We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun in the heart, not in the eyes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeo de Santa Fe

Rodeo de Santa Fe
3237 Rodeo Rd, Santa Fe, NM
505/471-4300
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 218 things to do in Santa Fe
Attraction details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Sun in the heart, not in the eyes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I always enjoy a good rodeo and this venue never disappoints. It faces East so you never have the sun in your eyes as you experience all the events close up. There are cheap seats that do face West but typically they are not too much cheaper than the East facing seats so unless it sells out, the grandstand is worth the money. Bring a few cushions and a couple of blankets because as the night wares on it gets chilly and those bleachers will do a number on your backside! Yes, even in July.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa fe
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Low key fun with kids, especially if they haven't been to a rodeo before. Keep your eyes peeled for the rodeo parade downtown before hand.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
“go every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

me and my boys go every year! they love it and so do I..... i love watching the cowboys YUMMYYY =)

omg what if I dont wanna write 100 characters?????

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not a Cowboy, Loved Every Minute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having begun way back in the early 1950's, I can't think of how to improve on this historic rodeo - it's got everything (mutton busting, bulls, barrels, clowns, fair, food, parade, queen, etc.) A real, crazy, small town event with some big-time national performers. Not too big, not too small. The Mexican cowboys (charros) are a awesome addition. We go every year we can (6x so far).

As this is held during the rainy season, be prepared.
Also, you may eat some mud if you sit on front row seats (join the local crowd in the grandstands).
Don't forget your camera.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great Smallish Town Rodeo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We never miss it. It rocks, and is very local and sort of small timey, all of which adds to the charm....

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodeo de Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to Rodeo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.