We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“I expected more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We needed a last minute place to stay while traveling through town and Got this hotel through Hotwire. Thank goodness it was a good price, because the room was smaller than we expected and the hotel older. The front desk staff was welcoming and the breakfast good (pancake machine not working). I just expected more from a Holiday Inn with a 3 star rating.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Rick Sarena C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you found our front desk to be friendly and enjoyed our breakfast selections. However, we're sorry you were not well satisfied with some aspects during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    27
    21
    9
See reviews for
33
43
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is my first time staying here and I will definitely do it again. The service at the front desk has been great and the continental breakfast is very good (lots to choose from). The only reason I did not rate it a 5 is because the air conditioner in the room doesn't seem to work so well. That could just be in my room though. Otherwise, great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Linzie C,

Thank you for selecting our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your vacation. We are very pleased to know you found our services to your satisfaction! I apologize for any inconvenience you may have been incurred with your AC unit, this is not something regular for us. Please don't forget we have a great team in place 24/7 to assist in any way and ensure our guests are comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

These past 3 weeks I stayed in HI Express hotels in Page AZ, Cortez CO, Santa Fe NM and Flagstaff AZ and I noticed a lot of similarities. In every hotel the size of the room was generous, but there were no wardrobes. A 3-drawer cabinet is not nearly enough for your holiday luggage and you are forced to keep most of it in your suitcase.
In general everything in the room was in working order and well maintained. Sufficient wall plugs to charge your phones, tablets, cameras etc, all at the same time. The beds are very comfortable.
The breakfast facilities were similar in all hotels and the offered ranges were identical. A typical American obese breakfast with pancakes, syrup and jelly, eggs and fried sausages, donuts, glazed cinnamon buns, muffins, stale bread for toasting, cereals and concentrate juices diluted with too much water. More than you will find in the average motel, but nothing for me. I took the only sensible products I could find like skimmed milk, low fat yoghurt and fruit, and bought the rest in the supermarket. It didn’t bother me but the service in the breakfast area was inadequate and unacceptable. Every day many items were not replenished for a longer period of time.
As a platinum member I am entitled to an upgrade but they did not have any available.
This hotel is ideally located for tours in the area, but very far from the city center. There are plenty of decent restaurants but not in the vicinity.
In the historic downtown, parking is restricted and very expensive. I strongly recommend to leave the car in a public parking lot and use the free ‘Pickup Shuttle’.
The ‘high-speed’ internet is not stable but ok with off peak speeds of 100Kb down and 90Kb up. It may take some time to upload your holiday pictures but it is doable.
Refurbishing is overdue but the prices are more less in line with what is offered an I would reluctantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room without breakfast and buy your own outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Empire07,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

HIE is usually always excellent. We make it a point to find one wherever we find ourselves if we are staying overnight. They are clean, usually quiet, and consistent. The Hot Breakfast is to our liking and we find that we save more money and time by paying a bit more and having the hotel have a hot breakfast, verses a less expensive room and then having to find breakfast someplace else.
We did find that this hotel is farther from downtown Santa Fe than we anticipated, but the location was easy enough to find. Appreciated safe, off-street and lighted, free parking.
No problems, and when we return, we'll now know where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Violette54,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your stay. We are pleased to know you found our property to be consistently satisfying for your family's needs. I trust you have enjoyed our brand's new and healthier items to our breakfast, such as Chobani greek yogurt, Turkey sausage, wheat English Muffins, and more fruit choices.

We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

On the past days we visited Santa Fe, NM for the first time; we are from Mexico, so we booked our rooms at the HIE and to our surprise we received much more than we expected, we were pleasantly surprised. First of all, the staff was great, very accommodating and Chris always had cookies in the afternoon, Maggie had great recommendations for us to visit. The rooms were super comfy and clean and most important, the mattresses were excellent, great for a good night sleep. Breakfast was beyond our expectations. Steve was great at doing our checkouts when we left and even the housekeepers were super friendly. We are definitely planning on coming back to Santa Fe and of course, staying at the HIE.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear MariaIsabel1985,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your stay in our 'City Different'! We are pleased to hear our team was more than accommodating to your needs. Chris, Maggie and Steve are only a few of them that are always eager to making sure our guests are comfortable and happy with our services.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked this room based on our experience at a wonderful Holiday Inn Express in Yukon, OK, AND the comments in "Hotel Amenities" stating that rooms in this HIE had been recently renovated. Really??? Firstly, I do have to say, the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Larry helped us with an early check-in after we arrived much earlier than expected...very nice! Also, the outdoor pool was warm enough and clean enough to use, something that has been a big issue at other hotels on this trip. Room was ok, just not what I would consider newly redone. Bedside lamp was loose and falling apart, with no extra outlets for electronics like newer hotel versions. Cell phone had to be plugged in on the desk, which was ok, just not as convenient as bedside. The very dark wallpaper was unfinished on the bottom with no baseboards, and there was a large stain on the furniture. Room just looked dark, old and unfinished, not like a modern remodel. The parking was convenient to the side entrance and location was good for our needs. I guess after coming from that six-year-old HIE in OK that was immaculate and like new, I expected a remodeled room to be bright and clean and cheerful....It just wasn't. If anything, this trip has taught me that all HIEs are not created equal and the comments submitted by mgmt re this hotel are a little misleading.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear travelkat818,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We truly believe it is a great way to keep improving our services. we are pleased to hear Larry was accommodating to your needs of early check in, our pool to be warm and clean, and our parking lot and location to be convenient.

We keep working on our renovation process to be up to our guest's expectations for all our HIE properties, as we appreciate our guest's loyalty to our brands. I trust on your next visit you will find many more improvements that will satisfy your needs.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This older but somewhat renovated hotel has a good location that is easy to locate after a long day, and the staff is welcoming. The rooms are small but clean. The tiny bathrooms do have the newer large rectangular floor tiles. We had a peculiar TV, apparently an older model flat screen, and only got static until a staff member kindly explained the trick of first selecting a certain station and then others were available. In the morning the pancake machine was spitting out a mound of tiny coin sized pancakes, which was hilarious. I never eat flattened pancakes anyway, but once additional batter was added, the fun stopped and some diners did make automatic flat rolled pancakes. The hotel has an outdoor pool which we did not use because it was too cold outside, but it looked clean. Overall this hotel is nothing fancy, but a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear TripwBag,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host our stay in our 'City Different'. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you noticed several of our renovated items, such as our bathroom tiles.

As to our Pancake machine, it is a wonder, but ever so often is in a bad mood and will pull pranks on us, such as making micro-pancakes. ;)

There are more changes to come with our renovations, and I trust you will enjoy even better on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe, NM. We are conveniently located just 4 miles south of the Santa Fe Historic Downtown Plaza. Just exit I-25 at Cerrillos Road, Exit #278. Come and be our guest while you experience Santa Fe's rich cultural diversity, art galleries, museums, shops, Indian Market and many fine restaurants.Each one of our 76 newly remodeled hotel rooms features a microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing boards and hair dryer. Our beautiful hotel features the new Stay Smart Bedding Collection in all of our rooms that will make your stay restful and relaxing.Be our guest and enjoy our delicious new full Continental breakfast with hot items. We also have a new fitness and business center and an outdoor pool and guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel. We also have high-speed wireless Internet.The Holiday Inn Express is a great choice to host your Santa Fe adventure. We are within an hour drive from Taos, Chimayo, casinos and the Eight Northern New Mexico Pueblos! Santa Fe is host of the Loretto Chapel, home of the Miraculous Staircase, oldest house in the United States, San Miguel Mission which is the oldest church in the US, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, Palace of the Governors, Saint Francis of Assisi Basilica, the Santa Fe Opera, and many more attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Santa Fe
Santa Fe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.