We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true to its name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yummy Cafe - CLOSED

Yummy Cafe
1616 St. Michaels, Santa Fe, NM 87505
505-466-1681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“true to its name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Have been looking for a good Chinese restaurant in Santa Fe, ever since I moved here. Finally tried Yummy Cafe last month and have already been three times since then.
Yummy cafe is true to its name, the food is yummy.
The restaurant is clean, the owners are engaged, food is fresh and the prices are reasonable.
Certainly a good choice if you want to have Chinese in Santa Fe :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    37
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not San Fran, but tasty !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I am a San Franciscan and I know chinese food. They do. Great job of being a Chinese Rest. and not a Bistro.They are very nice people who own it and work there. The food is not greasy and didn't give me heart burn. When ever I ask if they could make something not on the menu , if they can they will. So far so good, ask for Wor wonton soup they have a very tasty broth in general and when they made us our special soup it Rocked !!! So go check them out it is worth it. Oh yea, the whole Fried Sea bass is screaming !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Santa Fe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Yummy Café is the best Chinese food in Santa Fe. The menu has a lot of options, but is not overwhelming. And the staff is very friendly. I happen to think they have the best pot stickers around. Also, the sesame chicken is wonderful. This place is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Probably the best Asian restaurant in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Santa Fe is not known for its Chinese restaurants, so finding a good one is not easy. We recently tried Yummy, and found the service excellent and the food very good. The menu is standard Chinese-American and would not compare with gourmet Chinese places in San Francisco or Hawaii. But if you crave for Chinese food to break the green chili routine, eating here is more than OK. And the staff is very friendly, in particular with families with small children.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best choice I've found in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a very good meal including the chicken low mein, the barbeque pork and veg, and steamed veggies with chicken (how nice that they have a nice selection of healthy dishes steamed with sauce on the side!). Everything was very good and beautifully presented. Service was friendly and prompt. Yummy is a much better choice than the surrounding bland Asian restaurants. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummy Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yummy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.