We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best art gallery in Santa Fe?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)

New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)
Paseo de Peralta and Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM
505/986-4589
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 109 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Government Buildings
Attraction Details
Tulsa, OK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best art gallery in Santa Fe?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Unusually for a state capitol, New Mexico's state house is very accessible. No metal detectors, no lines to get through security. It also has a tremendous collection of locally themed art by local artists in a wide variety of media. Even if government buildings aren't your bag, come to see the art. On the main floor at the entrance there's a helpful information desk.

We walked to the capitol from the plaza and had some trouble finding the entrance. We were on Don Gaspar St and gave up a bit too early, winding up in the corridor connecting the capitol to the north building. Had we walked a 100 feet further we'd have clearly seen the west entrance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    72
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Capital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

On summer trips we like to see the state capital. This was great it had everthing from very nice people to help with any questions you may have. They also have daily tours. There is beatiful art work displayed thoughout the roundhouse. The best part was being able to get a tour of the office where the governor has meetings. My kids were able to get packets of information of the state . It was good family fun we loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Not a Fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family makes it a point to visit the capitol building of each state we visit when we travel assuming the path works out. We do not as a general rule take the tours of the inside of these buildings but instead choose to walk the grounds, admire the architecture, history and sculptures when available. Understanding that the adobe style is the norm for the area, I still expected to see the capitol building with more of an architectural style similar to the traditional capitol buildings. This one did not have any of the same elements which definitely makes it unique but it is one that I am simply not a fan.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great quilt exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The building itself is based upon Peublo architecture and the 4 directions but I went to the wonderful exhibit of textile art on display. The quilts were amazing and so intricate. There was a lot of other great art on display. I didn't really tour the building itself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Capitol with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the Capitol was like going to another art museum. It was wonderfully eclectic. The building is also lovely. It was nice to see a Capitol with character. Don't miss it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse) also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse) to your Saves list