We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trip was fantastic!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Fall Getaway
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The trip was fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The trip to the La Madeleine was the best ever. There were lilacs in the room as well as other flowers. Carolyn, the owner, knows how much we like lilacs. It was exquisite for me to sleep with a huge bouquet of lilacs in our room. I have never gotten to do that in my whole life. The staff treat us like honored guests, and I cannot imagine going anywhere else in Santa Fe. We stayed in the Geranium room. For couples, it might be better to pick a room where the bathroom is not across the hall, but honestly, it is not a big deal to walk across the hall to the bathroom. There is a sink in the room, so it is a great room. We are already excited about our next trip to Santa Fe, and we will definitely stay at the La Madaleine. Even the guests are friendly! We met the bride and groom of the wedding and their guests who had picked the place for their wedding and the begging of their honeymoon. The organic breakfasts and snacks are delicious, and I really appreciate my dietary limits accommodations being graciously honored. The trip was delightful!! We can hardly wait to come again!! I highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: I would suggest that couples pick a room other than the Germanium room for privacy reasons. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
130
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We selected the Madeleine Inn because we wanted accommodations withing walking distance of the Plaza and museums. We did not know Santa Fe at all, and were delighted to find the B & B located on a very quiet side street, yet within easy reach by foot or car to wherever we wanted to go. I appreciated the Victorian building in the midst of all the Santa Fe southwestern architecture. The Hyacinth room was ample and comfortable, with an alcove desk where we were able to use our laptop in comfort. The public rooms were well maintained and the staff was available and always helpful. The courtyard provided a good place to read, and the breakfast room in the Nicholas Hacienda included a lovely courtyard location also. A great find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

One person's quaint and charming is another's old and funky. Unfortunately, I'm rating this inn in the latter category. A B&B isn't supposed to be a sleek Hilton, but our room (Columbine) lacked some conveniences, such as adequate plugs for charging our devices. The closet was microscopic (four hangers) and the furniture layout awkward.

On the plus side: very quiet, helpful staff, great breakfasts.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
I am grateful to this reviewer for pointing out the lack of hangers in the closet. Clearly four hangers is not at all adequate, and it is our intention to keep a dozen in each guest room closet. It would seem that some of our hangers went MIA and it was our oversight that they did not get replaced. The armoire is now fully stocked with hangers. My utmost apologies that you did not have the hangers you needed, and I regret that we were not made aware of this lack during your stay. We always have plenty of back-up!

The Madeleine is located in a Queen Anne Victorian built in 1886, and as such, does not have loads of outlets. However, there is a surge protector, with three empty outlets, as well as several outlets in one of the cabinets next to the fireplace of Columbine. All counting, there are six outlets available for charging phones, iPods, iPads, computers, etc.

I might recommend that guests wanting the atmosphere of an historic home but the size and convenience of a newer room choose to stay in either the Violet of the Forsythia Rooms. These units, located in the back gardens of the inn, were built about 20 years ago and have more modern floor plans and layouts. These units offer the utmost in privacy and modern conveniences, but also have a similar architecture to the historic Madeleine Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This bed and breakfast ranks among the best we've ever stayed at. We were lucky to choose the third floor Ivy Room, which was perfect for two people. Though the ceilings are slanted, there is actually a lot of space - a bedroom area, bathroom, and large sitting room. There is also a door at the end of the sitting room that can be opened to let in sunshine and cool breezes. If you like a very quiet room where you only hear the birds in the morning (if you crack the windows open) then this is the place for you. The place is located in a quiet area but close enough to town to be an easy walk. We didn't have to drive at all, except to go to the mountains. The staff is wonderful and they make amazing breakfasts. There is always lemon water, tea, and snack foods available. Everything was handled in a most professional manner. The building is beautiful - a real classic that was built well and has been kept in great shape. Didn't use the adjoining spa, as we found it too pricey for us. Was afraid that we'd be talked into going to it, but that didn't happen. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Room was very, very nice. The entire stay was above and beyond our expectation. Friendly people, great food, a perfect location and a very pleasurable time there.
My husband also enjoyed the "massage" !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were on the road and making reservations and were hoping to get into the Hacienda. They were full but we were able to get a room at the Madeline (right across the street) which was fabulous. This may be the only B & B where I heard no "house sounds" - very quiet! Also, very nicely appointed with home made cookies, snacks and drinks available throughout the day. The staff is extrememly friendly, helpful and willing to make reservations.
The location is perfect. We walked to old Santa Fe which is just a few blocks, walked to Canyon Road and restaurants are easily accessed.
Breakfasts were wonderful with a variety of options and the conversation with other guests included a lot of recommendations for places to go and things to see and do in Santa Fe.
The world class spa was definitely a draw but time got away from us. Next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I loved the Madeleine Inn and will stay here again. Beautiful property within easy walking distance of the Plaza. Delicious breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.