We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves real Mexican food that filled our "Mexican palet!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tomasita's Cafe
554 Juanita Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Historic District)
505.988.3614
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 463 restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Neighborhood: Historic District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Historic District
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Serves real Mexican food that filled our "Mexican palet!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Yes this place is busy but there us a reason they actually serve tasty Mexican food not Spanish /New Mexican dishes.
Chile rellanos tasty. Tacos not exciting.
Bar pricey and locales get special attention.
Parking lot always full.
Hours 11-10 daily.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    8
    16
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“big flavor reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great tex mex resturant located near the Santa Fe road runner station ( and a long walk from the plaza).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have eaten at Tomasita's for the last 20 years. The menu has some unique New Mexican specialties and the food is always good. In the past few years the service has not consistently been the best and the prices are now high. If you are coming from out of town, this is still a good place to go, but for locals there are places with better food and more reasonable prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lost it's Flavor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As a native Santa Fean who has eaten at Tomasitas since it started on Hickox St. many,many years ago, I was dismayed at what has happened to their green chili after eating there for the first time in about 9 months the other night.
I have always told any visitors that it was the best green chili in town because it was! But something terrible has happened to how they are preparing it that has changed it from the best to the most tasteless and bland green chili I have ever had. It tasted exactly as if they had opened a can of green chili and poured it over my enchilada. No flavor, no seasoning and no heat at all. Just yuuuck.
When we commented about it to our waiter he seemed surprised and said that all their green chili was made with a vegetarian recipe now. Does that preclude using fresh roasted or high quality green chili as a base and does it exempt the use of any seasonings like oregano and garlic to give it some flavor?
It was just plain awful and unless they change it back to their flavorful blend and advertise the change, they have lost this Santa Fean as a customer forever!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“In all the tourist mags”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Good but typical Mexican dishes. The servings are substantial and nicely presented. Good service, with a moment to actually talk with patrons, if you are so inclined. The sopapillas never fail to please, and with an iced tea or hot coffee, make a wonderful mid-morning or mid-afternoon treat, as well as an end of the meal treat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomasita's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.