We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites @ Buffalo Thunder: Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Santa Fe to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Homewood Suites @ Buffalo Thunder: Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I travel to Los Alamos, NM a couple of time a year on business. Since there has (historically) been little choice for hotels and restaurants in Los Alamos, I used to stay in Santa Fe (nice hotels, good food and great ambience) and trudge 45 minutes up and down the hill each day. About four years ago, I discovered the Homewood Suites @ Buffalo Thunder, and I now have a new play to stay in northern NM. It is located in the small town of Cuyamunque, about 20 minutes from Santa Fe and 25 minutes from Los Alamos. The Homewood Suites is a very modern hotel complex on the side of the hill overlooking the Towa golf course. This should not be confused with the larger, even more modern Hilton hotel and casino @ Buffalo Thunder. Colleagues tell me that the rooms in the Hilton are nice, but most prefer the suites at the Homewood.

The best aspect of the Homewood Suites are the 4 small casitas that are separate from the main building. I have always requested to stay in one of these units, and have never been disappointed. These are located closer to the top of the hill, and each building has eight suites on two floors. The uppermost building is rather secluded and quiet, surrounded by the scrub of the northern NM desert. The one-bedroom suites are nice and spacious, with a small but functional complete kitchen, a nice sitting area and a great bedroom / bathroom area. The suites are very moderm, with great southwestern decor. There is a pool and small fitness center in the main building, but Homewood guest are free to use the larger facilities in the Hilton hotel. The breakfast room in the main building is spacious and modern, and they serve a wonderful breakfast each morning. This is much better quailty food than one gets at a Holiday Inn Express! They also serve a free 'welcome home' meal with wine and beer from Mon to Thu evenings.

Overall, I highly recommend the Homewood Suites @ Buffalo Thunder for a comfortable stay and easy access to Los Alamos.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    126
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
166
211
29
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

What a great hotel! From the time we checked in which was completely painless to the time we left everything was first class. The rooms are large and everything in them seems brand new and very clean. This has been the best value of any hotel we have ever stayed at, the rooms are priced great. They also serve a hot breakfast (which they change up everyday) not one of these low budget things but a legitamte hot breakfast. If you are lucky enough to stay there on a week night, they also serve a dinner for free. Let me tell you the dinner is also great something new every night. Aside from the great rooms and a beautiful hotel the guest service there is second to none, the staff went out of there way to make sure we had everthing we needed, what a friendly group of people. It really seemed like family. This is exactly the way a hotel should be run, I guarentee we will be back.

Room Tip: Try the casita suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after spending the prior 3 nights in downtown Santa Fe fighting the masses of other tourists. Homewood is located on the far outskirts of town next to a massive casino complex run by Hilton. Its a newish facility with an eager staff and all the bells and whistles., I stole a huge studio room with a $79/n coupon I found on Tripadvisor- it was worth twice what I paid. We were put in a Casita room instead of main building, much quieter and easier with luggage.
Perfect mattress, LCD-HD TV,good shower.Totally devoid of any gambling enticements so great with children stays. Only complaint was NO WiFi in room so bring a cat5/6 cable as it was fast and easy to sign on. On Mon-Thur nights they will also provide some beer/wine as well as a light dinner such as pasta/pizza and always a good fresh salad bar. We even had Corned Beef/cabbage/potatoes for St Pat's' Day.Just walk across the parking lot to gamble etc but come back here to sleep soundly but do try to find a coupon to save lots of money on the room cost.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Lisa (Hotel GM) and Jody greeted us warmly upon arrival. She began entertaining my kids right away and gave them both toys. The lobby is beautifully decorated and the breakfast buffet is a nice plus (they also have a dinner buffet). Both meals are included with the rate which is awesome.

We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite and it was amazing. I loved the bathroom, my husband loved the free razors and the kids loved the stairs as well as the jacuzzi. Everything in the entire room is beautiful...the downstairs half bathroom, auto-close drawers in the kitchen, overall paint scheme, tiled heavy glass shower and double vanity granite countertop. The upstairs bedroom also includes a woodbeam ceiling, ceiling fan and fireplace. The bed was too firm for us but it was not a major drawback. Overall, we loved it.

By staying at the hotel, you are allowed privileges at the more expensive resort and casino next door. This is a big plus if you want to save a few $$. We did not miss out on anything and are so glad this hotel was booked. All of the hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

One thing to note is that you can drive North to Espanola and find all of the major fast food chains, Chilis and Walmart on the main road. Its about 15 mins away and a much easier drive than going to downtown Santa Fe.

Staying here for the last three days of our Spring Break in NM was great.

Thanks, Lisa, for everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The location was perfect also the room was super clean with plenty of amenties and very spaciousin the breakfast and dinner were a big plus. All the staff were very polite and helpful. It was a few miles out of santa fe but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I was treated with care from the moment we walked in, the front desk was upbeat even for checking in at 9 pm at night. I have stayed here serveral times with i have experianced all the room types always clean beds are comfortable large rooms.
Buy this time the Mrs and stayed in thier Honeymoon suite this room was amazing! huge room with 2 levels big bed with lots of pillows, jacuzzi tub, Kitchen and a welcome bag. We felt like we were in a vegas suite.

Breakfast was served in the morning and dinner at night it is good food and for free that's awesome the host (Danny) was very happy and greatful we were there did what every he could to make us feel welcome.

The Hotel Manager Lisa was fantasic as well she was a manager that enjoyed meeting the people that was staying at her hotel. we stayed for 4 days is felt like we never left home with the staff offering places to eat or go out and about take in the rich history of the reservations.

I loved this place and will continue coming back.

I have stayed many other places with the same quality rooms but what makes this place is its managment staff Lisa and Danny are people who care about this hotel the people in it and what ever it takes to make them happy and keep coming back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Have stayed twice this year: January and March. Beautiful property, well run, with all the little things you expect. Located at the Buffalo Thunder Casino, but we are not casino-goers: we just stayed there to be a little bit out of town. The casino itself is at the Hilton elsewhere on the compound, so our hotel was quiet and peaceful. Nice breakfast. Great staff, great experience.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Santa Fe

Address: 10 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Homewood Santa Fe
Santa Fe Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.