We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Magnificent" Madeleine Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chappaqua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "Magnificent" Madeleine Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't walk, rather RUN to book your stay at The Madeleine Inn! Carolyn and Regan, the owner and manager respectively, along with their wonderful staff will guarantee your stay to be fabulous in every way from moment one. The accommodations are the embodiment of the three c's; comfortable - charming - clean! The breakfasts are exquisite (I bet you too will buy their cookbook)! Food allergy? No worries, your meals will be perfectly planned to your tastes and needs. Baked goods are made daily and just try to walk by the cookies without grabbing one on your way to bed after a day in this unbelievable city and its environment. Of course you won't want to miss the late afternoon tray of scrumptious delights either. Calling The Madeleine Inn friendly and fun is truly a monument to understatement!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    35
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
166
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I visited the Absolute Nirvana spa and decided the next time we were in Santa Fe, we would stay at the Madeleine. We were pretty sure we are not B&B people, but we loved the Nirvana, so we wanted to try one of theri deluxe packages. We booked the Columbine room and although the bed was comfortable and the room cozy, we were disappointed in several things. First, the fireplace had not been prepared (and we had booked the Columbine specifically for the fireplace) and we never were able to use it. Next, the room was always cold and we could never tell if the radiator was even on. Also, the television is propped up near the ceiling and we could not move it or get it to a spot that we could see it. Finally, the Columbine is right next to the kitchen and the main lobby, so activity levels are always very high (and loud!) We did love the personability of all the staff and the overall ambiance. We may try the Madeleine again (albeit, with a different room) just because the spa is FABULOUS and it was so nice to retreat to our room after our treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am delighted to learn that you had such a fabulous time in our spa, and enjoyed the inn itself so much that you plan to return. My only regret is that we were not made aware of the issues you experienced in your room. The fireplace in the Columbine Room is a gas fireplace, so is always ready to go with just a quick turn of a knob. The pilot is on, and the fireplace knob is marked "on" and "off". We keep the radiator set in the middle setting, though again, with a quick turn of the knob, it can go to a higher heat setting.

We do try to encourage our guests to let us know if there is a problem by placing the following sign on every guest door: "Please let us know right away if you are experiencing any problems during your stay. We will do our utmost to address any issues as quickly as possible so you can enjoy your Santa Fe visit to the fullest." Even with this note, I recognize that some guests are simply not comfortable bringing up any difficulties. I am so sorry we were not able to address the fireplace and heat, as both matters simply required a very quick explanation or demonstration.

As for the TV, it is situated on the shelf above the fireplace and is not easily seen from either of the armchairs. If I could add square footage to the room I would certainly do so, as this would allow the TV to be viewed from both the bed and the comfy chairs. Unfortunately, with the space limitations, the TV is only able to be viewed in comfort from the bed.

I do apologize for the noise factor. Due to burst pipes in our breakfast area, we had to serve both breakfast and the social hour on the first floor of The Madeleine for four days, which resulted in more noise and commotion outside Columbine than we ever have. Thankfully all is back in order. That being said, the Columbine is located near the front door of the inn, so does have some coming & going noise. This is generally not a problem for our guests in Columbine, however, I would recommend staying in Forysthia or Violet for a room with a king bed, fireplace, and total quiet all day and night. These are ideal rooms to retreat to after a heavenly treatment in the spa, and I am sure would be perfect choices for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley, new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Madeleine Inn is perfectly situated about three blocks from the Plaza and offers some of the best service and breakfast ever had at a B & B. After our first night, we asked to be moved from our room (the Columbine) because it was located right off the main entrance and the staff accommodated us in a cute little casita in the Alexander's Inn (owned by the same owner).

Room Tip: Columbine Room was beautiful and romantic with lovely stained glass but no privacy. The Cottage at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was our first time in Santa Fe and we could not have found a better place to base our stay in this wonderful city. From the moment we made our booking to the moment we arrived, our experience was wonderful. The Inn is just beautiful with individually decorated, very comfortable rooms and we felt like we were staying in someone's home rather than an Inn - with staff that treated you like friends rather than just guests - this was exactly what we wanted. Complimentary water, snacks (pretzels, peanuts) and those amazing cookies are just some of the personal touches that they provide. And the breakfast showcasing local flavour along with that amazing homemade granola was simply the best. Well located in a quiet street, away from but close to all you need in Santa Fe - this is THE perfect place to stay - we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our first time to Santa Fe. The location is perfect, within walking distance of most everything. The staff were very helpful in planning our days, helping with restaurants and day trips, and providing information that only locals would have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
472 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the minute we stepped foot onto the Madeleine Inn, it was wonderful. Some wonderful home made cookies awaited us as we checked in. We stayed in the larger suite (I think it was called the Forsythia Room) which was not connected to the main builiding and it was wonderful with a fireplace and nicely appointed decor. It was simple and they made the bed the focal point of the room. Speaking of the bed, it was so comfortable and the sheets so soft....we got a great night's sleep. Everyone was just so accommodating and helpful. They even used the B & B Certificate, but make sure you tell them ahead of time so that they know and won't bill the credit card the full amount. That's what happened to me so they just deducted the amount from my credit card. The breakfast was awesome; they had a blueberry sort of like a bread pudding thing and it was amazing, fresh fruit with yogurt sauce, home made breads (lemon and blueberry) and wondful coffee. Our stay here was just great.....thanks everyone for such a great stay. Oh and if you stay at this B&B, you actually have your breakfasts at The Hacienda Nicholas B&B which is their sister B&B and right next to each other. You also get a cocktail hour (5 to 6) but you bring your own cocktails and they provide a dip and chips and grapes....a nice time to gather after a long day and share stories with others who are staying there. Also, very clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main building and some are outside. We liked the ones outside of the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I loved the friendliness of the unobtrusive staff. The wine/ tea hour was wonderful for comparing note with fellow visitors. Breakfast was very yummy with lots of fruits, granola, yogurt, toast etc plus a hot specialty dish each morning. Super easy to walk to days worth of museums, shops and galleries. I really enjoyed my stay as a single traveler it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.