We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard Holiday Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Menifee, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Substandard Holiday Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have stayed in 6 Holiday Inn Express locations in 6 states in the last month and this facility was substandard compared to the others, it ranked dead last by a wide margin in our informal comparison.

The first impression before we even walked through the dirty front doors was 'shabby'. Upon entering the lobby we almost turned around and left. This facility is about 20 years old and was remodeled several years ago, it is now well worn and has thin walls.
But, it was a Holiday Inn and they are usually nice so we checked in, after looking at the somewhat cramped room. The ground floor hallway that our room was located on smelled of cigarette smoke but the room was clean smelling and my wife was tired. The desk clerk looked bored and did not smile once.
The next morning I noticed that the rooms carpet was so dirty that my wife left black footprints in the bathtub because she walked in bare feet, I wore sandals. The bed was lumpy and the A/C unit was one of the loudest we've encountered.
The room was smaller than the other HIEx hotels we used because it was an older facility, the ice machine I tried was empty or broken, the pancake machine in the breakfast room was broken.
I mentioned thin walls, it turned out our wall was next to the breakfast room and we were able to enjoy the 5-6am clunking and noises of the mornings preparations. On the bright side, this allowed us to get up early and leave this hotel. The hotel shuttle van used up one of the few parking places nearest our room and the lobby, no sense inconveniencing the shuttle driver.

Santa Fe is a growing town with dozens of new or modern hotel options at similar price points, I wish I had known that before I made reservations for this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear gry_sql,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    27
    23
    9
See reviews for
33
45
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very disappointed with this Holiday Inn Express. We try and stay at Holiday Inn while traveling so we didn't hesitate to book this hotel but are sorry we did. The room was small, the tub dirty, carpet worn, door hard to close, air conditioning unit very loud, etc. This hotel needs to be remodeled.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear QCchis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. Let me take this opportunity to inform you that these concerns will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We are hoping that you give us the pleasure of hosting your next stay in the

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had to stay here overnight because our 10 month old was sick and had a late doctor's appointment. I called ahead to make sure there were vacancies and I talked to a very friendly man who happily said, "We await your arrival." When we got there we were greeted by the same friendly man and, since it was after 11pm, we were given a room discount. Then he realized that we had just come from the hospital and he gave us another discount. He finished our check in by saying, "If you need anything else we will be happy to assist you." We slept soundly that night and woke up too late for breakfast. Overall the service, room, and property were excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but a little tight--we needed a roll-away to sleep 5 in the room, not much space for it, but it worked. Price was great. Breakfast with fresh made pancakes instead of typical waffles was nice. Our room had a fridge and microwave. TV was old, but fine. Work out room nice too. Wish they had an indoor pool/whirlpool for after skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know just how valuable your time is and appreciate your feedback. It was our absolute pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to the next opportunity that we have to meet your needs at Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a quick stay over and was really impressed. We even received a phone call from the front desk asking if the rooms were satisfactory. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your stay with us. I sincerely thank you for your review of our hotel. We surely enjoy what we do and love to hear about our guests' positive experiences.We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here in Santa Fe, NM at the Holiday Inn Express and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The rooms were clean. Linen and towells were clean as well and in good condition.
Breakfast was fine. Staff was alright.
The location is good because it is on the main road that takes you directly into downtown Santa Fe. If you are not driving I am afraid you will have to rely on taxis, because the hotel is about 5 miles way from dowtown. Yet the parking place is fine.
The building needs some renovations, especially the lobby. The laundry also needs some machone updating. But overall the hotel is fine and it can be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a nice clean HIE. It is in a safe area and well lighted at night. I wish it had an indoor pool. My only complaint is that the breakfast was not quite the quality I am use to at HIE.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 3450 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe, NM. We are conveniently located just 4 miles south of the Santa Fe Historic Downtown Plaza. Just exit I-25 at Cerrillos Road, Exit #278. Come and be our guest while you experience Santa Fe's rich cultural diversity, art galleries, museums, shops, Indian Market and many fine restaurants.Each one of our 76 newly remodeled hotel rooms features a microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing boards and hair dryer. Our beautiful hotel features the new Stay Smart Bedding Collection in all of our rooms that will make your stay restful and relaxing.Be our guest and enjoy our delicious new full Continental breakfast with hot items. We also have a new fitness and business center and an outdoor pool and guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel. We also have high-speed wireless Internet.The Holiday Inn Express is a great choice to host your Santa Fe adventure. We are within an hour drive from Taos, Chimayo, casinos and the Eight Northern New Mexico Pueblos! Santa Fe is host of the Loretto Chapel, home of the Miraculous Staircase, oldest house in the United States, San Miguel Mission which is the oldest church in the US, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, Palace of the Governors, Saint Francis of Assisi Basilica, the Santa Fe Opera, and many more attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Santa Fe
Santa Fe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.