We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Land of Enchantment"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Gallina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Rancho Gallina to your Saves list
Rancho Gallina
31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sleep-In Special
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“The "Land of Enchantment"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Mitch and Leslie of Rancho Gallina were great hosts for our Board Retreat. The facilities and services are excellent and the surroundings connect you to the Land of Enchantment. Looking forward to next visit. If you like being in the mist of nature and enjoying its abundance this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I took our organization's 12-person Board to Rancho Gallina for a retreat and it was just amazing. We've gone to many locations to meet but this was the best by far. I am convinced that the peacefulness of the space and the wonderful hosting contributed to the great visionary thinking we experienced at this retreat and the bonding between us. The rooms were beautiful and took me into the Southwest feel and the food was out of this world in that it was both delicious and healthy as well as served in the best of ways. We loved the hot tub, the multiple lovely places to sit outside in the shade, the hammock, and just sitting outside to look at the stars. Several of our Board members stayed later just to enjoy. The owners, Leslie and Mitch, were so easy to work with to plan our retreat and they have just the right presence. While I was there for work I also felt rested and restored by just being in this peaceful, beautiful space. I would definitively hold another meeting here and want to come back myself for a little pure R&R.

Room Tip: The photos on the website are representative. I think they're all good in that I got good feedba...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that they have really prioritized the environment in energy use and in food sourcing in whatever ways they can.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We were so honored to be with you all here, and hope that this is the beginning of a long and sustaining relationship between Windcall and Rancho Gallina. Thanks to your whole team for helping us ease into this with such grace and love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was at Rancho Gallina for a weekend board retreat recently.We had a fabulous time--great, comfortable lodging and delicious meals. Meeting space was perfect and the owners did everything they could to make sure we had what we needed. Thank you, Leslie and Mitch

Room Tip: Get there early to choose the best rooms. The southwestern architecture and details are beautifully...
See more room tips
Green Features: Leslie and Mitch go way out to be environmentally-friendly. They have a garden and compost leftovers to use on the garden. They also make sure that windows are closed during the day to keep the rooms cool. We opened them at night and turned on fans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Rancho Gallina is the genuine article. I've been traveling to Santa Fe and various locales across New Mexico for 30+ years...always searching for that iconic, romantic getaway location. Mitch and Leslie have created a place that is everything a true aficionado of the dessert southwest is looking for. The ranch is set apart from the city among the sage brush but is within a 20 minute drive of Santa Fe....or head the other direction and your in the funky little towns of the Turquoise Trail. The rooms are comfortable and private with adjoining common spaces that welcome you and your book to hang out through the lazy afternoons. We've been truly stunned by their phenomenal culinary expertise as well, having enjoyed two wonderful wedding feasts (ours and that of friends) at their table. We can't wait to return and in fact, between their eco-conscious facilities and their wonderful location I don't see us staying any place else when we're near Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved Rancho Gallina. It's an utterly unique Santa Fe experience with totally delightful , charming, friendly hosts. It's located a little south of town, away from the kitschy, crowded Santa Fe scene, down on the Turquoise Trail. We loved soaking in the cedar hot tub in the evenings, watching the baby owlets, and taking in the great sunsets and walks. The rooms are cute and funky, with tons of character. but still luxurious And if Mitch is fixing cocktails, you are in for a treat! We stayed in the Kiva Suite, but you can't go wrong with any of the rooms. The Moroccan Suite is like nothing you've ever stayed in before! We will try it next.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Trust me, when you think about "Santa Fe", you're thinking about this place. When you choose a "bed and breakfast" you're hoping you end up here. When you leave here, you trying to figure out when you can get back.

Owners Mitch Ackerman and Leslie Moody are fantastic hosts. When you stay at Rancho Gallina you benefit from their high standards and time traveling around the world experiencing how others make guests feel at home.

Rancho Gallina features just the right balance between traditional hospitality and modern must haves. Each room is a unique adobe masterpiece that will have you sitting in your room taking photographs or just pondering the intersection of cultures that define this corner of the world. Leave your cozy accommodations and you find yourself exploring a sprawling patch of earth dotted with curiosities and antiquities from another time. And yes, the handmade cedar hot-tub is extraordinary.

Here, you're just far enough away from the city center to feel like you're in the middle of no where, but close enough for a quick trip into town to see the sights or pick up whatever you need for your stay.

You will not regret a stay at Rancho Gallina.

Green Features: This is the real deal -- not some pamphlet that tells you to re-use your towels to save the earth. They've installed two solar arrays and a geothermal HVAC system. They compost everything and conserve water like it's going out of style (which it is).
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Rancho Gallina is truly a magical place! Whether watching the sunset while relaxing in the soaking tub or exploring the winding roads--this is a place to relax and re-charge. The accommodations are wonderful and you can't beat the morning expresso. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rancho Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Gallina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.