We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Gallina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rancho Gallina to your Saves list
Rancho Gallina
31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
wilmington nc
1 review
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was at Rancho Gallina for a weekend board retreat recently.We had a fabulous time--great, comfortable lodging and delicious meals. Meeting space was perfect and the owners did everything they could to make sure we had what we needed. Thank you, Leslie and Mitch

Room Tip: Get there early to choose the best rooms. The southwestern architecture and details are beautifully...
See more room tips
Green Features: Leslie and Mitch go way out to be environmentally-friendly. They have a garden and compost leftovers to use on the garden. They also make sure that windows are closed during the day to keep the rooms cool. We opened them at night and turned on fans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Rancho Gallina is the genuine article. I've been traveling to Santa Fe and various locales across New Mexico for 30+ years...always searching for that iconic, romantic getaway location. Mitch and Leslie have created a place that is everything a true aficionado of the dessert southwest is looking for. The ranch is set apart from the city among the sage brush but is within a 20 minute drive of Santa Fe....or head the other direction and your in the funky little towns of the Turquoise Trail. The rooms are comfortable and private with adjoining common spaces that welcome you and your book to hang out through the lazy afternoons. We've been truly stunned by their phenomenal culinary expertise as well, having enjoyed two wonderful wedding feasts (ours and that of friends) at their table. We can't wait to return and in fact, between their eco-conscious facilities and their wonderful location I don't see us staying any place else when we're near Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved Rancho Gallina. It's an utterly unique Santa Fe experience with totally delightful , charming, friendly hosts. It's located a little south of town, away from the kitschy, crowded Santa Fe scene, down on the Turquoise Trail. We loved soaking in the cedar hot tub in the evenings, watching the baby owlets, and taking in the great sunsets and walks. The rooms are cute and funky, with tons of character. but still luxurious And if Mitch is fixing cocktails, you are in for a treat! We stayed in the Kiva Suite, but you can't go wrong with any of the rooms. The Moroccan Suite is like nothing you've ever stayed in before! We will try it next.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Trust me, when you think about "Santa Fe", you're thinking about this place. When you choose a "bed and breakfast" you're hoping you end up here. When you leave here, you trying to figure out when you can get back.

Owners Mitch Ackerman and Leslie Moody are fantastic hosts. When you stay at Rancho Gallina you benefit from their high standards and time traveling around the world experiencing how others make guests feel at home.

Rancho Gallina features just the right balance between traditional hospitality and modern must haves. Each room is a unique adobe masterpiece that will have you sitting in your room taking photographs or just pondering the intersection of cultures that define this corner of the world. Leave your cozy accommodations and you find yourself exploring a sprawling patch of earth dotted with curiosities and antiquities from another time. And yes, the handmade cedar hot-tub is extraordinary.

Here, you're just far enough away from the city center to feel like you're in the middle of no where, but close enough for a quick trip into town to see the sights or pick up whatever you need for your stay.

You will not regret a stay at Rancho Gallina.

Green Features: This is the real deal -- not some pamphlet that tells you to re-use your towels to save the earth. They've installed two solar arrays and a geothermal HVAC system. They compost everything and conserve water like it's going out of style (which it is).
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Rancho Gallina is truly a magical place! Whether watching the sunset while relaxing in the soaking tub or exploring the winding roads--this is a place to relax and re-charge. The accommodations are wonderful and you can't beat the morning expresso. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Imagine yourself in a cedar soaking tub watching the sun set over the mountains and the stars appear in the sky. That's what I got to do on my stay at Rancho Gallina. It was the best soak of my life--I left all my stress behind.

The rest of the stay was amazing as well. Mitch and Leslie are friendly hosts with great suggestions for hikes or things to do in Santa Fe. The room I stayed in was beautiful and the bed was super comfy. I can't wait to come back.

Green Features: Love the locally sourced food and the fact that geothermal energy is powering the whole thing!
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here once when they were still in the midst of an impressive renovation, adding green energy and beautiful finishes, landscaping etc. Then again after they were complete. Really warm, welcoming space. I stayed in the larger casita with the kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom, very spacious for my young son and I - room for him to play etc, not just a bed to sleep in. Loved the hot tub under the stars. Definitely recommend this for folks who need to escape a city and recharge the batteries. Easy drive into Santa Fe or Madrid or to hikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rancho Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Gallina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.