We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family Cowboy Fun; Great for Tourists!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeo de Santa Fe

Rodeo de Santa Fe
3237 Rodeo Rd, Santa Fe, NM
505/471-4300
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 109 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Delaware
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“"Family Cowboy Fun; Great for Tourists!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Attended opening night; it was colorful healthy 'old West' entertainment with something for everyone... from 'mutton bustin' little kids attempting to ride sheep, to cowboy 'ropin', bull-doggin', bareback & saddle bronc ridin', cowgirls barrel racing, and plenty of exciting pageantry with flags & banners galore. General admission is only $10. for kids and seniors ($17. otherwise) or for a few more 'bucks' (rodeo humor...get it?) you can sit in covered bleachers. Cheapest seats face the sunset (West), which could obscure seeing the events until evening. Some top rodeo circuit competitors (Professional Rodeo Cowboys of America) compete for hard-earned points and prize money here, and the stock (horses/cattle/sheep) seem fit and respected. If you haven't seen a rodeo, do go; its a glimpse into a dying cowboy lifestyle! Plenty of food & beverage stands nearby; try the roasted corn on cob or 'chicken on a stick'... mmm! Oh, the parking is free for rodeo attendees; yippee!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was great. It was so much fun. My whole family enjoyed it. Know we go every year. It is nice. I hope you have as much fun as my family had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Sun in the heart, not in the eyes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I always enjoy a good rodeo and this venue never disappoints. It faces East so you never have the sun in your eyes as you experience all the events close up. There are cheap seats that do face West but typically they are not too much cheaper than the East facing seats so unless it sells out, the grandstand is worth the money. Bring a few cushions and a couple of blankets because as the night wares on it gets chilly and those bleachers will do a number on your backside! Yes, even in July.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fun with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Low key fun with kids, especially if they haven't been to a rodeo before. Keep your eyes peeled for the rodeo parade downtown before hand.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
“go every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

me and my boys go every year! they love it and so do I..... i love watching the cowboys YUMMYYY =)

omg what if I dont wanna write 100 characters?????

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodeo de Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to Rodeo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.