 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Don Gaspar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Fe, The Don Gaspar Inn offers guests an intimate selection of 10 historic and unique Suites and Rooms. Often referred to as "the best kept secret in Santa Fe", the offerings here are unsurpassed in Santa Fe on a small property of this caliber. The trademark Gardens and meandering Courtyards that surround the three individual former homes which comprise the Inn, enhance the ambiance of the wonderful oasis.The Inn offers a tranquil escape within a short walking distance of The Plaza, Galleries, Spas, Unique Shops, and wonderful award winning restaurants.Begin your Santa Fe Adventure by enjoying our daily breakfast consisting of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees in our courtyard, dining room, or the privacy of your Suite or Room.We look forward to welcoming you as our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Don Gaspar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Gaspar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.