We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
bloomington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The staff at this hotel were very nice and kind. The problem with the hotel was that the floor in our room was sticky and there were stains on the foot stool and the floor. The location was only ok. It was a 15 minute drive to old town. This was not a bad hotel, just not up to HIE criteria for the property. I am grateful that the staff was good, but my guess is you can find a better place for the value.

Room Tip: Older building, somewhat remodelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear george107,

We really appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We believe them to be a great opportunity to continue improving our services. I apologize for any inconvenience you have been incurred during your stay. We continue our renovation project and expect to be fully done by end of 2014.

We trust you will visit us again and will find us to your full satisfaction!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    27
    23
    9
See reviews for
33
45
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Room dated - carpet really needs to go. But rooms and bathrooms very clean. Bed comfortable. Internet speed was decent. Breakfast was good. Small pool perfect for quick dip to cool off. About five miles to square. I'd stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear SaraCKTaylor,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your visit to our 'City Different'. We are pleased to hear you found our property to be of your satisfaction. We have made several changes and will continue to do more throughout this year.

We are confident you will enjoy your next visit even better!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The desk service at check-in was fantastic including fresh cookies! We were satisfied with the room even though it showed its age and the door rattled whenever anyone else closed their doors. Most notable was the disapointing TINY bath with VERY small counter space and stiff thin towels. Overall eminded me of the "Leave the light on for you" place! For this town the value seemed OK but we had truly learned to expect better from Holiday In Express.

Room Tip: ... look for a newer hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear AZBusDriver,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service you have received at check in. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We needed a last minute place to stay while traveling through town and Got this hotel through Hotwire. Thank goodness it was a good price, because the room was smaller than we expected and the hotel older. The front desk staff was welcoming and the breakfast good (pancake machine not working). I just expected more from a Holiday Inn with a 3 star rating.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Rick Sarena C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you found our front desk to be friendly and enjoyed our breakfast selections. However, we're sorry you were not well satisfied with some aspects during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is my first time staying here and I will definitely do it again. The service at the front desk has been great and the continental breakfast is very good (lots to choose from). The only reason I did not rate it a 5 is because the air conditioner in the room doesn't seem to work so well. That could just be in my room though. Otherwise, great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Linzie C,

Thank you for selecting our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your vacation. We are very pleased to know you found our services to your satisfaction! I apologize for any inconvenience you may have been incurred with your AC unit, this is not something regular for us. Please don't forget we have a great team in place 24/7 to assist in any way and ensure our guests are comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

These past 3 weeks I stayed in HI Express hotels in Page AZ, Cortez CO, Santa Fe NM and Flagstaff AZ and I noticed a lot of similarities. In every hotel the size of the room was generous, but there were no wardrobes. A 3-drawer cabinet is not nearly enough for your holiday luggage and you are forced to keep most of it in your suitcase.
In general everything in the room was in working order and well maintained. Sufficient wall plugs to charge your phones, tablets, cameras etc, all at the same time. The beds are very comfortable.
The breakfast facilities were similar in all hotels and the offered ranges were identical. A typical American obese breakfast with pancakes, syrup and jelly, eggs and fried sausages, donuts, glazed cinnamon buns, muffins, stale bread for toasting, cereals and concentrate juices diluted with too much water. More than you will find in the average motel, but nothing for me. I took the only sensible products I could find like skimmed milk, low fat yoghurt and fruit, and bought the rest in the supermarket. It didn’t bother me but the service in the breakfast area was inadequate and unacceptable. Every day many items were not replenished for a longer period of time.
As a platinum member I am entitled to an upgrade but they did not have any available.
This hotel is ideally located for tours in the area, but very far from the city center. There are plenty of decent restaurants but not in the vicinity.
In the historic downtown, parking is restricted and very expensive. I strongly recommend to leave the car in a public parking lot and use the free ‘Pickup Shuttle’.
The ‘high-speed’ internet is not stable but ok with off peak speeds of 100Kb down and 90Kb up. It may take some time to upload your holiday pictures but it is doable.
Refurbishing is overdue but the prices are more less in line with what is offered an I would reluctantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room without breakfast and buy your own outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Empire07,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

HIE is usually always excellent. We make it a point to find one wherever we find ourselves if we are staying overnight. They are clean, usually quiet, and consistent. The Hot Breakfast is to our liking and we find that we save more money and time by paying a bit more and having the hotel have a hot breakfast, verses a less expensive room and then having to find breakfast someplace else.
We did find that this hotel is farther from downtown Santa Fe than we anticipated, but the location was easy enough to find. Appreciated safe, off-street and lighted, free parking.
No problems, and when we return, we'll now know where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Violette54,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your stay. We are pleased to know you found our property to be consistently satisfying for your family's needs. I trust you have enjoyed our brand's new and healthier items to our breakfast, such as Chobani greek yogurt, Turkey sausage, wheat English Muffins, and more fruit choices.

We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe, NM. We are conveniently located just 4 miles south of the Santa Fe Historic Downtown Plaza. Just exit I-25 at Cerrillos Road, Exit #278. Come and be our guest while you experience Santa Fe's rich cultural diversity, art galleries, museums, shops, Indian Market and many fine restaurants.Each one of our 76 newly remodeled hotel rooms features a microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing boards and hair dryer. Our beautiful hotel features the new Stay Smart Bedding Collection in all of our rooms that will make your stay restful and relaxing.Be our guest and enjoy our delicious new full Continental breakfast with hot items. We also have a new fitness and business center and an outdoor pool and guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel. We also have high-speed wireless Internet.The Holiday Inn Express is a great choice to host your Santa Fe adventure. We are within an hour drive from Taos, Chimayo, casinos and the Eight Northern New Mexico Pueblos! Santa Fe is host of the Loretto Chapel, home of the Miraculous Staircase, oldest house in the United States, San Miguel Mission which is the oldest church in the US, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, Palace of the Governors, Saint Francis of Assisi Basilica, the Santa Fe Opera, and many more attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Santa Fe
Santa Fe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.