We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouche Bistro

Bouche Bistro
451 W Alameda St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 982-6297
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouche Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 478 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Guadalupe Street
Description: Bouche is a neighborhood French bistro located in the heart of Santa Fe, serving inspired rustic French cuisine prepared by award-winning chef Charles Dale. Bouche offers an exceptional variety of new and old world wine selections to accompany the menu. Seating is limited and reservations are recommended.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely people and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The food was good, not great. However, I would return due to the lovely atmosphere and service. The staff was fabulous and friendly and the feel was that of a french, country restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were celebrating a birthday and following the advice of our concierge, we went to Bouche.The food was beautifully served and presented, the portions were quite generous and in a city known for dining experiences, it can hold its own...at the top.One of us had the cheese platter as an appetizer and the seafood platter as well. Only complaint is that the creme broulee had an extra, unnecessary and unappetizing extra of sifted sugar on top. The carmelized top is what makes this the special dessert that it should be. The outdoor area was not too attractive, kind of ordinary. The interior of the restaurant with views of the kitchen, was sleek and appealing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lovely meal before the Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We (two couples) recently dined at the Bouche Bistro for an early dinner at 5 prior to going to the Santa Fe Opera for the Saturday performance. From Alameda you don't see the entrance (but there is a sign on the building) but it is around the back by the small parking lot. The inside is quite lovely without being too formal. They bring fresh bread to the table with olive oil...the bread was very good. We started out with the Heirloom Tomato Salad (Fresh Burratta Cheese, Pistachio Pesto) as well as the Truffle Frites which were both delicious. Our entree was the Wild Mushroom Ravioli (Sweet Pea Emulsion) which had a wonderful flavor and texture....and is somewhat light which is what we were looking for this particular evening. The other couple with us had the Steak au Poivre and the Beef Tenderloin special both of which were tender and cooked to order. We finished with the Demerara Crème Brûlée which was a nice ending. The wine list is very extensive but somewhat expensive...but there are a few good bottles under $50. Service was excellent without the pretentiousness that occasionally creeps into some of the restaurants in Santa Fe. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I and two other couples dined at Bouche Bistro on July 29. Our companions had been there previously--it was our first trip to Santa Fe. We enjoyed a delightful and genuinely French Bistro style meal. From the foie gras to the creme brûlée everyone very much enjoyed their meal. The service was excellent and included a couple of complimentary samplers from Chef, who is a native of Nice and grew up in Monaco. He is a farm to table advocate and his restaurant is the real deal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We decided to take a break from Southwestern food, and we are so glad we did. If you closed your eyes, you might have believed you were in the French countryside. Lovely, fresh produce prepared in ways that allows the tastes of the ingredients to shine. Traditional bistro menu with some outstanding twists. Wish we lived closer, so we could dine here often! We'll be back next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouche Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bouche Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouche Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.