We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe Enchanting Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Save Saved
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Summer Special
Ranked #14 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Santa Fe Enchanting Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just stayed at the Madeleine Inn for our honeymoon - it was an outstanding choice. The Forsythia Suite was extremely comfortable - it was bright and spacious and clean - everything in the room was laid out well. Our room was very quiet and private. Breakfasts at Hacienda Nicholas were delicious and it was fun to compare notes with other travelers each morning. Amazing location near the plaza - easy walk to Canyon Road and all of plaza area. Carolyn and her staff were top notch - when we wanted help, it was freely available; when we wanted privacy, we were left alone. We definitely hope to stay there again if we travel to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
119
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the ivy room and really enjoyed the cozy upstairs. Great if you want some privacy as there are two rooms. The staffs were immensely helpful. Walking into the lovely 1886 building with the aroma of freshly baked cookies await you was welcoming. Tastefully decorated. Hot tea, coffee, and snacks available at all times. These are small but personal touches that make a b&b more delightful. You can walk to all the main attractions from here. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay again when future travels call.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We enjoyed the stay. The room was very nice and the walk to the plaza was short. You'll be very close to a church. You're near a parking lot, but you're more likely to notice choir practice. Take any recommendations for dinner (and accept the offer for reservations if it's the weekend.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our stay at the Madeleine Inn was a wonderful experience. From the moment we entered this charming bed and breakfast we were greeted by George who was very professional and courteous. The inn was very warm and inviting and George shared valuable information about the services provided (i.e. breakfast, spa, tea time, etc). George escorted us to our room and offered to assist us in any way he could. We stayed in the Violet Room and were pleasantly surprised. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and the fireplace and window seat gave the room added character and warmth. During our visit we also met the owner, Carolyn Lee, and found her to be a very kind and thoughtful lady. In the afternoon we enjoyed tea time. Tea time was a very relaxed, laid back atmosphere that provided a great opportunity to visit with other guests who were staying at the inn. Merrily made our tea time fun and entertaining with her Motown and country CDs. We enjoyed munching on delicious cookies or dessert bread while enjoying a cup of hot tea or hot chocolate as we sat around the cozy fireplace. The spa services were amazing! The body massage, facial and the soothing rose petal bath were absolutely wonderful. Thank you Susan! Every morning, Greg served the most delicious breakfasts. The Frittata and breakfast enchiladas were so good. Both Greg and Merrily were a wealth of information and always suggested a great place to eat or an interesting place to visit. Greg, thank you for letting my mom take your picture. Next time you'll have to dress up in your Santa Fe garb - hat and all!
The one thing we did not expect was snow but we were treated to one day of the most picturesque winter scene. Thank you again for making our first visit to Santa Fe a memorable one.

Room Tip: The Violet Room is located behind the inn and provides a little more privacy. You also have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Madeleine Inn was an old and charming B&B. Quite location easy walking distance to downtown attractions. Room was smallish but comfortable, great king bed. However, in our room, Morning Glory, the bath sink was in the room while shower and toilet were in the bathroom. All high quality fixture but not all together. Another room the bath was across the hall. The sink in the room was a surprise but didn't bother us; the overall pleasant accommodations made this a minor issue. But if you are bath phobic check first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for writing such a helpful and informative review. The Madeleine Inn is indeed an historic property, having been built by a railroad tycoon in 1886. At the time, having one indoor bathroom was considered the height of luxury. When the building was turned into an inn almost 30 years ago, a bathroom was added for each guest room, but given the constraints of space, they are not our modern-sized bathrooms. The Morning Glory (measuring 14’x18’) has one of the smaller bathrooms, with the sink in the bedroom itself. We recognize this is an unusual set-up, though have made a point of making this bathroom as nice as possible. For guests seeking the charm of an historic building but wanting a larger and more conventional bathroom, I would recommend The Columbine, Forsythia or Violet Suites. The last two, Violet and Forsythia, are particularly lovely and spacious. They were built in the back garden of the inn, in line with the architectural style of the original home, and are very spacious and offer much larger bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I were so impressed with our stay. We stayed in the Cttonwood. The room was clean, cozy and inviting. The ladies who took care of us and cooked our breakfast. Breakfast was superb. We also had our little dog with us and the staff even made sure of her comfort. I will definately visit again and advise others to do the same!

Sincerely,
Shirley

Room Tip: We loved the cottonwood
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just returned from staying 2 nights in the Forsythia with 2 friends to celebrate our birthdays. Room was very clean and comfortable - great beds and pillows! A personable, personal, attentive and charming inn and staff. At $200 per night, with a very good breakfast included we thought it was a bargain for the area. Excellent location, too. Just a few blocks from the Plaza yet with a quiet, residential feel. We did not have the opportunity to experience the spa but will certainly make a point of it next visit. Only complaint was that the room was chilly. Granted it was cold (in the 20's) outside but the gas fireplace and a rather ineffective space heater did not warm the room sufficiently. But the multiple comforters and blankets kept us toasty during the night!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your stay in Forsythia. Gee, I sure wish had known you were chilly. There is a brand new, perfectly-functioning heater and air conditioning unit in the suite. The controls are by the window facing the garden and spa, and work with a simple up and down of the arrow for more or less heat. You would have been as toasty as you would have wanted to be.

The gas fireplace is more for ambiance than heat, and the space heater is for additional heat in the bathroom - not meant to heat the room.

I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay, and am very sorry that you were unnecessarily chilly. We certainly look forward to your next visit, and will make sure you are completely comfortable!

Thank you again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.