We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B in Santa Fe, NM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Years Special 20% OFF
Ranked #6 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B in Santa Fe, NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great B&B. In an old house but has all the amenities. Coffee and snacks available throughout the day and night. Comfortable and spacious old style high bed. Great "social hour" in the early evening with snacks (no booze due to city law but you can BYOB) and in the morning a sumptious, full breakfast. Breakfast is in sister B&B only 20 yards across the street. Hospitible and friendly staff. Located in easy walking distance to central downtown Santa Fe and museums and shopping. Well worth the price. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: In Fall and Winter, get a room with a fireplace. All rooms are quiet so no need to worry about that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
145
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pretty house with lovely decorations, and comfortable rooms. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they don't mind giving phone calls or making reservations for you and provide a lot of information. Breakfasts are huge and cooked from scratch before your eyes. Nice local food, allergies are taken into account and most dishes come as vegetarian, bacon may be added as you wish. The only annoying thing with breakfast is that it is served at 8 am and by the time you're done with your food and chatting with the other guests, your morning is almost gone. The Inn is a quiet street and just 3 blocks away from downtown, so walking is your best option to enjoy Santa Fe without worrying about finding a space for your car. The innkeepers provide complimentary water, tea, coffee, snacks and cookies, which is such a nice touch. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here in previous trips to Santa Fe and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Each time we have been in a different room and they are all different and all nice with comfortable beds and ample storage. The owner is very present and the staff very attentive. Breakfast is always interesting and the guests are usually very simpatico. The location is wonderful. It's walking distance to the plaza-- five minutes -- and close to lots of restaurants. The homemade chocolate cookies are a nice touch as is the gathering in the sister location, The Hacienda which is 50 steps away , in the early evening. Go and enjoy!

Barbara Robinson

Room Tip: All good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't walk, rather RUN to book your stay at The Madeleine Inn! Carolyn and Regan, the owner and manager respectively, along with their wonderful staff will guarantee your stay to be fabulous in every way from moment one. The accommodations are the embodiment of the three c's; comfortable - charming - clean! The breakfasts are exquisite (I bet you too will buy their cookbook)! Food allergy? No worries, your meals will be perfectly planned to your tastes and needs. Baked goods are made daily and just try to walk by the cookies without grabbing one on your way to bed after a day in this unbelievable city and its environment. Of course you won't want to miss the late afternoon tray of scrumptious delights either. Calling The Madeleine Inn friendly and fun is truly a monument to understatement!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I visited the Absolute Nirvana spa and decided the next time we were in Santa Fe, we would stay at the Madeleine. We were pretty sure we are not B&B people, but we loved the Nirvana, so we wanted to try one of theri deluxe packages. We booked the Columbine room and although the bed was comfortable and the room cozy, we were disappointed in several things. First, the fireplace had not been prepared (and we had booked the Columbine specifically for the fireplace) and we never were able to use it. Next, the room was always cold and we could never tell if the radiator was even on. Also, the television is propped up near the ceiling and we could not move it or get it to a spot that we could see it. Finally, the Columbine is right next to the kitchen and the main lobby, so activity levels are always very high (and loud!) We did love the personability of all the staff and the overall ambiance. We may try the Madeleine again (albeit, with a different room) just because the spa is FABULOUS and it was so nice to retreat to our room after our treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am delighted to learn that you had such a fabulous time in our spa, and enjoyed the inn itself so much that you plan to return. My only regret is that we were not made aware of the issues you experienced in your room. The fireplace in the Columbine Room is a gas fireplace, so is always ready to go with just a quick turn of a knob. The pilot is on, and the fireplace knob is marked "on" and "off". We keep the radiator set in the middle setting, though again, with a quick turn of the knob, it can go to a higher heat setting.

We do try to encourage our guests to let us know if there is a problem by placing the following sign on every guest door: "Please let us know right away if you are experiencing any problems during your stay. We will do our utmost to address any issues as quickly as possible so you can enjoy your Santa Fe visit to the fullest." Even with this note, I recognize that some guests are simply not comfortable bringing up any difficulties. I am so sorry we were not able to address the fireplace and heat, as both matters simply required a very quick explanation or demonstration.

As for the TV, it is situated on the shelf above the fireplace and is not easily seen from either of the armchairs. If I could add square footage to the room I would certainly do so, as this would allow the TV to be viewed from both the bed and the comfy chairs. Unfortunately, with the space limitations, the TV is only able to be viewed in comfort from the bed.

I do apologize for the noise factor. Due to burst pipes in our breakfast area, we had to serve both breakfast and the social hour on the first floor of The Madeleine for four days, which resulted in more noise and commotion outside Columbine than we ever have. Thankfully all is back in order. That being said, the Columbine is located near the front door of the inn, so does have some coming & going noise. This is generally not a problem for our guests in Columbine, however, I would recommend staying in Forysthia or Violet for a room with a king bed, fireplace, and total quiet all day and night. These are ideal rooms to retreat to after a heavenly treatment in the spa, and I am sure would be perfect choices for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley, new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Madeleine Inn is perfectly situated about three blocks from the Plaza and offers some of the best service and breakfast ever had at a B & B. After our first night, we asked to be moved from our room (the Columbine) because it was located right off the main entrance and the staff accommodated us in a cute little casita in the Alexander's Inn (owned by the same owner).

Room Tip: Columbine Room was beautiful and romantic with lovely stained glass but no privacy. The Cottage at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was our first time in Santa Fe and we could not have found a better place to base our stay in this wonderful city. From the moment we made our booking to the moment we arrived, our experience was wonderful. The Inn is just beautiful with individually decorated, very comfortable rooms and we felt like we were staying in someone's home rather than an Inn - with staff that treated you like friends rather than just guests - this was exactly what we wanted. Complimentary water, snacks (pretzels, peanuts) and those amazing cookies are just some of the personal touches that they provide. And the breakfast showcasing local flavour along with that amazing homemade granola was simply the best. Well located in a quiet street, away from but close to all you need in Santa Fe - this is THE perfect place to stay - we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.