We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food, Terrible Table Management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Compound Restaurant

The Compound Restaurant
635 Canyon Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Historic District)
505-982-4353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Compound Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Historic District
Cross street: Paseo de Peralta
Description: Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff. Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Terrible Table Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I and a friend had lunch here one day last week. We were particularly attracted by descriptions of their lovely outdoor patio. We arrived exactly at 12:00 noon, when there were only four other cars in their parking lot. When we asked to be seated on the patio, we were told all the patio tables were reserved. So they seated us in their elegant, but sterile (and otherwise empty), large indoor dining room. My husband then checked to find eight empty (but apparently reserved) tables on their patio. The service was very good and their shrimp-and-lobster salad and tuna nicoise salad were excellent. When we finished our meal at 1:00 p.m., there were still seven empty (but apparently reserved) tables on their patio -- a patio we're unlikely to ever dine in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    99
    60
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well deserving of its reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having heard about The Compound from people who had been going to Santa Fe for years, I was very excited to have dinner there. The restaurant is beautiful, staff is terrific and food was great. Definitely a must when in Sante Fe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission hills ks
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“return of an old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we are long time visitors to santa fe and this eatery was a frequent stop. but after several visits where the food disappointed, we stopped going. come the july 4th long weekend 2013, we wanted to line up several top notch lunch spots. this place continues to get high marks, so we decided to give it a try on the 6th. located off canyon road we stumbled upon the first time more than 30 years ago. seated off the main dining room in a space which was new to us, we ordered cocktails, perused the wine list, and discussed our dining opinions. a starter of sweetbreads and foie gras caught our eye. she likes one and i the other. a discussion with our server resulted in each of us getting a custom starter of our hearts desire for the price of single starter. each was savory and mouth watering. as usual she choose the softshell crab and i, the house burger, medium rare. both entrees were perfectly prepared. our entire meal was divine. the compound is back as a premier dining establishment in our book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We sat on the patio which was very comfortable. The service was efficient and friendly. The best part though was the food. This was absolutely the best food I've ever had. If you have a special occasion or just want a fine meal, eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“one of Sante Fe's finest dining experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Compound is one of the better restaurants in Santa Fe serving excellent food with ample portion sizes that are very flavorful. I was there for a business lunch so the crowd was small and the atmosphere quiet and calm. There is both indoor and outdoor seating and I would recommend outside if the weather is cooperative, Service was adequate but I would have liked more attention given the small crowd when I was there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compound Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Compound Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Compound Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.