We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice collection, knowledgeable docent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia O'Keeffe Museum

Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
217 Johnson Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
+1 505-946-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 213 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum preserves, presents, and advances the artistic legacy of Georgia O'Keeffe and Modernism through innovative public engagement, education, & research.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice collection, knowledgeable docent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A docent talk was just starting when we arrived so we raced to the gallery where she was talking. However, she was talking about paintings that we hadn't seen yet, so after about 20 minutes, we started over in gallery 1. I find Georgia O'Keefe a pioneer in painting and women's freedom and was very impressed by this collection. Nice gift shop, too. Made me want to go to Ghost Ranch...next time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    510
    238
    112
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a beautiful little museum, dedicated to Georgia
O'Keefe's work. Highly recommend you take a free tour with the very knowledgable guide: it enhances your understanding of the history and landscape settings of many of the paintings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Plan ahead and tour her Abiquiu house early evening ... GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We live in Santa Fe and belong to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. The best thing we have ever done through the museum is the evening tour of O'Keeffe's home and studio in Abiquiu. It only goes on Wednesdays in the summer, but fit it in if you can. Smaller tour group, terrific guides (we had Pita -- a scholar -- and Matthew, every bit as good). We took advantage of the Abiquiu Inn offer -- if you do the O'Keeffe tour, you can reserve a room, including a great dinner (had the grilled trout) for a very reasonable amount. And the breakfast offered the next morning is huge flavor and value -- only $10 for most dishes, including huevos rancheros and the dish at the top of the menu that a woman in the ladies' room ranked in her top 5 breakfasts. Charming, friendly, quality place. Make it part of your visit to what we call O'Keeffe land. And it's only a bit over an hour from Santa Fe, proper.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most of her famous flower works not there :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a beautiful building and reasonably priced admission. I would listen to the little films about her life upon entry as they help educate on her life and all the chronology of important periods. Many of the major pieces were not there unfortunately and must be on exhibit elsewhere so that was disappointing. It is worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found it truly magical to drive through New Mexico and then be able to stop in to see O'Keefe paintings of that very landscape. Not very big, but quaint and well curated in our opinion with an emphasis on pictures of her as well as on her paintings. Staff were friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia O'Keeffe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Georgia O'Keeffe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.