We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best spa in America, but feels like Japan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves

Ten Thousand Waves
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 3 1/2 Miles Up Ski Basin Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-982-9304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Spas & Wellness in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ten Thousand Waves is inspired by the great Japanese mountain hot spring resorts. Ten minutes from downtown Santa Fe, but only minutes from the National Forest, there is nothing quite like this on the North American continent. Among pinons and junipers are beautiful outdoor hot tubs and spa suites, world-class bodywork & skin care, and the amazing izanami restaurant. For a lucky few, it is the closest lodging to the Santa Fe Ski area.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best spa in America, but feels like Japan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

first, ignore any of the reviews that say the place has changed, or has become run down. it is beautiful, clean, and feels like a "real" place that is part of its natural surroundings, and not an artificial/ las vegas/ plastic venue. I've been here about five times in the last 15 years. This time a drove 6 hours from Denver just for this experience.


when i am at 10000 waves, i'm removed from time. i marvel at the gorgeous Japanese architecture and decor. the services are beyond compare. I have had various bodywork all over the country, and I think this is the standard by which most of it should be judged. this trip I had the far east package with Thai massage. the foot treatment was consciousness altering. Brigid and Fish are extrordinary therapists (I've never had an average treatment here). Spent time in the women's tub (complete with hot sauna/warm tub, icy tub and shower).

while it is not cheap, i think the treatment prices are very reasonable for the quality, esp when compared to hotel prices.

there has been some new construction to add capacity...everything is still beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    111
    35
    27
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Must Do when traveling to Sante Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Any trip to Sante Fe just isn't the same unless you spend an afternoon (at least) at 10,000 Waves. I've been going to this Japanese Spa for decades, and there have been a lot of changes (all good!) The soaking pools, and spa services are wonderful. The front office staff is especially helpful and friendly. All treatment staff are highly trained and friendly as well. They were in the process of building a new restaurant on site.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What an experience! This is a Japanese style spa, with a myriad and variety of rooms, baths and services. If you go here, go big! We had private tub with cold plunge, massage, facial, head & neck treatment and foot treatment. Over four hours of services. Whoa! We had a hard time deciding which was best. Everything was great. But I do have one gripe: they nickel and dimed us by charging for snacks. Most spas offer complimentary light snacks in the rest area and this one offered them too, except they charged for them. But it was still a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING SPA'S I'VE BEEN TO SINCE JAPAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our group decided to do different things on our Saturday in Santa Fe, and 3 of us went to Ten Thousand Waves. What a relaxing and stress relieving day. The décor reminded me of a Japanese Spa I had visited many years ago in Japan. Excellent reception and staff to explain the services offered, assistance in booking times for treatments, excellent locker rooms/showers and the hot pools and saunas only added to the quiet, relaxing time you were there. Loved the foot soaks in the hot water to soothe sore feet. It was very nice to be up the Mountain and smell the freshness of the fines as the warm breezes came through the property. A must to again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What other spas aspire to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

From the semi-remote location outside Santa Fe to the smallest detail in each treatment room, this place is amazing. If you go, go big. Do it all. The private baths, the exotic and wonderful treatments. The staff was perfection personified. Treat yourself. Every time I am in Santa Fe this is now my priority stop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Thousand Waves also viewed

 

Been to Ten Thousand Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.