We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Estrellas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Estrellas
Save
You added Casa de Estrellas to your Saves list
310 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
western wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointing Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My recent experience at Casa de Estrellas - very disappointing. My mother and I were having a spa weekend in northern New Mexico and using a package deal at this locale. The package included 1 night stay in luxury villa w/firewood for fireplace, custom massage w/ hot oil & facial, complimentary espresso and cheese/fruit plate w/sparkling beverage, steam room and dry sauna.
When attempting to make reservations we were given the run around for available dates and the man on the phone acted like he didn’t know what package we were using.
We were not welcomed upon arrival; the mood was very somber and unfriendly. We were rushed to a casita above the garage, not getting the luxury villa we were supposed to - looked it was given to another guest even though we had reserved it 1 month prior to arrival. After quickly seeing the room we were rushed into our massages – supposedly behind schedule. There was no offer for assistance w/luggage.
Both experiences w/ massages and facials were wonderful (the best thing about the stay) but we didn’t get the hot oil offered in the package - no comp offered. Unfortunately the steam room was closed for repair - no compensation for the inconvenience. The outdoor hot tub was covered and not offered for use.
Upon returning to the room there was a small plate which included non fresh strawberries, grapes, a cream cheese roll covered in craisins and Gruet Blanc de Nois “sparkling beverage.” No espresso beans available.
The office closes at 6pm sharp, nobody available for after hour assistance, questions, etc

Maintenance issues – numerous light bulbs out all over indoor & outdoor. It was difficult to see after dark on outdoor stairs. Balcony – shaky, bedroom door doesn’t close.
The location is fantastic if interested in downtown area, however there is constant traffic noise from the busy street.

Overall, this place is beautifully decorated, quaint, unique, one of a kind. However, the hospitality is sorely lacking. I will not be returning, will not hold my wedding here and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

our stay here was better than pethe casa was large and comfortable
it is walking distance to the plaza and very safe to walk after dark
hot tub was clean and large and hot :0
a great place to stay
thanks "casa de Esstrellas"

Room Tip: the high note
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I used to live in Santa Fe and returned to get married. Santa Fe is such a a unique and special place, and Casa De Estrellas is really a fabulous example of that. The casita has everything you could need from an espresso machine to a trash compactor & dishwasher, all built into the amazing carved wood and custom tile kitchen & bath. You truly feel like a star in your robes and fantastically comfortable bed. The casita also has a private garage parking space (unheard of downtown Santa Fe), and everything about the space's design was personal, and special.

Do not be in a hurry when you visit, as the staff shares combination of spa zen & the laid back Santa Fe attitude, which I love, but others who are in a rush may not.

We scheduled the romantic escape package which included champagne, a couples massage & the most amazing cheese plate. We added steam time before the massage, which was the perfect way to relax and prepare for our massage. The massage was the best I have ever had.

Prior to arrival, I was concerned about our reservation and other details, but the staff had everything right, and were not invasive to our trip, but always helpful. We do not want to stay anywhere else in Santa Fe ever again! I highly recommend this for the traveler who would like a private and incredible environment for their stay in the Land of Enchantment!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Accommodations exceeded our expecations and the price/value was outstanding. Ambience of decor and furnishings were spectacular. Full kitchen alongwith washer/dryer made our 7-day stay very comfortable (and affordable!). The proximity to shopping at the Plaza and Canyon Road was also a big "plus"!

Room Tip: Concerto #1 is recommended -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We scheduled a couple's massage for our anniversary..worst experience I've ever had. Very very unprofessional from the second we walked in the door. Our appt was at 2 and the massage didn't begin until 245. The man working at the front desk was very unwelcoming. I was shocked that the guy who gave me a massage was wearing jeans and a backward ball cap, unprofessional again. It was far from a Massage I
got. Maybe a rub?? Maybe if that.
He was disgusting and smelled like
bad cologne. I should have asked if
he was certified because i KNOW he
was not. The other persons
massage was decent but not good. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

What an amazing place! My husband and I spent 4 days at Casa de Estrellas with a group of our friends. We each had our own unique and beautifully decorated casita with a modern kitchen including an espresso maker. A very cozy living and dining room with a fireplace and in the bedroom the bed itself was like heaven- a great plus on Valentine's night. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

-This is a review of the spa, not the hotel. We did not stay at this hotel.
Wonderful and exotic spa experience. The atmosphere downstairs is perfect. Quiet and secluded. The therapists, Mary and Joanne, are fabulous, good techniques and very friendly and professional!. My mother and I had the Royal Hammam treatment which included a steam (nice!), massage, body scrub, body wrap and facial. The only critique is that the body mud wrap should be done a bit differently. For my mom the mud was cold when applied and both of us thought the mud could have been applied with a brush or something for more even or complete application vs. being applied by hand.
Another issue was that the scheduling should have been handled differently. Mom and I showed up together and had scheduled appts. together, but somewhere in the process they put another customer in front of her (although the person came in well after we did) and mom had to wait for about half an hour for her massage and then I ended up waiting on her for us to leave.
The results were great. My skin felt wonderful and we were both very relaxed.
So if some tweaks can be made I think this is a wonderful spa choice of the many choiced in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa de Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Estrellas

Address: 310 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ambiance of a Santa Fe boutique hotel. Casa de Estrella is an artistically designed hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico offering luxury Santa Fe accommodations for romantic couple retreats, wedding destinations, and business travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Estrellas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Estrellas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.