We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Winnipeg, Mb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a large, 1 bedroom casita for 6 nights and got a very good extended stay rate. The casita had a kitchenette with a full fridge, dishwasher, microwave and stove top. There were adequate dishes and kitchen equipment that enable you to prepare a full meal if desired. The only item missing was wine glasses but we borrowed those from the reception area. There is also a barbeque available for guest use.

The casita and hotel in general were very clean and well maintained. The building and area was very quiet. It was a quick walk from the casita to the main building. There were many breakfast choices that were of better quality than a typical continental breakfast. An evening meal was also offered Monday-Thursday evenings with the menu posted in your room. Wine & beer was included in this free offering. Alastair and Lawrence were two of the employees that I met in the dining area and they were very attentive. They did an excellent job in keeping the food replenished and the area clean. I spoke to the manager, Lisa Vigil, to let her know how impressed I was with the hotel and employees. I mentioned that I didn't eat some of the meat items on the evening menu and she personally arranged to have chicken and fish available for me the next evening. Now that's personal service! Every staff person we met was friendly and helpful, especially Ruby at the front desk.

The hotel is located an easy 15 minute drive on a 4 lane highway to Santa Fe. We preferred the rural location and it offered easy access for day trips to Taos, Jemez and Los Alamos. There are a few restaurants within a 5 mile distance. We only ate at Gabriel's, less than a mile south, and had a very good experience. The casino is a 5 minute walk across the parking lot. We only went there one evening because we found it very smoky with poor ventilation. The hotel is dog friendly with a $75 fee per stay. This is expensive but for an extended stay it was good value. There were many places to walk our dog. We highly recommend Homewood Suites Santa Fe.

Room Tip: We preferred the casitas. They were very quiet as there were only 4 units per building and you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    106
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
150
180
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and everytime I have had an excellent experience. The staff is extremely helpful, nice beds, and clean. The free morning breakfast is good. The staff truly goes above and beyond to help guests. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Love the casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited for the Balloon festival and this was a ways from balloon festival but well worth it. The rooms were good size and bonus with a full kitchen. The morning breakfast and afternoon welcome were an excellent value. The staff were super. We will stay again if and when we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great place if you don't mind being outside of Santa Fe. Great views. The staff were very helpful and after a long day at meetings, it was nice to come back and relax at the manager's reception and in my room. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We traveled in a group and everyone enjoyed their stay. The rooms were spacious enough with a refrigerator, dishwasher, and cooktop if you want to prepare your own food. Breakfast was included and offered some variety from day to day. Only had one dinner there due to holiday and weekend but it was just fine. The staff were absolutely some of the friendliest you would meet. I would stay here again especially if you are going north to Bandelier or Taos or Los Alamos. It isn't that far from Sante Fe, but I suppose that depends upon your perspective.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with two kids in one of the casitas. Room was big and clean with two tvs. Breakfast was reasonable. Hotel is located 18 minutes North of Santa Fe. Surrounding area is very nice. Hilton resort is within walking distance. If you stay 3 or more nights you pay about $70/night. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Let me start by saying that we enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay again. The grounds are nestled in the mountain range with a beautiful golf course surrounding it. the rooms are average size, very well kept. The dinner service and breakfast service offered good food and lots of it. It is located just north of SF, yet still close to grocery, gas, even the ski resort is only an hour away. We stayed here for 3 nights and had not a single complaint, until the morning we checked out. The DIY waffle maker is very popular, but it is crammed in the corner which creates a big line. I would recommend that they reorganize the food layout for a better flow. The morning we checked out, the weekend staff was on and the breakfast food, utensils were not being kept stocked. In addition, the pregnant woman that checked me out didn't smile, ask me about my stay, or thank me for spending my money at her employers business. Other than the morning I left I would have rated this 5 out of 5 stars.

Room Tip: The elevator is very slow, so I would recommend staying on the main floor or a floor you can walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Santa Fe

Address: 10 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Homewood Santa Fe
Santa Fe Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.