We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want or need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Save Saved
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Summer Special
Ranked #14 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williston, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could want or need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Highly recommended. We stayed in the Cottage and it had living room, kitchen and upstairs bedroom. Quiet side street but within walking distance or plaza. Owner and her family including Brady the lab puppy were very helpful and friendly. Great breadfasts included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in The Cottage. I actually lived there myself, many years ago, and have many fond memories of the sweet space. For people who wish the privacy of a vacation rental but love having breakfast and a friendly staff to help plan their days, this is the perfect choice.

By the way, Brady is now 22 weeks old and is doing fabulously well. While still a puppy, and into a bit of mischief here and there, it is clear he will be one fine labrador retriever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
119
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at B&Bs throughout Santa Fe over the years this is a real gem in the high desert. Great location three block from the square and Canyon Road. The Madeline is next door to the Nicolas Hacienda where a southwestern style hot breakfast compliments homemade tea breads and granola and fresh fruit daily. The morning Glory room fit us perfectly as we always need a lite bit more room than a standard room offers. Quiet, cozy and a comfortable bed offered us a good respite after our favorite activities. The Victorian House has a comfortable feel and the staff goes out of their away to assist in every activity. We took advantage of the on site Spa, and the skilled massage therapists. Try it-you will love it for a B&B treat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It is heart-warming to read how much you enjoyed The Madeleine Inn, which has often been referred to by writers as a "gem" or a "jewel" of Santa Fe for its remarkable architecture and interior details. The Morning Glory is a lovely and large room, and has such wonderful morning sun and birdsong. We are pleased to know that you fully enjoyed your breakfasts each morning, and took advantage of the Master-Level therapists at our Absolute Nirvana Spa. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor to let others know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the Violet cottage for 4 days for our Anniversary. It was quaint, quiet and very comfortable. This cottage had everything that we needed for our stay. Each morning we had breakfast with a variety of other traveler's from New York to California. Great conversation and wonderful breakfast, with a variety of fruit, juices, hot entrée of the day, beverages, etc... If someone wanted another entrée, the staff would make every accommodation for the customer.
We also had Spa treatments that were out of this world. I think that we floated out of the facility with wings. Most relaxing and professional treatment We have ever experienced. Elaina and Karin were magnificent. We will definitely return in the near future. have told everyone we know about our experience and the wonderful location this B&B is at, (2 blocks from Plaza). Thanks Carolyn for the wonderful time we had during our stay!!!!

Room Tip: The Violet Room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
How wonderful to know that we helped you enjoy your anniversary during your stay at The Madeleine. I too love the back garden's Violet Suite for being so spacious and quiet, with the lovely fireplace and daybed for afternoon relaxing. Having a couple's spa treatment is a terrific way to celebrate an anniversary, and Karin and Elenya do amazing work. Thank you so very much spreading the word to all of your friends, and for writing such a glowing review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to your next visit - good to know you plan to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not at all what we expected given the "Five" rating from other Trip Advisor travelers and the Diamond Collection rating from B&B.com. Perhaps it was better in times past? Not now. Shabby. Best thing going is the location, but there are other places near the plaza.

This was a very uneven experience. The bathroom felt more like a boarding house in need of repair than an upscale B&B. Our room had no accessible three prong outlets for grounded internet, but we did find one in the parlor. The porch needed sweeping. The furniture was worn, as were the carpets in our room. Breakfast was so-so, and mostly self-serve.

Location was good. Near the plaza. So many nicer places nearby. While we often love and find value in Bed and Breakfasts, evaluators should re-visit this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I truly regret you were so disappointed in your stay at The Madeleine. We try our best to provide a wonderful experience for our guests, and as you point out, the vast majority of our reviews are five stars, with guests loving the inn, the food and the service provided. Incidentally, the BedandBreakfast.com inspector paid us a visit in July of 2013, just a few months ago. He spent the night in one of our rooms, toured the entire property, and enjoyed breakfast with us the next morning. After a thorough inspection, we passed with flying colors, earning a Diamond classification.

When I bought this 1886 Queen Anne Victorian inn 16 years ago, it was in need of a lot of attention. I have been working diligently to renovate and improve the property ever since. It is my intention to continually work on the property while also maintaining our reasonable rates, the goal being a beautiful property providing comfort, warmth, great food and warm hospitality.

There is one bathroom that has yet to be renovated, in our least expensive room ($110-$150), so perhaps this is the room being referenced in this review. That particular room's carpet has very minimal wear showing on two corners, and I kept it because it is such a sweet carpet. Nonetheless, I shall plan on replacing that carpet within the next week. There is also a small toiletries table in the room that has some ring marks and has seen better days. I shall replace that within the next couple of weeks, as soon as I can find something suitable. As for grounded 3 prong plugs, there is an outlet with such grounded plugs in the room. It is not in the strip form, so perhaps the guest did not realize it was grounded. It is unfortunate this guest did not ask one of us for assistance, as we could have addressed that concern, or looked into a room change, which would perhaps have been the best course of action.

As for the breakfast, the cold selections of yogurt, fresh fruit parfaits, tea breads, granola, muesli and other cereals are offered on a buffet, so are self-serve. The hot dish of the day is plated and served individually to guests, with particular attention to requests for any dietary modifications.

I always appreciate getting feedback from our guests,whether positive or negative, as it helps me to do a better job as innkeeper. Please know that I shall address this particular bathroom, table and carpet at the earliest possible time, and will strive to offer the best accommodations possible at the most reasonable rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Madeleine is in a very nice, quiet spot at the end of a dead-end street. You might think you're the only people visiting Santa Fe! However, it's only a 5-minute walk to the Plaza, so all of the downtown attractions are very nearby. The onsite spa, Absolute Nirvana, is exactly that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for writing to share your pleasant experience with us here at The Madeleine. It is truly our blessing to be in such a quiet spot yet so close to the Plaza. While we miss out on any drive-by business, it makes for a completely peaceful and serene setting. I am also delighted to read that you found Nirvana at our back-garden Balinese-inspired spa. We hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Madeleine almost for anywhere from a few days to a week every summer for decades. We appreciate the delightful graciousness of the owner and staff and the serenity and comfort of the inn itself. Breakfasts are creative and delicious. Location is great for walking to museums, restaurants, etc., and it's just a short drive to the opera.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various rooms and twice stayed with friends at the Pinon Casita. We have enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
And we love you for writing this review! It is so heartwarming to have guests such as yourselves who come back year after year, and who so appreciate all that The Madeleine has to offer. Being just three blocks from the Plaza but at the end of a dead end street makes it so we have a very quiet and serene setting, while also be so close to so many of Santa Fe's restaurants, shops, galleries and other attractions. It is our pleasure to welcome you back each summer. Thank you for writing to Trip Advisor to let other know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A well organized B&B with friendly staff in a great location. Breakfast was good, snacks in the lobby were a nice touch. I was in Hyacinth, a small, but pretty room. Beware that the bed is very high and might not be accessible by everyone. You have to really climb up onto it-- a stool would be nice.

Green Features: Madeline Inn is very environmentally aware, as is Santa Fe, in general.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay, and for letting us know that the little wooden step stool for that big four poster bed went missing. Once we realized this I ordered a new one, which is now in place by the bed. You are right - they are rather like "Princess and the Pea" beds, and many people appreciate having the step stool. Thank you again for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.