We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Bakehouse

Sage Bakehouse
535 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2694 (Downtown)
505-820-7243
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Preface this by saying this is based on just one visit during our stay in Santa Fe, and only applies to the sandwiches. We stopped by to get some sandwiches 'to go' for a hike. Unfortunately we had depended on a menu supplied by Yelp which showed multiple choices and was not accurate. Apparently they only have a few "sandwiches of the day". We tried both, and I have to say they were absolutely nothing special and were certainly overpriced for what they offered. The people were nice, and it seemed like a pleasant place, but I would not return for sandwiches.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    66
    18
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent breads and pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'm quite the expert on breads and pastries and I can honestly say this is one of the top 3 places in Santa Fe. Forget Chocolate Maven this is the real Mc Coy (real deal)!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great coffee. Great folks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Delicious pastry and bread made with love and a delightful little place to sit down and have morning coffee and a bite to eat. Everything was delish, but the much praised almond pastry tasted a bit boozy or something, not sure what it was, like it had fermented. Maybe it was a bad batch, but the ham and gruyere tarts were fab.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am a local here in Santa Fe. I have been going to Sage Bakehouse for years. They have changed a lot. First of all, the best sandwich ever is no longer on the menu (chicken and grilled onions with aioli). Second, and more importantly, I waited 15 minutes for a ham and fontina cheese panini. Once I got home, I realized I just paid $8.00 for ONE slice of ham! Unacceptable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Based upon another review, we headed to Sage Bakehouse (Clafoutis was closed). The Cinnamon roll was delicious! I split one with my mum, and we each had a latte! ( once the latte was finished, a gratis refill of drip coffee was offered). We took an Almond Croissant and a Lemon Honey Tart to go. Both were very good! The breads ALL looked beautiful, and did notice many locals coming in to purchase multiple loaves! Staff and owner were all friendly and the small bakery was clean and charming! If you are in Santa Fe, stop in and treat yourself to something yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Bakehouse also viewed

 

Been to Sage Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Bakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.