We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson

El Meson
213 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1926 (Downtown)
5059836756
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 415 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Over the years El Meson mellows like a fine bottle of wine. An excellent choice of very authentic tap pas plus a good selection of Spanish wines reasonably priced. Their fine reputation continues to expand so……….make a reservation. Dinner only.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    123
    38
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our first time to dine here. We chose it because our favorite flamenco guitarist was playing and we had not heard him in a couple of years. The tapas we chose were nothing short of spectacular with the exception of the scallops which were only so-so. The wine list was very good but, as you might expect, focused on Spanish labels and varietals-something at which I have a sad disadvantage. But the wait staff was helpful in giving us advise. Service was great. Ambiance was near perfect. It would have been a perfect night except an elderly lady was too tanked-up to recognize she was louder than the amplified guitarist. Another patron had to go over to her table and ask her to dial it back in a very stern and cool way. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Agree with most others that the food here is excellent. And a pretty good value for a classy place although the wine list was not inexpensive. We went with various tapas dishes and all were very fine. A good location not far from the Plaza.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Our family had dinner at El Meson on Tuesday. We enjoyed a table in the bar area, listening to the flamenco guitarist. Our tapas selections were delicious, especially the cheese stuffed artichoke hearts and the pork loin. The bread is delicious, we had several refills! I enjoyed a glass of sangria, and my flan dessert was outstanding. Our daughter loved the special cheesecake. I would like to go back and try selections from the full dinner menu.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“move over valencia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just finished the Paella Valencia, superb..! Service was 10+, Tapas, wine, and main course were all quite nice This is a good way to finish up a fantastic week in Santa Fe. Go early cause many others go along with my attitude this is top rate, Any old Spainish gent would be proud to take his senorita.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.