We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Boca

La Boca
72 West Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM (Downtown)
505-982-3433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Boca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Lincoln
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great meal at La Boca on a Friday night. We were a group of 10 so we were able to sample many items on the menu. We ordered 3 of most dishes so everyone would be able to sample. The shrimp dish was too spicy for some in our group. The barramundi was the least favorite dish and the only one where anything was left on the plate. The steak with salted carmel sauce was fabulous. Our group really enjoyed! We shared 3 desserts and all were demolished even though everyone was full already! The ice cream with marmalade was the most popular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    201
    62
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant was so good - we loved the squid ink pasta and the other tapas we had. the wine was excellent as was the service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

These people are real pros. The selections are unusual, the preparation and presentation are excellent, and the tastes are superb. They are really helpful with wine selections, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
600 helpful votes 600 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Hassle and $$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I definitely don't agree with many of the reviews for La Boca. It's not on my list of favorite places to eat.
When I was at Santa Fe in May, I reluctantly went there with a friend. But it was the same old story, a small, cramped dining area that's so loud it's hard to talk with your friends. And honestly the worst service I've experienced at Santa Fe.
The tapas are small portions compared to several other places at Santa Fe. They are pretty good, but they are not worth the high price for what you get.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the expense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Was not sure what to expect when we got there. It is a small European type of place serving Spanish (not North American) cuisine in tapas style (small plates to share tastes of food). Someone we met while in town recommended the Paella and he was right on with this dish. The serving for 1 is actually enough for 2 and it was delicious and full of seafood and meat. We also sampled various sherries, depending on the flavour of our dish. The waiter guided us and they were perfect for the meal we ordered. We started with the Bruschetta which was unlike anything we had ever tasted - made with a large piece of bread covered with an egg and flavored with truffle oil - beautifully presented and tasty. The pork skewer was the most disappointing and pricey for what you got. A bit overcooked too. Go for the Paella. Scrumptious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boca also viewed

 

Been to La Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.