We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Gallina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rancho Gallina to your Saves list
Rancho Gallina
31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
La Veta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Leslie and Mitch are both such wonderful people! They will go out of their way to help and are very knowledgeable about the area, giving you a chance to explore on your own. The accommodations are very comfortable. You can use their grills to cook your own meals, and sit under the starry skies or under the canopy in the courtyard -- no matter where you sit, you will be comfortable like a home-away-from-home! We loved it so much we are going back this weekend (2nd long weekend in a month - what a treat!!). The property has so much to offer and knowing it is "Eco-friendly" makes it an easy decision for us to stay - solar, geothermal, organic foodstuffs...it just can't be beat!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Rancho Gallina is a fantastic and unique place to stay. Our room was gorgeous, it was filled with fantastic details like vintage hand-made doors. The high-vaulted ceiling kept us cool night and day. The court yard and relaxing places at this place are unforgettable. I will the never forget the stars and the family of owls we saw. Seriously, this place is one of a kind. Stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fabricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I hated to leave after a lovely 4 days at Rancho Gallina. The place manages to combine comfort, charm and character in an authentic and beautiful ranch setting. It was a jumping off point for adventure - local hiking, bird watching, or browsing shops and museums in Sante Fe - or for reading in the hammock or star gazing from the hot tub. I will be back!

Green Features: The Ranch has solar panels, a rain capture cistern and composting as part of its commitment to the environment. They also purchase food as locally as possible.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Mitch and Leslie of Rancho Gallina were great hosts for our Board Retreat. The facilities and services are excellent and the surroundings connect you to the Land of Enchantment. Looking forward to next visit. If you like being in the mist of nature and enjoying its abundance this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windcall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I took our organization's 12-person Board to Rancho Gallina for a retreat and it was just amazing. We've gone to many locations to meet but this was the best by far. I am convinced that the peacefulness of the space and the wonderful hosting contributed to the great visionary thinking we experienced at this retreat and the bonding between us. The rooms were beautiful and took me into the Southwest feel and the food was out of this world in that it was both delicious and healthy as well as served in the best of ways. We loved the hot tub, the multiple lovely places to sit outside in the shade, the hammock, and just sitting outside to look at the stars. Several of our Board members stayed later just to enjoy. The owners, Leslie and Mitch, were so easy to work with to plan our retreat and they have just the right presence. While I was there for work I also felt rested and restored by just being in this peaceful, beautiful space. I would definitively hold another meeting here and want to come back myself for a little pure R&R.

Room Tip: The photos on the website are representative. I think they're all good in that I got good feedba...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that they have really prioritized the environment in energy use and in food sourcing in whatever ways they can.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We were so honored to be with you all here, and hope that this is the beginning of a long and sustaining relationship between Windcall and Rancho Gallina. Thanks to your whole team for helping us ease into this with such grace and love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was at Rancho Gallina for a weekend board retreat recently.We had a fabulous time--great, comfortable lodging and delicious meals. Meeting space was perfect and the owners did everything they could to make sure we had what we needed. Thank you, Leslie and Mitch

Room Tip: Get there early to choose the best rooms. The southwestern architecture and details are beautifully...
See more room tips
Green Features: Leslie and Mitch go way out to be environmentally-friendly. They have a garden and compost leftovers to use on the garden. They also make sure that windows are closed during the day to keep the rooms cool. We opened them at night and turned on fans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baronhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Rancho Gallina is the genuine article. I've been traveling to Santa Fe and various locales across New Mexico for 30+ years...always searching for that iconic, romantic getaway location. Mitch and Leslie have created a place that is everything a true aficionado of the dessert southwest is looking for. The ranch is set apart from the city among the sage brush but is within a 20 minute drive of Santa Fe....or head the other direction and your in the funky little towns of the Turquoise Trail. The rooms are comfortable and private with adjoining common spaces that welcome you and your book to hang out through the lazy afternoons. We've been truly stunned by their phenomenal culinary expertise as well, having enjoyed two wonderful wedding feasts (ours and that of friends) at their table. We can't wait to return and in fact, between their eco-conscious facilities and their wonderful location I don't see us staying any place else when we're near Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocosLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#2 of 43 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing