We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another HIE stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another HIE stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Typical HI Express, what I would call, "in band" experience. Not bad, not outstanding, but met all the requirements, and it wasn't too pricey. It was actually somewhat quiet, which was nice. The only problem we noticed was that the driveway in the front had a fair bit of snow and ice still lingering. No issue, but it could have been a slip situation if one wasn't careful. It was cold that night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back might be a better choice to avoid the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear munge,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value our guests' feedback tremendously and firmly believe it is a great way to improve our services.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    22
    20
    8
See reviews for
28
37
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They offered directions, maps and suggestions on places to visit, eat, etc. Given it was the holiday season, the lobby was tastefully decorated and treats were put out every afternoon. Excellent variety of food at breakfast. The rooms were clean and equipped with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The location was great - right in the middle of the shopping center and about a 5 minute drive from the historic downtown area. Great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe. I am very pleased to know you found our staff friendly and helpful, and our property clean, with enough variety for everyone. We work very hard to make sure all our guests are comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to your next visit!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We come through Santa Fe fairly often on our way elsewhere. We usually stay at the La Quinta on Cerrillos Rd, dimly because it was cheap and convenient. But, this year we decided to make a change. The Holiday Inn Express is a sort drive from I-25 and the staff was ver friendly. We requested two rooms on the ground floor and got them. The rooms were nice, comfortable, and quiet. This place is very close to plenty of places to eat. We chose the Plaza Cafe, just down the street. We were in and out and had a good stay. I especially liked the cookies at the front desk. Breakfast was nice too. I had eggs, sausage, toast, and milk. I'll definitely stay here again on my way through town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Luggnutt,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you what our property and team has to offer! I am very happy you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating, and our property to be nice, comfortable and quiet. We strive in making our guests feel home-away from home.

We look forward to seeing you back!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel needs to be updated as the location is good but it just seems like it has seen better days. I had read the reviews so I knew what to expect but it was still disappointing for us. It was very quiet and clean which was great but it did not make up for the other. We went down for breakfast and the eggs were almost gone. Another guest asked the food person to freshen them up to no response. The pancake machine was broken per the front desk person Janis. The employees did not seem customer service oriented.. We had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Alamosa Colorado a few days earlier. The staff in Alamosa could not do enough to make us happy. Sad.

Room Tip: Buyer beware is all I can say:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Carole3218,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for the poor experience and service issues you had in our hotel particularly in the breakfast area. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My friends and I had a little reunion in Santa Fe. We chose this hotel because the price was right and were pleased to find such a hospitable and wonderful surprise. The hotel staff was simply amazing. They always went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The room was lovely and having a fridge and microwave made it convenient for beverages and snacks. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was simple, but good, and it was spotlessly clean all around. But the staff made the difference. I would recommend this place highly. They drove us into town, even picked us from museums, made sure we were happy. I was so impressed. Thank you again to this wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear dcoslit,

We appreciate you choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your stay in our "City Different". I am very pleased to know you found our property to be spotlessly clean all around and our staff's service to be impresively good! We work very hard to make sure all of our guests are trated like kings!

We look forward to your next visit.

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

On our recent road trip in the USA, we stayed at The Holiday Inn Express in Sant Fe, we were pleased that we chose this hotel. On walking in we wre warmly greeted by Janice. We were given a nice room, rested a while then decided to go exploring, we told Janice our plans, she couldn't have been more helpful, giving us a bus time table and telling us about down town Santa Fe, and where to visit and possible nice places to eat. The bus from just outside the hotel( which is on Cerrillos road, which is off interstate 25, come off at junction 278A or B.) will cost you a dollar, and takes you directly into the centre of Santa Fe. The PLaza is a lovely place to watch the world go by. The local native American people are sitting on the pavement selling their beautiful jewellry, although it is very expensive( but it's all gorgeous,) but we found that everything was. our bus driver said the cheapest thing in Santa Fe was the bus ride !!! We stayed in a few more Holiday Inns, all of them very clean comfy soft beds, and lovely friendly helpful staff. We would reccomend the Holiday Inns.We were paying about $100 a night for room and light breakfast.

Room Tip: they all vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear marie b,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host you while in the Southwest, and thank you for taking the time to recognize Janice's commitment to making sure our guests are comfortable and pampered! She is indeed a great asset to our team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg MO
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed using rewards nights for two nights while visiting Santa Fe. The beds, with new mattresses, were extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and would have had a view of the mountains had the rain stopped for any length of time. Breakfast was typical, and not the same each day. Staff was extremely helpful and handled a change in type of reward night seamlessly. Location is well away from the major attractions; it helps to have a map of the city firmly planted in your head.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Old_Drum,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe to host your stay! I am very pleased to hear your found our new mattresses to be comfortable, our staff caring, varied breakfast, and clean rooms. Plus, it is always great when you can use your IHG Rowards Club Points to stay in our properties!

We look forward to your next visit!!

Ale Rodriguez
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe, NM. We are conveniently located just 4 miles south of the Santa Fe Historic Downtown Plaza. Just exit I-25 at Cerrillos Road, Exit #278. Come and be our guest while you experience Santa Fe's rich cultural diversity, art galleries, museums, shops, Indian Market and many fine restaurants.Each one of our 76 newly remodeled hotel rooms features a microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing boards and hair dryer. Our beautiful hotel features the new Stay Smart Bedding Collection in all of our rooms that will make your stay restful and relaxing.Be our guest and enjoy our delicious new full Continental breakfast with hot items. We also have a new fitness and business center and an outdoor pool and guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel. We also have high-speed wireless Internet.The Holiday Inn Express is a great choice to host your Santa Fe adventure. We are within an hour drive from Taos, Chimayo, casinos and the Eight Northern New Mexico Pueblos! Santa Fe is host of the Loretto Chapel, home of the Miraculous Staircase, oldest house in the United States, San Miguel Mission which is the oldest church in the US, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, Palace of the Governors, Saint Francis of Assisi Basilica, the Santa Fe Opera, and many more attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Santa Fe
Santa Fe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.