We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho Gallina overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Gallina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rancho Gallina to your Saves list
Rancho Gallina
31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep in Special
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Rancho Gallina overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rancho Gallina is a funky place, really too expensive for what it is. Yes, Leslie and Mitch are great people, and I'm sure that some day this place will be fixed up to the point where they want it to be. The main room where we stayed felt like the converted garage that it is. The grounds are very weedy and the cedar tub is slimy. Leslie and Mitch seem to be on vacation, and a bit inconvenienced to have guests come and stay. They had plans on the afternoon we went to stay, so they asked us to arrive before 4:30 so that they could be there to show us the room. Give them a try, but be prepared for an experience something like you would find at a youth hostel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
Green Features: At Rancho Gallina, you may be shamed if you "generate" any garbage (Leslie's words).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Sue, as we expressed at the end of your visit, we are sorry you were disappointed in your stay. In response to your concerns we did give you a significant discount. A two room suite is a luxury in Santa Fe, and we make clear on our web site that the bedroom in the suite you stayed in is lovely while the adjacent art studio is a wonderful living area, providing comfortable sleeping for overflow guests or kids. Our prices reflect the cost of operating a truly green, family run business that serves our guests high quality, local, organic meals, and are in keeping with non-chain, locally owned inns and B&Bs in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Veta, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Leslie and Mitch are both such wonderful people! They will go out of their way to help and are very knowledgeable about the area, giving you a chance to explore on your own. The accommodations are very comfortable. You can use their grills to cook your own meals, and sit under the starry skies or under the canopy in the courtyard -- no matter where you sit, you will be comfortable like a home-away-from-home! We loved it so much we are going back this weekend (2nd long weekend in a month - what a treat!!). The property has so much to offer and knowing it is "Eco-friendly" makes it an easy decision for us to stay - solar, geothermal, organic foodstuffs...it just can't be beat!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Rancho Gallina is a fantastic and unique place to stay. Our room was gorgeous, it was filled with fantastic details like vintage hand-made doors. The high-vaulted ceiling kept us cool night and day. The court yard and relaxing places at this place are unforgettable. I will the never forget the stars and the family of owls we saw. Seriously, this place is one of a kind. Stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I hated to leave after a lovely 4 days at Rancho Gallina. The place manages to combine comfort, charm and character in an authentic and beautiful ranch setting. It was a jumping off point for adventure - local hiking, bird watching, or browsing shops and museums in Sante Fe - or for reading in the hammock or star gazing from the hot tub. I will be back!

Green Features: The Ranch has solar panels, a rain capture cistern and composting as part of its commitment to the environment. They also purchase food as locally as possible.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Mitch and Leslie of Rancho Gallina were great hosts for our Board Retreat. The facilities and services are excellent and the surroundings connect you to the Land of Enchantment. Looking forward to next visit. If you like being in the mist of nature and enjoying its abundance this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I took our organization's 12-person Board to Rancho Gallina for a retreat and it was just amazing. We've gone to many locations to meet but this was the best by far. I am convinced that the peacefulness of the space and the wonderful hosting contributed to the great visionary thinking we experienced at this retreat and the bonding between us. The rooms were beautiful and took me into the Southwest feel and the food was out of this world in that it was both delicious and healthy as well as served in the best of ways. We loved the hot tub, the multiple lovely places to sit outside in the shade, the hammock, and just sitting outside to look at the stars. Several of our Board members stayed later just to enjoy. The owners, Leslie and Mitch, were so easy to work with to plan our retreat and they have just the right presence. While I was there for work I also felt rested and restored by just being in this peaceful, beautiful space. I would definitively hold another meeting here and want to come back myself for a little pure R&R.

Room Tip: The photos on the website are representative. I think they're all good in that I got good feedba...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that they have really prioritized the environment in energy use and in food sourcing in whatever ways they can.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We were so honored to be with you all here, and hope that this is the beginning of a long and sustaining relationship between Windcall and Rancho Gallina. Thanks to your whole team for helping us ease into this with such grace and love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was at Rancho Gallina for a weekend board retreat recently.We had a fabulous time--great, comfortable lodging and delicious meals. Meeting space was perfect and the owners did everything they could to make sure we had what we needed. Thank you, Leslie and Mitch

Room Tip: Get there early to choose the best rooms. The southwestern architecture and details are beautifully...
See more room tips
Green Features: Leslie and Mitch go way out to be environmentally-friendly. They have a garden and compost leftovers to use on the garden. They also make sure that windows are closed during the day to keep the rooms cool. We opened them at night and turned on fans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rancho Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Gallina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.