We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeleine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madeleine Inn to your Saves list
Madeleine Inn
106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spring Break in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Madeleine Inn was an old and charming B&B. Quite location easy walking distance to downtown attractions. Room was smallish but comfortable, great king bed. However, in our room, Morning Glory, the bath sink was in the room while shower and toilet were in the bathroom. All high quality fixture but not all together. Another room the bath was across the hall. The sink in the room was a surprise but didn't bother us; the overall pleasant accommodations made this a minor issue. But if you are bath phobic check first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for writing such a helpful and informative review. The Madeleine Inn is indeed an historic property, having been built by a railroad tycoon in 1886. At the time, having one indoor bathroom was considered the height of luxury. When the building was turned into an inn almost 30 years ago, a bathroom was added for each guest room, but given the constraints of space, they are not our modern-sized bathrooms. The Morning Glory (measuring 14’x18’) has one of the smaller bathrooms, with the sink in the bedroom itself. We recognize this is an unusual set-up, though have made a point of making this bathroom as nice as possible. For guests seeking the charm of an historic building but wanting a larger and more conventional bathroom, I would recommend The Columbine, Forsythia or Violet Suites. The last two, Violet and Forsythia, are particularly lovely and spacious. They were built in the back garden of the inn, in line with the architectural style of the original home, and are very spacious and offer much larger bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    35
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
165
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I were so impressed with our stay. We stayed in the Cttonwood. The room was clean, cozy and inviting. The ladies who took care of us and cooked our breakfast. Breakfast was superb. We also had our little dog with us and the staff even made sure of her comfort. I will definately visit again and advise others to do the same!

Sincerely,
Shirley

Room Tip: We loved the cottonwood
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just returned from staying 2 nights in the Forsythia with 2 friends to celebrate our birthdays. Room was very clean and comfortable - great beds and pillows! A personable, personal, attentive and charming inn and staff. At $200 per night, with a very good breakfast included we thought it was a bargain for the area. Excellent location, too. Just a few blocks from the Plaza yet with a quiet, residential feel. We did not have the opportunity to experience the spa but will certainly make a point of it next visit. Only complaint was that the room was chilly. Granted it was cold (in the 20's) outside but the gas fireplace and a rather ineffective space heater did not warm the room sufficiently. But the multiple comforters and blankets kept us toasty during the night!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Madeleine Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your stay in Forsythia. Gee, I sure wish had known you were chilly. There is a brand new, perfectly-functioning heater and air conditioning unit in the suite. The controls are by the window facing the garden and spa, and work with a simple up and down of the arrow for more or less heat. You would have been as toasty as you would have wanted to be.

The gas fireplace is more for ambiance than heat, and the space heater is for additional heat in the bathroom - not meant to heat the room.

I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay, and am very sorry that you were unnecessarily chilly. We certainly look forward to your next visit, and will make sure you are completely comfortable!

Thank you again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My daugter and I recently stayed in the Morning Glory room at the Madeline Inn. We wanted our stay in Santa Fe to be totally relaxing and we nailed it by staying there. From the minute we opened the front door to the minute we left, it was total relaxation. The spa treatments are beyond a doubt, the best I've ever had! The bed is like sleeping on a cloud, the staff is warm and friendly, and Greg really serves the best breakfast ever! The Inn is within walking distance to so many good restauants and shops. Our stay there felt more like visitng good friends than just staying in a hotel. If you want to relax and enjoy the essence of Santa Fe, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The Morning Glory was a great size to allow leaving luggage out and not be cramped. The bed is exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My mom and I were on a road trip, but couldn't go through Santa Fe without staying a night and walking around the next day. We called day of and were given a significant discount since we wouldn't be there until later and would miss the appetizer hour. Nice! It was very easy to let ourselves in after-hours, get settled and walk down to the square to find a late dinner. We stayed up quite late, so woke up later. Stayed in the Columbine room a beautiful, comfortable, cozy room. It was on the first floor so, as with most bed and breakfasts, we did hear some noises as we still tried to sleep, but it wasn't any more than I would expect. And we were sleeping in, so it wasn't too early. Breakfast was amazingly unique and delicious. Quinoa for breakfast! And we talked to staff and other guests like they were family (better actually). They then allowed us to keep our car in their parking lot until the afternoon while we walked around. Not always possible, but it wasn't a busy day for them. Great experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed in the Forsythia Suite. What a wonderfully romantic room, fireplace and all. Regan was a wonderful hostess and rescued us when I left my cell phone locked in the room, at 6 in the morning! What a wonderful place. I highly recommend staying here. The breakfasts were marvelous.

Room Tip: The Forsythia Suite was wonderful. Highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed her a while back. Great rooms, even greater beds.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madeleine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeleine Inn

Address: 106 Faithway Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madeleine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeleine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.