We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original chef is back, good but still not very good...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pranzo Italian Grill

Pranzo Italian Grill
540 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2587 (Historic District)
505-984-2645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pranzo Italian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Historic District
Cross street: Guadalupe
Transit: Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
“Original chef is back, good but still not very good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After hearing that Chef Lemon, the original chef at Pranzo, was back, I decided it was time to try the restaurant again. It had fallen into major disrepair after he had left and I was hoping for a resurrection...alas, not to be on this visit. We decided to go early, to beat the crowds. The dining room was half-empty with mostly senior citizens. The overall interior has not been updated since the restaurant opened 25 years ago. The service was quite good. We were there early enough to take advantage of the price fixe menu and there were several drink specials available also. I had a flight of "continental" reds, 3 oz. each, for $5! I had wanted to try the buratta appetizer with pears, but it was "not available" and had to settle for the buratta caprese. We each had the half order of different pastas (very filling, I cannot imagine eating a full order). The sauces were rich and everybody was pleased, if not blown away with the flavor. The bread and table oils were very good. For dessert we were informed that several of the ice cream flavors were "not available" but settled for the espresso and amaretto flavors which were very good. Overall, the experience was "good". Maybe they are still working out some kinks. With tax and tip, for 3, the price was $75.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    52
    44
    32
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Always good food and wine and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our most frequent return-to restaurant in Santa Fe. The food and wine are very nice, and the service is consistently excellent. And the new (returning old) chef has added an interesting spark to the menu. This evening I had Asparagi alla Griglia with lovely fresh asparagus, and Strozza Pretti: beef cheeks, basil, Grana Padano and strangle the priest pasta (yum), followed by grilled lemon sorbet (just because it sounded strange and interesting - really quite good, light and tart. This is more a dependably very good than a show-off fancy restaurant, one of the reasons we keep returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a great Italian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

All we wanted was pasta al dente; what we got was pasta overcooked and mine was actually broken (not left long) despite the fact they provided a spoon for "twirling." Wouldn't be my first choice for Italian again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Sensational Dinner with awesome music entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been here many times: fantastic Italian menu with professional waitstaff! Good drinks and wine menu: large portions with delicious blends of tastes; and the upstairs with the awesome David on the piano. Yes, they add a small surcharge, but the entertainment is world--class and we loved every selection!
A great evening during your stay in Santa Fe!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Location and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The menu offers large portions of wonderfully sauced and fresh Italian Favorites! We enjoyed the early bird fixed prix menu and were totally satisfied with every entrée, salads and desserts.

Our waitress was excellent and the atmosphere was pleasant. Pranzo is located in the Sambusco shopping area - well situated with the Guadalupe Street area.

A good find, good prices, good food and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pranzo Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pranzo Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pranzo Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.