We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plazuela at La Fonda

La Plazuela at La Fonda
100 E San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
(505) 982-5511
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Plazuela at La Fonda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Old Santa Fe Trail
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife picked La Plazuela because of the balcony upstairs to watch the sunset. We decided to try the local fare. It was so worth it! The fajitas were wonderful. We'd never had posole before and it was amazing. The service and atmosphere were top notch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    255
    76
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno/Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We happened upon this restaurant one night as we wandered back to our hotel. Situated withing the La Fonda hotel compound was this lively Southwest Mexican style restaurant. We vowed to return the next night for dinner. We both had eyes for strictly Mexican dishes, so I ordered two types of enchiladas while he ordered tacos,with guacamole and beans. Everything tasted so fresh and had great flavor. We would most likely return if ever in the Santa Fe area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had dinner here recently, and it was the best restaurant experience I had on my trip, between both Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Its a real nice atmosphere at night, and the food was fantastic. The King Salmon fish dish I had (cooked medium rare) with risotto and vegetables, was honestly one of the best fish dishes I have ever had in my life. Also, the other entrees I tasted, as well as the appetizer and desert were all also excellent. Definitely recommend if you are in Santa Fe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“amazing atmosphere, good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This restuarant is a mix of mexican and American menus served in an amazing indoor courtyard. Not cheap but was good and friendly efficient service. My wife enjoyed her Mexican and I had a great Prime Rib. The "made at the table" guacamole was perfect We would return

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our first choice for breakfast in the Plaza area of Santa Fe had a line out the door, so we tried La Fonda and what a treat! Though busy, we were seated right away. Menu had a number of interesting choices, so my wife and I decided to go crazy and order three entries: a Oaxaca egg dish, blue corn pancakes, and a biscuit smothered in a gravy suffused with green chiles. Great choices all. Service was friendly. Would definitely return for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plazuela at La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Plazuela at La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plazuela at La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.