We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Meson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson

El Meson
213 Washington Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1926 (Downtown)
5059836756
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 483 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“El Meson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had tapas, not on a par with Spain but reflecting local tastes. Good selection of dishes, well presented and prepared. Attentive but unobtrusive service, reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    118
    36
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fine Tapas Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Eight of us dined at El Meson early Friday evening, before the Sante Fe opera. Service was very good and helpful, which was important for choosing among the many menu items. The Spanish wine selection also was very good. The restaurant, just a short distance from the Plaza was not crowded at that time. Arrive early for your reservation, because parking definitely is an issue.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very snobbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If their online reservation system is any indication of the restaurant's food and service i would avoid this place like I did. the quality restaurants in Santa Fe use Open Table, El Meson uses some Google concoction and get this - they say that just because you filled out the form does not mean you have reservation and they ask you if you are a local or a tourist!!!!

My wife said forget it - there are too many fine places with great food and wine in this town to deal with this hookem.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It Was So Good, We Went For A Two-fer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Great spot just around the corner from the town plaza. Very friendly staff, with a cozy ambiance backed by an awesome traditional menu that weighs heavy on Spain's most popular dishes. In fact, it was so good that we made a reservation for the following evening!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, great service and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had an amazing evening at El Meson. We were seated quickly and our server brought drinks shortly after. The server, Dee was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had several tapas dishes including roasted oyster mushrooms, peppers, ham, shrimp. The flavors were amazing and the food was prepared perfectly. Then the superb jazz quintet started to play.We were not shocked when we received the bill. The prices were reasonable and we thought it as good value. Simply wonderful. We will definitely visit whenever we return to Santa Fe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.