We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Special 20% OFF
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best B&B in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Madeline Inn and its brother across the way -- the Hacienda Nicholas -- both owned and operated by Carolyn Lee and her amazing staff -- are perfect in every way! They are located at the end of a small, quiet street off Palace Avenue -- just a short walk from the Plaza. Carolyn and everyone who works with her are ever-present offering delicious home-cooked food, advice and wonderful conversation.

I was traveling alone, looking for a week of respite and could not have found a better place to stay in Santa Fe than the Madeline Inn. I had booked only 3 nights there but wound up being able to stay in different rooms there for the entire week. They were all charming, exquisitely decorated and very clean and fresh.

The hot-cooked breakfast with both indoor and outdoor setting -- along with the evening wine hour -- offered an opportunity to meet other travelers, some of whom will be friends for life!

Having traveled all over the world and stayed in many B&B's, I have to say the Madeline is the best B&B in the world!

Room Tip: They are all different and perfect in every way!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Madeline is totally environmentally friendly. I loved the option of not having service every day. The cleaning staff were wonderful.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
144
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a beautifully restored mansion with many tranquil places to sit and relax, both indoors and out. A generous array of treats is available all day long, beginning with brewed coffee in the morning and continuing throughout the day with an assortment of teas, fresh-baked cookies, pretzels, fruit and other snacks. In addition a complimentary glass of wine is offered each afternoon at 5, with more snacks. This largesse, along with the delicious breakfasts served in a garden setting, make it hard to escape without gaining a bit of weight! Still, we couldn’t resist acquiring a copy of their cookbook in the hope of recapturing some of our experience there. Some of the recipes are also available on the website and give an idea of the kinds of dishes served.

The Madeleine Inn is ideally situated, a short walk from the Plaza and other central Santa Fe attractions; however it is also quiet, owing to its location at the end of a cul-de-sac. We stayed in the Ivy Room, an aerie on the third floor. Visitors with mobility issues should be aware that the stairs are steepish. Because Ivy is on the top floor of this Victorian house, the ceilings slope. This two-room suite occupies the entire floor and is utterly private, even offering a tiny back balcony atop a metal outdoor spiral staircase. We were very happy and comfortable there.

As many of the reviewers have noted, the ambiance is enhanced by the warmth and welcome of host Carolyn. The innkeeping staff were invariably friendly, efficient and helpful. Both the Madeleine Inn and its sibling the Hacienda Nicholas seem to attract an eclectic and interesting cleintele, many of whom are repeat visitors – with good reason. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Only regret: we didn’t have time to visit the spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First, location. The Madeleine sits just east of Paseo de Peralta, a quick walk from the Cathedral and the Plaza. It is thus ideally situated for anyone concentrating on "downtown" Santa Fe. At the same time, it sits at the end of a one-block street and thus is removed from traffic noise. Too, Paseo de Peralta gives one easy access to major arteries out of the city center. Overall, the location is tremendously convenient.

The Inn itself is a late-nineteenth-century Victorian with all of the expected charm. My wife and I (of Social Security age) have stayed there twice, which says something in itself; we have come to Santa Fe seven times, and we left a previous B&B when we felt that the atmosphere had turned less welcoming than we would have wished. No such issues intrude at the Madeleine, where the staff is both gracious and low-key, taking their lead (no doubt) from Carolyn. The ambience overall is relaxed but classy.

Guests at the Madeleine take breakfast at the adjoining Nicholas Inn, which is also where the "happy hour" wine is served from 5-6. This extra feature--not all B&Bs include an afternoon "goody"--adds to the Inn's appeal. The breakfasts are good, and our daughter's beau--who accompanied us last year--loved the granola recipe enough to request a copy.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the first (Columbine Room) and second (Hyacinth Room) floors. The Columbine Room...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn encourages water-saving, and re-use of towels and bedding.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I hope that I can truly convey how delightful and pleasurable my stay was at The Madeleine Inn this past July. It was my first visit to Santa Fe and friends made my reservation, staying at the inn themselves. I loved everything about the Madeleine: its location, at the end of a quiet cul de sac only four blocks from the central plaza, could not be better. The historic, Victorian home sets a charming and inviting atmosphere while the rooms are spacious, warm and distinct. The amenities were terrific, including a filling breakfast, cookies throughout the day and large, comfortable beds. I was treated like a much-valued friend.

Of course, all of this was possible only because of the warmth and generous hospitality of the owner, Caroline, and her staff. Lastly, I must also add that I stayed in the Hyacinth Room, which was decorated by two prints by a Southwestern artist, Gustave Baumann, I did not know. I fell in love with his work. So, I have much to thank Caroline and her staff for, and I look forward to more visits to Santa Fe and The Madeleine Inn in the near future.
Susan E.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We're two senior couples who often travel together, often to Sta. Fe or Taos. This is our 3rd visit to Nicolas, Alexander, Madeleine complex of B&Bs under common management. All the rooms that we have had are most comfortable, great bedding, quiet AC (usually unnecessary), spacious baths, well furnished. Excellent breakfasts: a hot special (quiche, enchiladas, whatnot), juice
fresh fruit, banana (etc) bread, super bacon (or eggs) on request. Coffee ok, but better in town.
Happy hour at 5 with snacks & one glass of wine free (by law!), but you can BYOB. Always meet new interesting people: mostly northeastern opera lovers. (We always come in opera season & catch one or two.) Central location: 5 minute walk from Plaza.

Room Tip: Always satisfied!
See more room tips
Green Features: Small towels replaced if floored. Large towels weekly except as needed.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Staying at The Madeleine was certainly a highlight of our Southwest vacation. The historic Victorian home was restored beautifully with tasteful modern bathrooms and plush comfortable beds and linens- without taking away from it's old world charm. The gardens were colorful and well kept and the spa was divine! And breakfasts were over- the- top gourmet and delicious. The gracious owner was there at breakfast every day to greet and chat with her guests. The location was perfect as it is a very short and easy walk to galleries and the Plaza, and yet just off the beaten path to allow for a quiet and tranquil stay. We are looking forward to returning again during the winter.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently traveled from Denver to Santa Fe and stayed in the Ivy room at the Madeleine Inn. We loved the charming third level room. It was spacious, and we were impressed by the small touches (e.g., comfortable robes, fresh flowers, specific wash cloths designated for make up removal, natural body lotion/shampoo/conditioner, antique furniture, etc.) within the room. We were further impressed by the hospitality of the staff and the "perks" of the stay which included 24 hour availability of coffee, tea, water, and snacks (cookies, pretzels, peanuts and M&M's) and a nightly happy hour (complimentary glass of wine and snacks). We met Carolyn, the owner, and she was a kind soul who cares deeply about the happiness of her guests. The location of the B&B was fabulous. We liked that it was located on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of the plaza area yet it was only a 5 minute walk to the plaza! As we walked by other hotels/B&B's that we had researched prior to coming to Santa Fe, we felt confident that we had made the right decision in regard to location, privacy and charm. We will stay at the Madeleine Inn on our next visit and look forward to our next trip!

Katie and Antonio

Green Features: This B&B prides themselves on being environmentally friendly ranging from use of natural cleaning products, natural skin/hair products, organic food, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.