We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves

Ten Thousand Waves
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 3 1/2 Miles Up Ski Basin Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-982-9304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 77 activities in Santa Fe
Type: Spas, Hot Springs/ Geysers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ten Thousand Waves is inspired by the great Japanese mountain hot spring resorts. Ten minutes from downtown Santa Fe, but only minutes from the National Forest, there is nothing quite like this on the North American continent. Among pinons and junipers are beautiful outdoor hot tubs and spa suites, world-class bodywork & skin care, and the amazing izanami restaurant. For a lucky few, it is the closest lodging to the Santa Fe Ski area.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ten Thousand Waves is an absolute must if you are planning a trip to Santa Fe. The atmosphere of the spa is peaceful and relaxing. The spa services are first-rate. BEST massage of my life, every time we visit. I also recommend booking a private hot springs. This is a great place to visit by yourself and a great place to take your mate. My husband -- very skeptical at first -- was completely wowed by the entire experience. We will be back many times!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    92
    30
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best spa in America, but feels like Japan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

first, ignore any of the reviews that say the place has changed, or has become run down. it is beautiful, clean, and feels like a "real" place that is part of its natural surroundings, and not an artificial/ las vegas/ plastic venue. I've been here about five times in the last 15 years. This time a drove 6 hours from Denver just for this experience.


when i am at 10000 waves, i'm removed from time. i marvel at the gorgeous Japanese architecture and decor. the services are beyond compare. I have had various bodywork all over the country, and I think this is the standard by which most of it should be judged. this trip I had the far east package with Thai massage. the foot treatment was consciousness altering. Brigid and Fish are extrordinary therapists (I've never had an average treatment here). Spent time in the women's tub (complete with hot sauna/warm tub, icy tub and shower).

while it is not cheap, i think the treatment prices are very reasonable for the quality, esp when compared to hotel prices.

there has been some new construction to add capacity...everything is still beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Must Do when traveling to Sante Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Any trip to Sante Fe just isn't the same unless you spend an afternoon (at least) at 10,000 Waves. I've been going to this Japanese Spa for decades, and there have been a lot of changes (all good!) The soaking pools, and spa services are wonderful. The front office staff is especially helpful and friendly. All treatment staff are highly trained and friendly as well. They were in the process of building a new restaurant on site.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What an experience! This is a Japanese style spa, with a myriad and variety of rooms, baths and services. If you go here, go big! We had private tub with cold plunge, massage, facial, head & neck treatment and foot treatment. Over four hours of services. Whoa! We had a hard time deciding which was best. Everything was great. But I do have one gripe: they nickel and dimed us by charging for snacks. Most spas offer complimentary light snacks in the rest area and this one offered them too, except they charged for them. But it was still a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING SPA'S I'VE BEEN TO SINCE JAPAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our group decided to do different things on our Saturday in Santa Fe, and 3 of us went to Ten Thousand Waves. What a relaxing and stress relieving day. The décor reminded me of a Japanese Spa I had visited many years ago in Japan. Excellent reception and staff to explain the services offered, assistance in booking times for treatments, excellent locker rooms/showers and the hot pools and saunas only added to the quiet, relaxing time you were there. Loved the foot soaks in the hot water to soothe sore feet. It was very nice to be up the Mountain and smell the freshness of the fines as the warm breezes came through the property. A must to again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Thousand Waves also viewed

 

Been to Ten Thousand Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.