We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Mexican military history dating back almost 200 years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library

Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library
1050 Old Pecos Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Downtown)
505 474 1670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 109 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Military Museums
Attraction Details
Cd'A, Id.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“New Mexican military history dating back almost 200 years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have wanted to visit this museum for at least 2 previous trips to Santa Fe but, never made it happen. This time I was determined to see just what the "BATAAN" museum was had to offer. Turns out the museum houses historical military record of military actions and service of conflicts clear back in time to when the U.S. and Mexico were engaged in war, to Civil War action in New Mexico, to both World Wars, and all recent wars in Europe and the Arab region. Showcased are several articles of uniforms and many weapons from knives to swords to pistols, rifles, and machine guns. There were even items found or confiscated from enemy troops. The museum is a great look back into the past military involvement of the fine service men and women of New Mexico, and the current involvement of the New Mexico National Guard. The accounts of the service people who were lost in the Battle for Bataan was most touching and truly worth the trip to this museum. Thank you for giving the public a chance to remember some very difficult times with honor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhineland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small but worth checking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Before I visited Santa Fe, I found out there is a memorial/museum dedicated to the Bataan March: The Bataan Memorial and Military Museum. The New Mexico National Guard units 200th/515th Coastal Artillery were one of the main captives held during the march and subsequent captivity. Besides highlighting the Bataan March, the museum also has information on general New Mexican military history from 19th century to the present. Even though the museum is small and can be easily covered out in one hour, I recommend history buffs to check it out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Film and Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the sort of museum where my wife reads every word and misses no artifacts. And I almost matched her thoroughness. From the old west to the present day, the museum tells the story of New Mexican military history. We had particular interest in the Bataan death march and the museum didn't disappoint. The 10-minute film narrated by Alec Baldwin was outstanding. But we were fascinated with all the other memorabilia on display as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Tom O”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a suprise when I visited this museum. I have seen a lot a military musuems and this is a small gem that anyone who has an interest in history, espically military history should visit. Yes, it does have some history on the Bataan Death March but is has more of a lot of other things. They have artifacts dating back to the soldiers of the initial Spanish who came to Santa Fe, continuing into the 1800's where the Union troops were dealing with attempted conquers of New Mexico from the Confederacy. The history displays continue up through World War ! and II and into the modern age of F-16's of the New Mexico National Guard. For a small museum they have an outstanding small arms weapons display that could be the envy of many a larger museum. Best of all, it's free but if you want to contribute money, there is a small box to drop some bill off.
I actually enjoyed this more than the Russian Military Museum in Moscow.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This small, but growing museum is a tribute to all the Soldiers from New Mexico, especially the soldiers who were in the Bataan Death March and were on the "hell-ship" transporting them to the POW camps and forced labor.

The movie is a must to understand what they all endured. Their bodies looked similar to the bodies in Nazi death camps. It may not be appropriate for young children.

The museum is Free, but your donations will help grow this museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library also viewed

 

Been to Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bataan Memorial Military Museum and Library to your Saves list