We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Gallina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rancho Gallina to your Saves list
Rancho Gallina
31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved Rancho Gallina. It's an utterly unique Santa Fe experience with totally delightful , charming, friendly hosts. It's located a little south of town, away from the kitschy, crowded Santa Fe scene, down on the Turquoise Trail. We loved soaking in the cedar hot tub in the evenings, watching the baby owlets, and taking in the great sunsets and walks. The rooms are cute and funky, with tons of character. but still luxurious And if Mitch is fixing cocktails, you are in for a treat! We stayed in the Kiva Suite, but you can't go wrong with any of the rooms. The Moroccan Suite is like nothing you've ever stayed in before! We will try it next.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Trust me, when you think about "Santa Fe", you're thinking about this place. When you choose a "bed and breakfast" you're hoping you end up here. When you leave here, you trying to figure out when you can get back.

Owners Mitch Ackerman and Leslie Moody are fantastic hosts. When you stay at Rancho Gallina you benefit from their high standards and time traveling around the world experiencing how others make guests feel at home.

Rancho Gallina features just the right balance between traditional hospitality and modern must haves. Each room is a unique adobe masterpiece that will have you sitting in your room taking photographs or just pondering the intersection of cultures that define this corner of the world. Leave your cozy accommodations and you find yourself exploring a sprawling patch of earth dotted with curiosities and antiquities from another time. And yes, the handmade cedar hot-tub is extraordinary.

Here, you're just far enough away from the city center to feel like you're in the middle of no where, but close enough for a quick trip into town to see the sights or pick up whatever you need for your stay.

You will not regret a stay at Rancho Gallina.

Green Features: This is the real deal -- not some pamphlet that tells you to re-use your towels to save the earth. They've installed two solar arrays and a geothermal HVAC system. They compost everything and conserve water like it's going out of style (which it is).
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Rancho Gallina is truly a magical place! Whether watching the sunset while relaxing in the soaking tub or exploring the winding roads--this is a place to relax and re-charge. The accommodations are wonderful and you can't beat the morning expresso. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Imagine yourself in a cedar soaking tub watching the sun set over the mountains and the stars appear in the sky. That's what I got to do on my stay at Rancho Gallina. It was the best soak of my life--I left all my stress behind.

The rest of the stay was amazing as well. Mitch and Leslie are friendly hosts with great suggestions for hikes or things to do in Santa Fe. The room I stayed in was beautiful and the bed was super comfy. I can't wait to come back.

Green Features: Love the locally sourced food and the fact that geothermal energy is powering the whole thing!
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here once when they were still in the midst of an impressive renovation, adding green energy and beautiful finishes, landscaping etc. Then again after they were complete. Really warm, welcoming space. I stayed in the larger casita with the kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom, very spacious for my young son and I - room for him to play etc, not just a bed to sleep in. Loved the hot tub under the stars. Definitely recommend this for folks who need to escape a city and recharge the batteries. Easy drive into Santa Fe or Madrid or to hikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location of this eco-ranch is phenomenal. You're close enough to the city, but far enough to enjoy a peaceful retreat. I enjoyed the nearby trails and hikes, the ghost town Madrid and the around the corner solar-powered Santa Fe Brewing Company! The best part of my stay in Santa Fe was returning to this enchanting desert abode at Rancho Gallina after long days of local exploration. The unique casitas are clean, quiet, and have amazing views. The cedar hot tub is the best way to unwind while taking in the breathtaking sunset or the millions of stars visible in the night skies.

Green Features: This modern Eco-friendly ranch is solar-powered, uses geothermal energy, tankless water heaters and a compost!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a special place for relaxation, recharge and rejuvenation. The core of Santa Fe retains the feel of the "Old World" -- but Santa Fe is also a working American state capital with traffic and challenging congestion (the price of success and discovery). Enter Rancho Gallina -- and you return to the Santa Fe that most of us dream about and hope to find. Mitch and Leslie are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and approachable but also understand the power of quiet and solemnity. The rooms are spotless, the decor has many personal touches that reflect their great taste (Mitch and Leslie spent a lot of time pondering the decor and design and layout of each room), and the grounds are lovely. Everything is tasteful without being pretentious -- a place where you can curl up for a nap or read a book without worry. The presented food is usually local, interesting and scrumptious -- amazing seems a bit understated! Mitch and Leslie's attention to energy use is noteworthy as they use a combination of solar, geothermal, recycle and composting to minimize energy consumption and maximize personal comfort. You can be back into the hustle and bustle of Cerrillos Road in minutes -- but knowing that you can quickly return to this oasis is a very pleasant tether! In my travels around the world, Rancho Gallina has captured my imagination and upon leaving, I was already pondering my next visit.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own character. There are rooms which can better accommodate pets.
See more room tips
Green Features: Eco-friendly is an understatement as the Rancho uses solar, geo-thermal, composting and recycling as built-in "givens". It's footprint -- and your own -- will be gentle on the earth while staying there.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrettyVacant, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for loving this place almost as much as we do. Looking forward to your next visit, hopefully you'll be impressed with our winter/spring improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Road, Santa Fe, NM 87508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rancho Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Gallina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.